We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once Bitten.......”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Club West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Club West
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Danville, KY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Once Bitten.......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Once bitten by Turks and Caicos, you will always want to come back. This is our 2nd trip to paradise but, it was our first time at Ocean Club West. This resort was just our speed. We generally don't like over populated resorts, this one had plenty of room on the beach, and by the way, the water color is postcard beautiful!!! Our room was very nice, not exactly 5 star but 4, we liked this resort more than many we've stayed at in the last few years. Loved the screened porches with adjustable speed ceiling fans. Everything is expensive in Turks and Caicos, especially food but, with good planning and bringing some of your own food you can reduce the cost of your overall stay. I actually slept on the screened porch most nights without pests eating me alive although i did get bit some when I didn't apply some sort of insect repellant. We had a ground floor room with the easiest pool access of all. The pool although not very deep 3 ft to 5 ft and warmer than the waters of Grace Bay from the hot days. The pool area has lots of shaded spots around it during the day. The property has 2 propane grills located in the center of the pool area. We used it for steaks without any problems. The resort grounds looked excellent as well. Everyone has something they think resorts could improve on and in this case I would say the speed of service in the Seaside Cafe could be a bit quicker. We enjoyed the meals and some can be very spicy or hot. One very important detail I forgot to mention, if you are big on "service", I wouldn't recommend this resort, they do not go over and beyond. I don't mind doing some things myself though, and do not require daily room service. Overall we will return again to this exact resort if possible, it was close to perfection for the price.

Room Tip: Ground rooms have screen porch door access to the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelHawk87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    260
    62
    20
    13
See reviews for
269
342
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This place is paradise....the beach is amazing, the color a bright turquoise....absolutely stunning! Our condo was perfect, well maintained and on the beach. We had cable TV (perfect for our 2 boys) a fully equipped kitchen, a view of the sea and pool and the breeze through the condo was perfect. Pool was quiet, so the kids could run and splash around to their hearts content. The cafe was simple but was adequate for our needs. We even ate here on the first night and the Fish with curry sauce was excellent. OCW is close to plenty of restaurants (Coco Bistro, caicos Cafe, Yoshim Chopsticks, the Deck...al excellent) and the supermarket.....we brought cereal, snacks and coffee with us, but some of the fruit and food is decently priced, although as people have said on here other things can be expensive.....however, the basics (water, juice, bread, fruit) are not too bad. We rented a car for 2 days from AVIS down the street and got to see some of the island (Long Beach, Leewear Beach and Sapodila Bay are gorgeous) and the car was $40 day (could have got cheaper but I wanted a/c and automatic). The snorkwling trip was OK, not great not bad (kinda rushed and water a little choppy), but iguana island where the boat stops is just stuning and the boat crew were fun (Island Vibes). We went snorekelling on our own at Leeward Beach atthe top of the isalnd and you could see a lot of fish. Overall amazing........

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkyMarkDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have been to Provo several times before but never at Ocean Club West. When I wanted to make arrangements to go back to dive again, this time with my wife joining us, I wanted "a very nice place" I did a little bit of searching online and Ocean Club West looked very appealing. My wife tells me I made a very good choice. The accommodations were outstanding. We had true Ocean view, a gorgeous beach, a great place to stay on the property for lunch (and for dinner one night) and a short walk to several very fine restaurants. The relationship with Dive Provo was a bonus as it was a short walk across the street. Shopping was convenient and we used the full kitchen every morning. The help was truly "first class" and we received a friendly greeting as we checked in, complete assistance anytime we picked up the phone or stopped in at the front desk, and the daily cleanup service was prompt, courteous and complete. The beach is truly, as the reputation says, one of the best in the world. When we go back to Provo, will go back to Ocean Club West..

Room Tip: If you ask for a room with an ocean view that's what you'll get. We loved the "A"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

My family and I quickly learned that Ocean Club West was an awful choice. We stayed at the resort for a week in a condo with 2 bedrooms. The upstairs had two beds and the master bedroom had one. Of the three beds in the house, two were infested with bed bugs. Upon waking up on the first morning of our vacation, I, along with my husband and one of my daughters, woke up with small, itchy red bites. My 18 year old woke up with 21 bites on her legs along with a couple on her arms, chest, and face. My husband and I had bites all over our ankles and legs. When we called the front desk to inform them, they acted VERY surprised and did not do so much as to apologize. They didn't offer us any options, so we requested two fold-away beds. This raised another issue with this resort: the customer service was awful. The front desk was not apologetic whatsoever when we informed them of the bedbugs and didn't offer any solutions. However, it wasn't only the front desk that was rude. The people working at the cafe/bar were rude as well. When my 18 year old walked up to the cafe and asked to order a salad, a bartender (who was standing behind the counter) looked at her and said, "I'm not working right now. Find someone who is." This was completely unprofessional. Staying at Ocean Club West is very costly (not to mention the airfare and price of food/goods on the island) and my family did not pay thousands of dollars to be treated with such poor customer service. All in all, I would NOT recommend this hotel. The lack of customer service and especially the bedbug infestation were more than enough to make me never want to book another stay here ever again.

Room Tip: I would not recommend staying in any of the rooms. Bedbugs are easily transferred. Chances are, if o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Grace O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanClubResorts, Manager at Ocean Club West, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
I sent a personal email to you that the suite was inspected and there was no finding of bed bugs, and have not heard back from you. In order to refute your review we hired an outside company, Truly Nolan, to investigate that showed no finding. You stayed seven nights and never mentioned this concern. Due to social media a hotel has to show proof and from an outside company. I would appreciate if you will respond so I may provide the written verification.
Ocean Club Resorts has never had a bed bug incident. We take all necessary measures to prevent and take any complaint most serious, including yours even though you had departed.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Regards,
OCR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

My family just returned from a 5 night stay at the OCW. The trip was wonderful as was the property and location. The purpose of the trip was for relaxation and a much needed rest. From the time we walked in the vacation began. The front desk staff John and Cortez checked us in with a smile and hearty welcome. Also a special shout out to Shawn who gave us great tips to make our trip more enjoyable. We had a 2 bedroom Ocean Front which was perfect ...Room B222. The suite had everything we needed, and the OCW screened in porch is a great plus. There is nothing better than having your morning coffee and breakfast and your evening happy hour on the screened in porch watching and listening to the sounds of the ocean. Most of the other reviews give the highlights, free wi-fi, towels, plenty of lounge chairs at the pool and beach, free bikes for bike riding, etc. The beach was clean and the water crystal clear. We also visited the local IGA market for the essentials, the French bakery for the pastries and quiche, and loved the patty place where we enjoyed wonderful beef patties. As stated the front desk will give you a pull cart to take with you to make the carrying of your groceries easier. We also visited Big Momma's for souveniers. OCW is not a big resort. It is a boutique property with minimal activities We were able to arrange for snorkeling, and they do have folks (independents) walking the beach offering other activities such as para sailing, bannana boat riding and the sort. There was not much entertainment, a local musician Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, If you want something more there are larger more expensive or all inclusive properties to visit. What it is a well managed property with great service and staff whose only goal is to ensure that you enjoy your stay.

Turks is expensive, we actually saw the price of an 8 pk of hamburger buns for $14.99, but other things e.g as eggs, bacon, cold cuts, bread, spaghetti, were a little more reasonable, come on it's vacation what do you expect. All and all, if you are looking for a good place to go and relax, OCW is the place.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom ocean front B22. Great view, nicely furnished
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights beginning on Friday, June 20th. I will say that when we first arrived we were a little worried because the place was totally empty. We threw our stuff in our room and grabbed a very late lunch/very early dinner at the Seaside Café and there was only one other couple there and there was no one around the pool area and only a few people on the beach. But the lunch was great and it was nice having the pool to ourselves. It did get more crowded the next day.

We had room 624 and it was probably the worst room in the resort (faced the back, 2nd floor so could hear people above us). But we didn't mind the view and for the price we paid we were expecting to not be blown away by the room. We were actually pleasantly surprised. The view, although not of the ocean or pool, was tropical. Once we got used to the small space we decided it was perfect for us as we didn't spend much time there anyway. The kitchenette was nice to have and we made breakfast a few mornings (and went to the Caicos Bakery 2 mornings) and ate our breakfast on the screened in porch every morning. The screened in porch really made the room, without it, there would be nowhere to eat. You have to be very careful to wash dishes right away and not leave spoons or the pan in the sink because little tiny ants were immediately all over the kitchen area.

The main reason we chose this resort was the location and the great beach. We didn't want to rent a car (and after the ride to and from the airport are glad we didn't - we booked with Majestic and highly recommend them) and we could easily walk to many restaurants. IGA was a 5-10 minute walk and the resort provides a cart to wheel back groceries/water. Everything at IGA is at least $8. I bought a bottle of Minute Maid lemonade to go with my tequila and it was $8. A half gallon of ice cream was $8. Eggs were only $3.45/dozen (so I guess I lied). We ate at Seaside Café each day for lunch (and one day took the shuttle to OCE and ate at the Cabana Bar which was also good). I can't believe Seaside Café isn't packed! For the price and the great food, it is definitely a positive of the resort. It's also nice that you can charge meals from both resorts to your room. For dinner we walked to Bella Luna, Caicos Café (right across the street), Coco Bistro and Vix (and Melt for dessert). We ate at the resort on Caribbean Night (Mon) and it was great to watch the sunset while we ate (many restaurants don't have an ocean view). We walked on the beach each morning and made it to Regeant Palms and thought we were going to die because it was so hot, and then we had to walk back. It was almost 100 degrees and even the cab and shuttle drivers were complaining it was too hot, so I don't think it normally gets this hot in June. But we wanted to walk to Hemingway's for lunch and never made it. By the time lunch rolled around it was just too hot for that far of a walk. Plus we loved Seaside Café and it was so convenient we didn't feel like we were missing out. The beach is by far the best we've been to (Aruba, Jamaica, Riviera Maya - Maroma Beach) and it is consistently beautiful for miles. For us, this vacation was all about the beach so we didn't do any excursions but we will next time. There is absolutely no night life anywhere. We walked around on our first night, Friday night, and were the only people out. There are shops but they all seem to close at 5. Some of the restaurants even close at 5 (we wanted to go to the S Shack for a laid back dinner but they close at 5). The attitude on the island doesn't appear service oriented in many places. If you have been to Jamaica, it's kind of like that. We felt like we were a bother which was insane to me because we were paying big money for dinners to feel like we were bothering the workers.

We will definitely return (the beach alone has us hooked) and depending on the price, may try to book a room closer to the ocean on the third floor. The problem with the 2nd floor is that the floors are tile and we could hear people walking around above us at night (among other things...). The rooms are not very sound proof, we were woken up by the neighbors alarm at 6:50 each morning. I would like to book on VRBO but then you lose the ability to charge to the room and it was nice to not worry about keeping a credit card in the beach bag. But if it's more than a few hundred dollars more for us it wouldn't be worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clmst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatboro
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Well nothing has changed it's still beautiful and relaxing! we just finished an 8 day stay and it is not long enough! maybe 2 weeks next time? The Unit had the same unbelievable view of the Sunsets and Beach nothing like sitting on your deck eating Dinner while watching the Sunset!
This time we brought a lot of our food with us Chicken, Hamburger and Hotdogs, Frozen in a hot/cold container( it was still frozen when we got there) Peanut butter, Jelly, spaghetti, snacks and snorkel equipment and floats in a checked bag $25 saved us a lot!! Had a three bedroom Ocean Front unit well worth the money. See Pics The Restaurants and Food are expensive so we got a partial meal plan and ate a lot of meals in our unit, why not with those views?? and they supply the Grills!! in a nice Gazebo in the middle of the pool area.

Room Tip: We've only stayed in the Oceanfront but all the Units are nice according to the people we've...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC5363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.1 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#4 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#15 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#22 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alexandra Resort
Alexandra Resort
#17 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
2.1 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#10 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club West

Property: Ocean Club West
Address: 54 Bonaventure Crescent | Grace Bay Beach, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#12 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Club West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Club Resorts is comprised of two beachfront properties, Ocean Club and Ocean Club West, located one mile apart on stunning Grace Bay Beach. The intimate resorts offer a “Stay at one, Play at both” opportunity for guests to enjoy all the services and amenities of both. An easy stroll down a beautiful stretch of beach is the popular way to get between the two resorts, although guests can be chauffeured by a complimentary shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, West Indies, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Club West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Club West Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Hotel West
Ocean Club West Turks Caicos
Ocean Club West Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing