We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Caribbean beach experience!”
Review of Ocean Club West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Club West
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2009

I wholeheartedly agree with Caribbeanjunkies review of Ocean Club West on Grace Bay in Turks and Caicos. The units vary in terms of size, location and amenities. My mother and I stayed in a poolside junior suite, #516, owned by Keith this winter, and it was perfect for our needs.


As a former travel writer, I have visited numerous Caribbean islands and have been to Turks & Caicos several times, staying in deluxe resorts each time. I’m familiar with most of the resorts on the gorgeous miles-long stretch of white sand on Grace Bay. OCW is the nicest I’ve seen of the lot. The buildings are only 3 stories high, and our ground floor suite opened directly on to the pool, and was a few steps from the restaurant and most importantly, that beautiful beach! Our comfortable, lovely large studio, screened in porch and easy access to the outdoors made us feel like we were in our own home. The layout was ideal, an open, airy room with king size bed, ceiling fans, and well-outfitted (blender, coffee machine etc.) kitchen; the large porch with ultra comfortable furniture, was like a another room, so one of us could read on the porch while the other was watching tv or sleeping.

The owner provides amenities that you won’t get elsewhere, which make a big difference in making you feel at home, not to mention saving you money: Satellite TV and DVD player, laptop computer with wireless internet, a phone that allows you unlimited free calls to the US and Canada. Anyone who’s been slammed with huge hotel phone bills will truly appreciate this added value! The owner has even loaded the phone with useful numbers like airlines, local restaurants and dive shops. Additionally, a local cell phone allows people on-island to call you or for you to receive that important call from home while you are enjoying the beach. The restaurants in the area are great, but not cheap. Here, you can stock up on groceries and use the brand-new grills housed in a pool pavilion steps away, or go to the restaurant overlooking the ocean. (Several excellent restaurants are within walking distance, and the owner gives you detailed info on them; guests have added their recommendations.)

Scuba diving here is fantastic-I even saw a humpback whale on one dive: they migrate through the islands during the winter months. There are tons of water sports options and excursions available.

Or, you can simply relax on a gorgeous beach. I highly recommend this option for those who just want to hit the pool/beach and don’t want to bother with hotel lobbies, elevators, fawning service etc. For my mother and me, nothing beats waking up and walking straight out to the balmy air, palms, pool, powdery white sand and turquoise Caribbean.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Beachbabe820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

708 - 714 of 868 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2009

Just returned from one week stay at OCW. Had booked through the resorts and initially was to be at OC but changed and glad we did. Location of OCW is better- walking distance to several good restaurants and shops. Beach is wide and and wasn't crowded and they have plenty of cabanas and umbrellas.

Stayed in a JR. Suite on ground floor and it was perfect. Daily maid service was great and the staff members were very friendly. My wife went scuba diving for five days and the shop was on site. I played golf five days and the resort van dropped me off and picked me up each day.

Would definitely return

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RS82547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2009

We were so happy with everything about OCW. The location is perfect....across from Ports of Call and close to Salt Mills. The staff was SO friendly and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. The staff was as friendly as any I have ever come across in any of our travels....always a smile and a hello. We were lucky enough to see JoJo the Dolphin just off the beach from OCW. We did rent a car and had the best time at DaConch Shack....worth the drive. Also the Monday Manager's Party was a good way to meet others staying at OCW and the appetizers, especially the fried conch, were more than I expected. We would definately stay at OCW again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2008

It's a 3 star solid hotel, a little outdated, but great value for the money. We had a Junior Suite with a pool/beach view.
Liked:
Presence of Kitchen/Washer and drier/Huge balcony (netted)
The suite was roomy/clean (housekeeping was great)
Hotel is situated right on the beach. Beach is the most beautiful and clean I've ever seen, we spent a great deal of time walking, tanning, swimming and just doing nothing there. Sand is like powder, so fine and water beautiful, clean turquoise color . Kids were making sand castles and collecting sea shells.
Hotel is well landscaped and maintained, you can rent bicycles, tennis rackets right in the lobby.
Disliked:
Taxi service is very expensive and they charge per person.
Overall service in the hotel for the lack of a better word sucks. The general attitude of the employees lacks SERVICE (and they are in the SERVICE business?!). No one is on the hurry, no sorry, not much smiles either, but I found this to be the case all over island, so maybe it's just TAC thing.
They charge you for everything....a local call to book a boat cost us $7
Suggestions:
If you want to save money go to the IGA supermarket as soon as possible, we saved on the drinks and breakfast this way.
If you not afraid to drive on the wrong (sorry to all that consider that the right side) side of the street......rent a car, money wise it's your best bet.
Talk to people to get recommendations on the excursions before booking, you probably not going to get much help from the hotel staff (they will refer you to a brochures avail in the lobby) .
Overall it was an awesome vacation, very relaxing full of sun, sand, beer, food and great memories.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank lcherk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed for 5 nights, over the Christmas Holiday 2008. Ocean Club West is a nice place -- not "luxury", but well-maintained and clean, with friendly staff. They nickel-and-dime you a bit (probably more so when booking through a travel site like Orbitz), but nothing unexpected for this type of vacation/location. I wasn't terribly impressed with the onsite spa, Spa Tropique -- $55 for a pretty marginal pedicure. The only real complaint I have is that they advertise having VCR/DVD players and movies for free check-out at the front desk, but they were out the entire time we were there. Not a huge deal, just a little annoying. All-in-all, we'd definitely recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank runningamy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2008

Beautiful Views. Great Beach. Fun and easy excurtions. We liked having the freedom to cook in our condo or go out. The food at the outdoor bar / restaurant was decent - although a little pricey. We actually saw JoJo the famous dolphin while on the beach one morning. He was a few feet from us in the water. The staff was nice. I would not recommend the spa services but the rest was a true vacation away from it all....great for coupes, families, anyone who enjoys beautiful beaches and relaxation.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TrekChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

We had 3 kids under the age of 5 and were looking for a relaxing beach vacation but with more traditional amenties versus a hotel like a kitchen, washer dryer, etc. A friend recommended this resort and it was perfect for us. Incredible views, great layout, spacious. It was very quiet when we were there, the food was good, the beach was great.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Cdub1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.1 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,522 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#20 of 44 in Providenciales
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Sands at Grace Bay
The Sands at Grace Bay
#19 of 44 in Providenciales
1,896 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#23 of 44 in Providenciales
826 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#17 of 44 in Providenciales
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club West

Address: 54 Bonaventure Crescent | Grace Bay Beach, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#11 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: £247 - £510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Club West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Club Resorts is comprised of two beachfront properties, Ocean Club and Ocean Club West, located one mile apart on stunning Grace Bay Beach. The intimate resorts offer a “Stay at one, Play at both” opportunity for guests to enjoy all the services and amenities of both. An easy stroll down a beautiful stretch of beach is the popular way to get between the two resorts, although guests can be chauffeured by a complimentary shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, West Indies, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Club West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Club West Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Hotel West
Ocean Club West Turks Caicos
Ocean Club West Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing