We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miles away from ordinary...can't wait to go back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sands at Grace Bay
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2009

We just returned from our second trip to provo. Once in January and just recently the last week in July. Thanks so much to all of the Turks "experts" and to everyone for their reviews as we discovered a lot of helpful tips to make our second trip just that much better.

On our first trip in January we stayed at the Seven Stars. We are a younger couple that are relatively laid-back but definitely appreciate the finer things in life but did not like the hoity toity feel and missed that tropical feeling we were looking for in a provo hotel. This trip we chose the sands because we really enjoyed hemingways last time for breakfast every morning and the screened porches looked inviting. It was a great decision. This hotel is definitely for those looking to relax, enjoy your HUGE screened porch, a very clean, updated room but would not be for someone looking for the very trendy/ miami/ modern/ nightlife scene...for that I would recommend the Gansevoort. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed it as we were just looking for a relaxing, quiet getaway and this hotel was very comfortable. The beaches are the best anywhere and the staff on the beach at the sands are outstanding from digging holes for your umbrellas and chairs to helping not only go get the hobie cat and kayaks but also helping us to learn how to use them. Hemingways is great onsite for breakfast lunch and dinner and is pretty reasonable considering the alternatives. The rooms are very nice...we stayed in an oceanview 3rd floor room in building 2 and it was perfect. The kitchen was a great size and really well equipped. The bed was super comfortable and all of the furniture and accomodations were very nice and well-kept but also very "homey" which was nice. Of course, my favorite part of the room was the screened porch which was huge...but if you go to the oceanfront ones in building 3 wow! you could have a party out there as they're gigantic. We enjoy working out and really just did a lot of walking and running outdoors. The fitness facility at the sands isn't the best i've ever been to as it's in the basement of a builiding but is definitely sufficient with free weights and machines and treadmills and a yoga ball...all you really need for a quick workout especially when you're supposed to be on the beach relaxing!! We really enjoyed staying at the sands and will definitely be back in the future.

In regards to food and where to go, we went to the new grocery the first day which is a little pricey but definitely worth it and appreciate the layout and selection at the new IGA!! We ate breakfast in our room most the time but if you want to venture out we definitely recommend the eggs benedict and french toast at Hemingways. In regards to lunch we love to walk so we tried several spots along grace bay....hemingways fish tacos are incredible, the tuna or chicken cabana wrap at ocean club west hit the spot after a long walk, and the wraps & salads at the palms were amazing. Caicos Cafe inland a little more was also excellent and we heard fabulous things about them for dinner. For dinner we didn't go anywhere outrageously fancy but our favorite spots were Opus, Hemingways, appetizers and mojito martinis at the Lounge at Grace Bay and Baci for a nice, waterside italian meal. We went to Bay Bistro but our service was not very good and it kind of ruined the experience. We wanted to go to Coco Bistro, Parallel and O'Soleil but never made it....definitely will on our next trip. I love the romantic atmosphere at Grace Bay but for a different feel one of our favorite spots was "Somewhere on the Beach"...the mexican food was fabulous and something different as you start to want something else other than the same fish/steak menus. The staff there is incredibly nice and fun and the atmosphere/view is hard to beat...definitley more casual but in a refreshing way.

A couple of things I would highly recommend that we learned from the provo discussion boards is to definitely go to Rumeurs for your jewelry gifts as it's all authentic jewelry (lots made of beautiful shells) and island wear without being cheesy like some of the other shops. I purchased several things for our female family members and they were all a big hit and really beautiful. I also highly recommend the Palms for a massage...both my husband and I went there the last day and it was the best massage I've ever had! I wish we had booked a massage there more than once during our stay and plan on doing so in the future!! I definitely recommend going to the grocery store and stocking up on your favorites but don't forget the styrofoam cups for morning and evening beverages for your walk on the beach, lots of bottled water, and also if you have a soft cooler bag from home that came in handy!

I highly recommend this island and hotel and can't wait to go back!! Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hokiesonislandtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,514 - 1,520 of 1,918 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2009

Six complexes, building #3 is the closest to the beach. We were in building #1, which is the newest one, but further back. Stayed in one-bedroom unit. Good-sized kitchen, but lots of tiny ants roaming around (keep everything in the fridge). Dishwasher and washer/dryer in rooms (except studios). Housekeeping even supplies dish soap and laundry soap. Temps were mid 90's. Water was so clear. Hotel has bikes available to ride to grocery store (5-10 minutes away on bike). Also a shuttle is available for the bigger grocery store ($9 pp roundtrip). Some tours available--suggest the Glass-Bottom Boat Tour, where you can dive for your own conch and the guides make fresh conch salad for you. Beach staff brings drinks to you and set up umbrellas any where you want. Restaurant on premise called Hemingways. Food is decent, free music and Manager's Rum Cocktail Hour on Tuesday nights. Walk about 10-15 minutes down the road and there are more restaurants, including a shopping plaza (Saltwater Mills). Walk down a little further and there are ice cream shops and more restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TropicGirl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

we stayed at the sands at grace bay 07/18/09-07/24/09 for my wifes birthday.not knowing anything about the resort i looked on trip advisor the day before we went.there were a couple of reviews that were bad to worse.but its vacation so we were on or way.well who ever wrote those reviews either should not have chosen a place like this or they were written by other hotels looking to make the sands look bad.there was not one thing that i could even think of to say negative about this resort.from the moment we went to the front desk and met (rose and candice) to...well everyone we were at home.the room (3107)was a suite so nice we were in heaven.the service was better than we had ever had anywhere.we have been to so many islands and like to change places every year but this time we cant wait to get back.the suite was huge and beautiful.the beaches are to die for.the food was great and i never wanted for anything.thank you to everyone at the sands for making this the best trip weve ever been on.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9,331,441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

My husband and I stayed at The Sands at Grace Bay. The room was everything we needed plus microwave, mini fridge, sitting room, balcony, and washer and dryer. The food at Hemingway's was excellent, and the view of the sunsets were incredible. The sand is like powdered sugar, and the turquoise water is clear and calm. I had a "best-ever" massage at SpaTropique. People who need a fast-paced busy vacation need to look elsewhere but if you want total relaxation in sheer beauty, you've found your vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank sundropsuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We read hundreds of reviews about resorts in Providenciales and eventually picked the Sands. We couldn't have made a better choice.
Firstly, Grace Bay is AMAZING. There's a reason it's constantly rated amongst the top beaches in the world. So if you book a resort that's in Grace bay, you're certain to have perfect blue water and pristine white sand..

The Beach.
The Sands has free kayaks, snorkels and hobie cats to take advantage of the beautiful ocean. There are more than enough beach umbrellas to go around. We never got down to the beach before 10 or 11, but always had plenty of umbrellas to choose from.

The Resort.
All of the rooms are close to the beach, and the lazy river / pool system in the Sands is a great set up for cooling down after hours. The store has a few essentials (at a premium price) and there is a cocktail party with free rum punch, beer and appetizers on Tuesdays.
We took a long walk down the beach for a couple of miles and saw all the other resorts. The Sands had ALL of them beat. Most of the other resorts are further away from the beachfront, most of them didn't have a good beach setup (equipment, beach space, umbrelles etc etc) and actually, most of them seemed eerily deserted. We wanted a quiet holiday, but not staying in an empty resort. If you want crazy nightlife, go to ClubMed or the casino. If you want a family focused resort with tons of activities, then you should go to Beaches. We walked past there a couple of times, and it was madness. Kids screaming and loud music. Not our idea of an island getaway.

The Island

The island is fairly basic, and almost all of the activities and sights in Provo are contained to the beaches. Apart from the free activities at the Sands, they also have plenty of half and full day tours. We did a half day conch diving trip with Glass bottom tours. It was amazing. We even caught our own lunch from the ocean floor, and got to keep the shells!
We went to the local IGA supermarket early in our trip, and it was the best decision we made. We got enough food to last the week, and ended up only going out to eat for a few meals. We also got a bottle of rum and some fruit juice, to take our own rum punch down to the beach!

The Food.
Hemmingways is one of the most reasonably priced restaurants on the island. The food is basic, but it's very good, and there is a lot of it. Service in the restaurant is hit or miss, but that seems to be the case anywhere in Provo. Take a trip to Da Conch Shack on a Thursday (if you don't mind an expensive taxi ride). They have a live reggae band and serve conch in all its tasty forms.

The Room.
We got the least expensive type of room in the resort, meaning we had no view or balcony. Our courtyard studio was simple, but very well equipped. It's not what you would expect for a 4 star room (in the US), but we found it adequate. You barely spend any time in the room anyway!

So, should you go?...
Definately. When we go back to Turks and Caicos, the sands is where we'll be going. It is the perfect island getaway. Quiet, charming and fun!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aussiebeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We stayed at The Sands at Grace Bay for a week in 2007. We had a two bedroom unit facing the ocean. The rooms were of good size, clean and well stocked. We enjoyed the large screened porch during the evenings.
The beach is amazing, soft sand and crystal clear blue water.
We ate at Hemingways or would cook a meal in our kitchen and eat in. The only negative I can think of is that we had to thoroughly check our bill because charges were added that were not ours. We brought this to the attention of the staff and the charges were removed without incident. We would certainly return to The Sands.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cpwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Our stay at the Sands Resort on Grace Bay was during the period of 7/8/09 thru 7/15/09 for my son's wedding held on the beach at Point Grace, absolutely out-of-this-world! Immediate family and friends (30) of us came to TCI for the destination wedding. My group of 15 people all stayed at the Sands Resort, which was the best in service and hospitality that I have ever experienced on a vacation. The staff that greeted us was very accommodating and also welcoming. The suite in Building 5 (3 bedroom oceanview) fully equipped with a full kitchen, washer/dryer, dishwasher and screened in balcony overlooking the ocean was worth waking up to each morning. The beach was the cleanest ever seen and the pools/spa were amazing. All the children in the group had a great time trying them all out. Hemingway's staff and food were great, including Tracy and all the other servers who brought out food always with a smile on their face. Drinks on the beach were just as enjoyable.
Our transportation from the airport - VIP Limo - arranged through Ali and Ms. Virgil who picked us up with a stop along the way to the IGA market to pick-up some groceries for the suite filled us in on the island history and places to see. We also used VIP Limo for the return trip to the airport with Mr. Virgil who was equally as hospitable.
None of our group wanted to leave when the trip reached an end. We are all talking about coming back next year for a return trip.
The Conk Shack was great, and Corey and the band that night also played at the wedding reception, they were fantastic as well. We ate at Bella Luna, Baci, Hemingways, as well as Grace's Cottage, and the food was very good at all.
The only expensive part of the trip was grocery prices at the local IGA, and the taxi rides all over town, (charge per person usually $4, $7, or $8 pp) gets very expensive to go to local attractions or restaurants with a group of 7 people (2 children). Airport arrival and departure process was rather slow with only 1 line for AA flights. Not too much to buy in the way of souvenairs there or anywhere on TCI. Plenty of water sports, and local attractions nearby. Sands Resort had computer access and many other amenities for guests.
Overall our trip was wonderful, and we all wish we could live there all year round! Can't wait to come back!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariaC51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
539 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#1 of 44 in Providenciales
2,561 reviews
1 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#21 of 44 in Providenciales
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#15 of 44 in Providenciales
2,017 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#7 of 44 in Providenciales
1,606 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#24 of 44 in Providenciales
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands at Grace Bay

Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#14 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: £169 - £554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect harmony on Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales Experience an earthly wonder of sand and sea at our 114-suite luxury resort on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. Family-friendly, yet ideally suited for romantic getaways and wedding celebrations, The Sands at Grace Bay offers a harmonious balance of home comforts and sublime Caribbean elegance - as well as a picture perfect location on the sparkling shores of Grace Bay Beach. If you are dreaming of a beach holiday in the Caribbean that gives you the flexibility of having your own fully-equipped suite while enticing you with fine dining, pristine grounds and sigh-inducing vistas, we look forward to welcoming you to The Sands at Grace Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
The Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing