We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding accomodations”
Review of Ocean Club West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Club West
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Bandon, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding accomodations”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Great vacation! The room is huge with king bed, full kitchen,dinning, and sitting room with screened in balcony. A/c worked great and every room except kitchen had a fan. The only thing that could have been better is a ground floor room vice 3rd floor (top floor). Everything is pricey if wanting rto spend smartly, but is expected for any Carib. Is. Great snorkeling. Recommend a rental car although the island is small. Taxis can be pricey. We used Rental Buggy, shoed online best price, met at airport, and drove us back after turn in. Take note that we had to turn in day before as our flight left at 8 am next day. Be sure to go to the fish fry Thursday evening 1730, at the kids park. Food and drinks were great! The first band they had was new and was aweful, could not mix sound properly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freqman001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    264
    65
    20
    13
See reviews for
274
353
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Let me list the cons first:

Turks & Caicos is Expensive. I joke that I had to pay for the air I breathed

You can't snorkel from the beach. Folks mostly go out on boat excursions to the reef. There are 3 spots you can drive or taxi to for a beach-based snorkel but they are not as good as the outer reef.

Transportation Soaks You. There is no longer public transport along the main road of resorts. Taxis have a monopoly and they really gouge you. For example, a 2.5 mile drive with 5 of us was going to cost about $40-50. Really outrageous. Better to rent a car from a non-chain dealership. I found some online then went down to the front desk to make calls. What was it called? Scooter Bob's.
Also, don't use the phone from your room. It costs about $2 a minute

The Pros:
Clean spacious condos, great views, excellent wavy donut-shaped pool action for the kids. The ocean is gorgeous and clear, the beach is long. Pretty good service when you needed something. Good fitness center, tennis area looked great, no hot tub. On site restaurant was very good.

Room Tip: All rooms looked like they had a good view. Even with pool/garden you can see some of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank michnich02143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I spent five days at OCW, our first visit to Turks and Caicos. A relative had visited the island recently (at another resort) and had raved about the beach and the service they received. I want to be fair and provide as much information as possible, so let me start with the good points. The staff were pleasant and most were very helpful. The rooms, grounds, and pool are very well-maintained and clean. There is ample free wi-fi, with decent, but not overwhelming speed. The food and drinks at the restaurant were good. The beach, along with the chairs/umbrellas, was well-kept and, as expected, beautiful. The location is good, about 15 minutes from the airport, but within walking distance to off-site shops and restaurants. Our condo was well-furnished, and I believe most were, but recognize that all are furnished by their owners, so the level of furnishings varies among units.

For the not so great aspects, OCW lacks some of the "resort service" one might expect, particularly compared to other neighboring (although more expensive) properties. For example, the 4 PM check-in time is quite firm, so even if you arrive from the airport in the early afternoon, do not expect to be allowed into your room. Also, be aware that while the rooms include a full kitchen, you will need to walk (about 10 minutes--not a bad walk) to the nearest grocery store. Other than prepared food and drinks from the restaurant, there is literally nothing you can buy on site--no snacks, vending, drinks of any kind--and no gift shop. This was especially a problem in finding drinking water after the bar had closed. There is a "dive shop" as listed, but it was closed the entire time we were there, probably since it was off season. The "spa" is one room off the gym, so while there is nice spa music playing during your treatment, expect to hear the typical sounds of a gym as well. As with the dive shop, the spa is only open during times that treatments are booked. Otherwise, you must book an appointment at reception.

Don't expect a list or guide with nearby activities, such as water sports, restaurants, or shopping. Unlike other neighboring resorts, there is no snorkeling equipment available, even for rental (other resorts let you borrow them for free). The staff will be happy to make reservations for you and even recommend restaurants, but unlike most resorts I've experienced around the world, you really have to work to pull any kind of helpful information from the staff. One example: we asked on Sunday where we might be able to go to purchase souvenirs. The staff member said that everything would be closed that day. We were shocked that an entire resort island would be closed for a day, but she insisted. Her colleague then said the gift shop at the sister resort (Ocean Club) might be open. That was it--no offer to call them to check, no suggestion as to when the shuttle might be available to take us or any further offer to help.

In summary, there was nothing terribly unpleasant about the resort, but the lack of active service left us feeling as if we were living in an apartment complex, not vacationing in a modern resort. If OCW fits your budget, and if you are aware and OK with the realities I've described, then I'm sure you'll have a lovely visit--especially if you just want to lie on the beach. If you're looking for typical concierge-level resort hospitality, then this may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank DCnNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Needing a break from the awful winter we had in St. Louis we booked a stay at the Ocean Club West in Turks and Caicos and am so glad we did. We truly enjoyed every WARM minute we were on the island and loved our Ocean View Junior Suite which was huge-1 1/2 baths and a full kitchen! We did not know prior to booking that these were condos, rented and decorated by their owners, so that could explain the variation in some of the reviews. I sometimes feel like I stayed in a different place:)
The staff was super friendly, the food is great but yes...expensive. Like others, I recommend grabbing the free bikes and heading to a grocery store and picking up a few things, especially for breakfast and snacks. Turks and Caicos is a gorgeous place, the water is amazing and the beaches are also wonderful. We will go back and would definitely consider OCW when we do!

Room Tip: Our room was Ocean View (not front) on the 2nd floor also near the pool closest to the beach. It wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just returned from a 5 night stay at Ocean Club West-5/16 thru 5/21/2014. Starting with the lobby- easy check in, to the left of the front desk is a bank of computers and printer for guest use (internet access was spotty during our stay) (asked for wifi password for our room but it never worked) on the wall behind the computers are shelves filled with DVD’s for guest use. Would have been nice to have a complementary drink upon arrival. All 3 story condos were behind the lobby building down nicely landscaped and maintained cobblestone paths. Our room was a jr. suite on the second floor. Be aware that there are no elevators. The jr suite was a very nice (clean) 1 bedroom condo with stacked washer/dryer, full galley kitchen, nice bathroom, living room with separate bedroom with king bed and large screened in porch accessible from from both bedroom and living room through sliding glass doors. Screened porch was appx. 24’ x 10’with 2 padded chaise lounge chairs and an outdoor dining table and chairs. Kitchen had coffee maker, toaster, microwave, full refrigerator, dish washer and fully stocked cupboards with plates and cooking implements. There is a safe in the bedroom closet. Beautiful view of the pool area from our room with the ocean visible in the distance.

Pool is a nice “lazy river” style with plenty of lounge chairs and child friendly depths. The picture of the pool area on the web site is very representative of the grounds. Beach towels are provided plentifully daily at the pool area.

Now for the “Seaside Café”. This unassuming restaurant has a covered section and an open deck that overhangs the beach with an ocean view. The menus are island inspired, but have options that will suit most tastes. After a couple of meals, we were hard pressed to dine elsewhere and when we did, we would say that it would have been as good, or better, if we had stayed on property. The seafood selections are first rate and the portions are large enough to share (so you can try more things!) Many thanks to Café night manager Bloneva Greene! You made our dining experience wonderful!

Now for the beach.

Providenciales is all about the beach and water and the beach at Ocean club West is on the best stretch of Grace Bay. We visited other hotels on Grace Bay and the beach was not as spacious nor the water area as nice as the beach in this area of the bay. And yes, the water really is just as blue as the pictures suggest. It is incredible!

Ocean Club West location is another plus. Walk to the front of the property and turn right and you’re within easy walking distance of the main shopping area and a large grocery store. I highly recommend stocking up on drinks from the grocery store rather than purchasing drinks at the bars. Beer is around $13.00 a six pack at the grocer which is cheaper than $7 a bottle and Rum goes for around $20 a litre. The front desk has 2 wheeled carts to borrow for hauling back groceries. There is also a fantastic French bakery across the street. There is a shuttle to the sister hotel Ocean Club East that takes just a couple of minutes to reach. Bicycles are available for use, but the hotel offers no water sports equipment. The front desk can set you up with all kinds of tours, snorkeling, diving etc.
Not a party hardy hotel, just a great place to stay for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: We always say that we're not on vacation for the room. Our jr suite was part of a package throug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Riversburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We just stayed at OCW May 18th through May 24th in a Junior Suite on the 3rd floor and it was beautiful. The décor was lovely and we had breakfast and lunch out on the screened-in balcony everyday. The restaurant was very nice and the employees at the restaurant were very friendly - I wish I could say the same about the front desk staff. On the last day when we checked out, the gentleman was very nice but other than that, the employees were rude and unhelpful. One afternoon I was heading to the beach to sit under an umbrella and an employee was putting it down for the day and I asked him not to and he said "No, I'm putting it down"....great way to treat a guest! I give this a very good rating because of the beach and the actual condo because both were absolutely lovely but the staff really needs to work on their customer service skills.

Room Tip: Ask for a 3rd floor room - you'll always have an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scubachick42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth meeting
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My husband and I stayed during May 13th to the 17th. We had an amazing time. We stayed in the one bedroom condo and it was very spacious for the both of us. I enjoyed waking up and having breakfast on the balcony every morning. We had a flat screen tv both in the living and bedroom with cable. The kitchen was stocked with pots, plates, cups and cooking utensils. The room had 1 1/2 bathrooms and a washer & dryer (detergent was included). We got in the pool twice but it was not our priority since the beach was incredible. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. We had many questions about booking excursions and our car rental. John and Cortez in the front desk took the time to even call around to get us the best rates. We appreciated their suggestions and recommendations of what to do on the islands. There was a supermarket near the resort which we bought breakfast items and saved some money (only a 5 minute walk). The resort provides you with bicycles which we used to go souvenirs shopping on our last day. I wished the bicycles had a basket in the front to carry our bags back. We did notice other resorts had better bicycles with baskets and also beach umbrellas & chairs. But overall we had a great experience while our stay in Ocean Club West.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcfaddenma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.1 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 45 in Providenciales
2,367 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 45 in Providenciales
411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#15 of 45 in Providenciales
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
560 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#22 of 45 in Providenciales
802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#17 of 45 in Providenciales
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club West

Property: Ocean Club West
Address: 54 Bonaventure Crescent | Grace Bay Beach, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#12 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Club West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Club Resorts is comprised of two beachfront properties, Ocean Club and Ocean Club West, located one mile apart on stunning Grace Bay Beach. The intimate resorts offer a “Stay at one, Play at both” opportunity for guests to enjoy all the services and amenities of both. An easy stroll down a beautiful stretch of beach is the popular way to get between the two resorts, although guests can be chauffeured by a complimentary shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, West Indies, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Club West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Club West Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Hotel West
Ocean Club West Turks Caicos
Ocean Club West Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing