We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”
Review of Point Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Point Grace
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Norcross, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Point grace was home away from home...had all the comforts of home with a beautiful beach as a back yard...the property was very well kept...staff was helpful and accomodating. A short ride from the airport, by Gary, who, got us there quickly and took us back to the airport. The room had internet, stove, washer/dryer, nice bed and the bathrooms were clean. Continental bfast was included and was sufficient to start the day. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to get relief from the cold.

Room Tip: any room would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradc56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    65
    23
    14
    10
See reviews for
60
239
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

As a much needed break from this frigid winter we decided a quick beach thaw was in order. We stayed at Point Grace for 5 nights. This was our first time in T&C but I don't think it will be our last. We LOVED Grace Bay beach and understand why it's always named one of the world's most beautiful beaches.

Point Grace offered pros and cons. We really liked the location because it is nowhere near the noise, hub bub, hordes of children or large resorts at either end of Grace Bay. Point Grace is on a very quiet stretch of the beach but still only a 5 minute walk to the little town where there are a few restaurants and shops. The property was extremely quiet. In fact we rarely saw other people and were often two of maybe 6 people on the beach. For us, that was perfect.

The property is only 28 suites, mostly 2-3 bedroom suites, all with full kitchens. The landscaping was gorgeous, as was the pool area. Our suite was a 2 bedroom, 2 1/2 bath Ocean Front on the 2nd floor (though they call it the first floor) and had a lovely view, though the top floor suites would have better, more panoramic views as they'd be up above the palm trees. In addition there was obviously a family with children staying in the suite above us as the footsteps and running on the hardwood floors was easily audible at 6:30 a.m.

The suite was very spacious, colonial traditional in style, and while it was well furnished the furnishings are old and shabby. The upholstery needs to be cleaned as the sofas and cushions are stained. The televisions are old tube TVs, most of the wood furniture chipped and scratched. There was a leather chair and ottoman which really need to be thrown out. The kitchen was modern and equipped with most things you'd need for meals, though we did not eat in. The linens were very good and the abundance of high quality, fluffy towels and Asprey toiletries were very nice. The bathroom lighting was very good and the shower pressure was fantastic. The terrace seating was in need of updating and cleaning too.

The breakfast buffet is exactly the same every morning with no variation. Besides the requisite juices and coffee and tea, there is oatmeal (sweetened), dry cereals, sweet baked goods, cheeses and fruit consisting of watermelon, cantaloupe, honeydew and pineapple. Every day. Yawn. There is an additional a la carte menu of eggs etc and I enjoyed two superb omelettes, though they were ridiculously large (8 eggs) and came with no sides. Toast, bacon, or any other side were additional.

We had dinner at the famed Grace's Cottage on our first night and I can honestly say it was by far the worst meal of our trip. The restaurant was packed and there were three or four very large groups of 8-10, which always affects a restaurant's ability to cope. The service was non existent and when we could flag someone down, they were fairly surly. The food was almost inedible. How do your screw up grilled snapper? You overcook it beyond being able to cut it. The cost was obscene for what we ate and a service charge was added.

A few words about the service on the property. First and foremost I want to point out that other than the staff at Grace's Cottage, every single staff member we encountered was lovely. They were welcoming, genuine and seemed, for the most part to enjoy their jobs. The staff at breakfast were wonderful and warm. Our housekeeper Simone was a gem. That said, we were unprepared for the lack of service at the pool and on the beach. The vibe is different than other resorts we've been to. The pool bar is often unmanned. No one circulates around the pool to offer drinks or snacks, though fruit kabobs (same boring fruit being recycled from breakfast) and sorbet (same two flavours every day) are offered poolside and on the beach at 11:00 and 2:00. When you go down to the beach you have to grab your own towels and often your own bottled water from the cooler. Sometimes a staff member would bring you an ice bucket with two bottles of water, if he happened to be there when you arrived at the beach. But that was it. If you wanted more water, drinks, towels or to order food, you had to go and get it. I'm not complaining about it, I'm just pointing out it's a much more relaxed place. If you're expecting 5-star, solicitous service or pampering, you won't find it here. It's more of a relaxed, self service model.

I enjoyed a fantastic 90 minute massage in the small, but charmingly bohemian spa hut on the sand dunes, set back from the beach. The therapist was professional and accomplished.

When we arrived we were not told that the water is not potable and there was no water left in the suite until turndown when a 500 ml bottle was left bedside. The local water smells terrible so be sure to ask for extra water and to use it if you're going to make coffee in your suite (which is provided). They really need to leave a small tent card by the bathroom sinks to inform guests.

Turn down service is always appreciated but arriving at 6:00 p.m. is pretty silly when that's the time guests are winding down for the day and want privacy. I prefer turn down after I've gone out for dinner, say 7:30 - 8:00, when they can change the towels, turn down the beds, leave water etc. I did comment but the comments were ignored.

And finally, I must give a shout out to Mary, the Concierge. Mary recommended excellent restaurants and made our reservations. She also happens to own a cab so she was our driver. Mary is "in the know" and really made our dining experiences memorable. By the way, if you want to dine at Coco Bistro you'd better get her to reserve months, or at least weeks in advance. We could not get in. Best meals were at Coyaba and Mango Reef.

One last note, the mosquitos and midges are virulent. Bring repellant and use it at dawn and dusk.

Did we enjoy PG? Absolutely and we would return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GayleR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Spectacular views, 5 star restaurant onsite, luxury at it's finest. Our two bedroom suite was well decorated with comfortable oversized furniture, the moment you walk in you feel like you've arrived home. There is a prayer/welcome left on the kitchen counter from the owners wishing guests happiness and joy while on vacation and in life. Very nice touch. Outstanding location for couples or families with adult children (pool has no splashing rules).

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We visited Point Grace this summer with our two children who are young adults. It was a fun, relaxing and enjoyable family vacation. The beach is just beautiful with white sand and the most incredibly blue water. The resort was private and peaceful. We all relaxed. Everyone who works at Point Grace was helpful and courteous. We look forward to our return trip. Make sure to dine at Grace's Cottage one evening.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the water is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoomKeyPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
288 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is our second long-term stay, with 2 small children in tow. No words can explain how serene this place is. Although we love quieter places, this is the best we have ever stayed at. Fully relaxed, unwound within the first few days. The beach attendants offer wonderful service (cold water in an ice bucket, towels, sports and sand toys for our kids). Both restaurants are amazingly good (big thank you to the pastry chef for sweetening our stay!). But overall, you don't have to fight crowds on the beach or the pool for some relaxing time. You can tell how well-liked PG is, by the large number of return clients. There was some improvement (if any!), from last year. We have stayed at several resorts on the island and this is our top favorite. The only problem is that we cannot stop talking about it, but want to keep this place "our secret"!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BIGtraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

The beach area in front of hotel is one of the largest and also not very crowded as opposed to others not far from us. The resort is older but has lots of charm! The room is spacious and staff are friendly.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank UPS8DAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We went during the week and it was almost empty, I saw maybe 6 other guests the whole time I was there. The beach is perfect; white sand, crystal clear water. We checked out bicycles every night and explored the other local hotels & restaurants. We were traveling as two women, and in other islands I have felt unsafe, but definitely did not get any kind of dangerous vibe as we biked around. Beach is picturesque, rooms were clean & very spacious. We didn't use the kitchen much, if I were to go back I would like to plan ahead better & pick up snacks & lunch items to store in the fridge. We stayed ground level, right in front of the pool. May have been noisy during a busier season but when we were there it made for an easy out to the pool & beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSC255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.5 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 45 in Providenciales
411 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 45 in Providenciales
2,366 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
#4 of 45 in Providenciales
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Somerset on Grace Bay
The Somerset on Grace Bay
#6 of 45 in Providenciales
647 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Regent Grand
The Regent Grand
#8 of 45 in Providenciales
729 reviews
1.8 mi away
West Bay Club
West Bay Club
#9 of 45 in Providenciales
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Grace

Property: Point Grace
Address: Grace Bay Road | The Bight Settlements BWI, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#21 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Point Grace 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An extraordinary Caribbean retreat, located at the point of the pristine twelve-mile beach of Grace Bay. Inspired by classic, turn-of-the-century British Colonial architecture, the beach front setting looks out upon a shimmering vista of turquoise sea and alabaster beach.Here, in a setting seemingly untouched by time, each suite has been designed to include every luxury, leaving you free to encounter your own personal state of grace. Come and experience it for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Point Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Grace Hotel Providenciales
Point Grace Providenciales
Point Grace Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing