We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sands at Grace Bay
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson Valley, NY
Level 5 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great vacation”
Reviewed 24 October 2009

We (my mother and I) stayed at the Sands Oct 17-21 2009. We were greeted in the lobby by friendly staff and two strong rum punches! Terrell helped us with our bags to our Studio Gardenview. We requested and were given a ground floor room due to my Mom having some difficulty with stairs. The room was clean, neat and nicely decorated. King sized bed, pullout couch and kitchenette met our needs. The grounds were beautiful; many different types of flowers blooming. The beach was spectacular, what else can I say, it is the cleanest, whitest sand I have ever seen. The water is so blue, different shades according to the depth of the water.

It took some time getting used to the heat (low 90's) and humidity. There are three pools to choose from to swim in. We did not have any problem getting a spot on the beach, the resort did not seem too busy. Ate most of our meals at Hemmingway's for convenience. The waitstaff was attentive. Conch fingers, fritters and fish tacos were very good.

Carol at the front desk was very helpful arranging trips and taxi service. I would highly recommend The Sands, especially with the current special of the fourth night free.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    677
    135
    53
    41
See reviews for
550
826
35
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2009

Stayed at this hotel for a week in August and had a fabulous time. The unit was clean and comfortable and while not all the appliances were upgraded, they worked well. The family especially enjoyed eating out on the screened terrace. Beach area was nice and clean and the beach boys were very friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed the crystal clear water and learning to sail on the hobbie cat. Had a wonderful dinner at Hemingway's and also enjoyed the managers cocktail hour on Tues. night. Will definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fam4trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modena
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

I am now at the Sands: it is really on one of the best beaches I have never seen ( I am Italian but I travel a lot)
The room are very nice (Ocean studio)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henrydicmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We stayed at the Sands for my son's wedding in May and couldn't have been happier. The rooms were great and the staff was excellent. Hemingway's hosted our grooms dinner and they went out of their way to make everything special. Grace Bay has to have the best beaches anywhere the water was crystal clear and the sand was like sugar. The best part was there were no crowds. It seems most beaches you have to look to find a place to sit but here it was never a problem. This was our first trip to TCI but we have already made reservations to come back next year.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lab1358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We have always loved staying at the Sands as a couple or with one other couple. This was the first time we've planned a trip with our whole extended family, in honor of our 40th anniversary. We booked a 2 bedroom and we loved the extra space before the gang arrived. Twenty four hours later, our son -in- law arrived, with our 5-year-old granddaughter and our year old grandson. They all fit comfortably in the 2nd bedroom and my granddaughter was heard, telling her mom (our daughter, who would arrive the next day, with our son and pregnant daughter-in-law), "Mommy, Turks and Caicos is the best." We agree. The baby loved playing in and eating the powdery sand on the beautiful beach, just yards away.The next day Mommy arrived and the family moved into a 2 bedroom next door. The staff was great about moving the crib from one unit to another. Our son and daughter-in-law took a courtyard studio, but were upgraded to a beautiful garden view. We had many meal at Hemmingways, because of the convenience, and because its good. Tropical Imaging (now called "Brilliant"?) did a fabulous photo shoot of our family on the beach and in the gardens of the Sands. They left us with a beautiful memory of the trip in breathtaking photography. We used Grace Bay Auto for rental cars and car seats were provided for free. With all the comings and goings, and frequent trips to the airport, we were amazed at how smoothly everything went.
We had always loved the Sands for ourselves, but now we know it is also great for young couples and families with kids. The staff was unbeatable.
Everyone left after a week, and we enjoyed our empty nest at the Sands, diving daily with Caicos Adventures, and just chillin'
Can't wait to return

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CTvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

My wife and I along with another couple spent a week at the Sands in May of this year. This was our third trip to the Turks and Caicos and we have stayed at the Sands all three times. This time we rented a three bedroom beach front condo on the third floor and it was spectacular. The wraparound porch was huge and there was plenty of room for all of us. The 180 degree views from the porch were spectacular both during the day and at night.. If you look at my pictures you will see a view from out screen porch and a sunset.

We traveled to the local grocery store to stock up on food so that we wouldn't have to eat out every night. If you want to save money, that is the way to go. Now, they have a new grocery store that is within walking distance of the Sands and is every bit as modern and well stocked as any grocery store in the states. After a morning walk we stopped by the new store and had a coffee and a pastry. We did eat out a few times and I would recommend that you don't miss the Wed rib special at the Tiki Hut. It is great and the ambience is wonderful. We also ate at Calico Jacks and would recommend them for pizza.

The only negative that I would mention is the unwillingness of the reservation staff to work with you when you asked for a specific room. We stayed at the Sands last year and at the conclusion of our trip we discussed with the on-site staff about the possibility of reserving the ocean front third-floor condo for the following year. They all assured us that if the owner was not coming during the time we were there it would not be a problem. Several months later we made a reservation but when we requested the third-floor condo we were told that they could not ensure we would get it since the owners have up to 60 days in advance to notify the Sands that they were coming and not to reserve the condo. We understood and waited until 50 days before we were to arrive to contact the resort again to ask for the third-floor condo; however, again they would not guarantee us that room. Our concern is that someone else would show up the day before we arrived and would be given the condo we had been trying to reserve for months. The rental management office is VERY INFLEXIBLE and if we had know of the hassle they were going to give use when the on-staff management staff assured us that reserving the room would not be a problem we might have looked elsewhere. As it turned out we did get the condo but not without some stress.

The on-site staff are very friendly and helpful. The day we arrived our air-conditioning went out and they immediately had a staff member work on it and got it going. Unfortunately, it went out again and they had to bring an off-island technician in to repair it. He arrived the next day and they relocated us to a different condo for the night that did have air-conditioning. I thought the staff handled the situation very well and made sure that our needs were met.

The husbands in our group are scuba divers and we did a week and dived with Caicos Adventures. If you dive I would highly recommend this outfit. They pick you up in the morning and you return from diving between 2 and 3 in the afternoon. Their boats are spacious with plenty of room for the divers. They are a great company to dive with. I put a few of my pics up with the hope that you will enjoy them.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamescrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

I enjoyed my 4 night stay at The Sands. Studio with balcony on the 3rd floor ~ kitchenette, washer/dryer, ceiling fan and really nice furnishings plus very lush landscaping on the property. There are no elevators but 3rd floor is the highest in any of the buildings. There is a water sports desk near the beach with towels and kayaks and sailboat to take out for free. Hemingways restaurant is open all day long. Prices for this hotel vary greatly on the internet. Look at hotels.com and expedia.com. >> Go to the spa at The Grace Bay Club.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pan-am-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.8 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,425 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
441 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#23 of 44 in Providenciales
820 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
1,972 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Resort
Alexandra Resort
#21 of 44 in Providenciales
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands at Grace Bay

Property: The Sands at Grace Bay
Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#14 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#18 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect harmony on Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales Experience an earthly wonder of sand and sea at our 114-suite luxury resort on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. Family-friendly, yet ideally suited for romantic getaways and wedding celebrations, The Sands at Grace Bay offers a harmonious balance of home comforts and sublime Caribbean elegance - as well as a picture perfect location on the sparkling shores of Grace Bay Beach. If you are dreaming of a beach holiday in the Caribbean that gives you the flexibility of having your own fully-equipped suite while enticing you with fine dining, pristine grounds and sigh-inducing vistas, we look forward to welcoming you to The Sands at Grace Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
The Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing