We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and wonderful service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sailing Paradise - CLOSED

Sailing Paradise
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

It's now called Jerky's and it's in Grace Bay. The owners are great people and the food is some of the best we had in our week long stay in Provo. The conch fritters and coconut shrimp are out of this world, and prices were very reasonable.They even pick you up from your resort. Head straight to Jerk's for a great meal!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mad123son
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    31
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
121 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Dont Miss This Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We had been anticipating a visit to Da Conch Shack and asked our hotel clerk for a transportation suggestion. Apparently the locals run a very unoffical and illegal jitney service. When walking down the street you wil often hear car horns beeping. That is the jitney asking if you need a ride. If you choose to take this option you will be treated to a cheap ride in a small most likely uninsured and probably unsafe automobile. Our hotel clerk advised against this and said the cab fare from our hotel would be $40 one way. He then suggested Sailing Paradise, including that they will pick you up free and the food is better.
So we called from the front desk, chatted a bit and a well dressed young man arrived and escorted us to a very clean van. Turns out he is originally from Jamacia and ended up on TCI through his work with Sandals (now Beaches)
We arrived at a beautifully painted and colorful cluster of three buildings boasting a Sailing Paradise sign. A smiling young woman greeted us and showed us to a picnic table on a great deck over looking the ocean. The surroundings are quite different here than on Grace Bay. There is sea weed, local boats moored just off shore and even local men out fishing for the family dinner.
We asked several questions about the menu and found it quite easy make substitutions. We ordered crab salad and the seafood platter (which had no price listed $60). It was loaded for two with the most delicious moist grouper, grilled shrimp, plantains and curry conch. Yes, it was great. We had a fruit punch which was refreshing.
Sensing we were full our waitress told us to let her know at least ten minutes before we are ready to leave so she can call the driver.
We asked if it would OK for us to take a walk on the beach. Sure no problem. We were practically the only customers, besides two local girls who stopped in for french fries.
As we walked on the beach we found some really cool shells and coral, but best of all beautiful, pink and ivory conch shells. We gathered several and ended up lining them up to choose the best. We chose three to return to our hotel and our home. Our waitress helped us with bags and water to wash the sand from our feet.
When paying our bill we were dismayed to find out that they only take cash. Due to the impromptu nature of our dining at Sailing Paradise we had no time to check the Trip Advisor reviews which would have warned us to bring cash,
So the waitress say's " go ahead and the driver will take you to your hotel to get cash and will return it to us". Our Jamacian ex-pat drives us back and while we are visiting and advising that he advertise the need for cash only, we find that he is one of the owners of Saliing Paradise. Our bill was just about $100.
Excellent fresh food, excellent atmosphere, superior service, nets Sailing Paradise the best dining experiance on our entire trip! Accomadation and customer service is the name of the game at this small and seriously worth while destination. Go for the food and fall for the ambiance!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleShelleyZen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Fried greatness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We were debating between Sailing Paradise and da Conch Shack and picked SP because they picked us up. We had the cracked conch and the seafood platter, and both were amazing. Perfectly prepared, artery clogging goodness. The setting was fun and it was great to be at place with both locals and tourists. Very reasonably priced for Provo, too!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ElsieLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Prices, But Bring Cash”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We tried to go for dinner on a Tuesday, but a seemingly possessed man across the street was shouting incoherent ramblings into a microphone. We just couldn't allow our dinner to be ruined, so we went somewhere else. Not to be defeated, though, we came back for lunch on Wednesday and we were glad we did. Although clearly not fancy, the view was pretty, and food and the service (the server was super friendly) were good. We ordered grilled grouper sandwich, cracked conch, cheeseburger, and shrimp pasta. The fried plantains tasted deep fried and I could taste a hint of fish, so I suspect they may fry them in old oil or the same oil that the fish is fried in. Not crazy about that, but my grilled grouper was tasty. Everyone else was pleased with the food, too. The total bill was $66 (before tip; we didn't have any alcoholic drinks). That was the least expensive meal we've had on the island and worth the value. Please note that they only accept cash, so don't bring your cards.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MidwestRoadTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Food, Large Portions, & Beautiful View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We just returned from our first visit to Sailing Paradise in Blue Hills. We took advantage of their free shuttle service from our hotel in Grace Bay to the restaurant. The staff is very friendly, and the food is delicious. We had the conch fritters as an appetizer, cracked conch, and fish fingers. All the portions were huge, and everything was cooked perfectly. We highly recommend the festivals (Jamaican cornbread fritters) as a side dish. We had a beautiful view during our meal, and watched the pelicans diving for their food!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KKandRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sailing Paradise also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Five Cays Settlement, Providenciales
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing