We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach bliss”
Review of Alexandra Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Alexandra Resort
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Beach bliss”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Love this place! Will have a hard time going elsewhere on future beach trips as this is by far the most beautiful beach for swimming and relaxing. Couple that with truly friendly and helpful staff ( apart from the front desk and GM manager), oceanfront rooms with large balconies, and a good restaurant; it s almost pure perfection. On the down side, the beds are super soft with no support making for some sore backs. The gym is in a small corner first floor unit back with few windows and equipment jammed into every possible space but you can get your work out and they keep the A/C up high. I didn t see signs of a real spa, just a door next to gym with sign. Spa next door at regent supposedly amazing. The resort offers a daily shuttle to grocery store which is very handy and recommended if w/o car. Agree with other reviews that Mango Reef, the on site restaurant on the best in area. Bay bistro was quite good as was somewhere down by coral garden. Dinners average $125-200 per couple so we tried the local spot behind resort Smokeys. It was $55 for two and not only served with a smile but quite tasty. Sadly, the atmosphere is depressing. As far as the beach goes, there were always available chairs with umbrellas, excellent beach staff, some water toys including two paddle boards. One being for children and the for adults. Wished they had more for adults as the solo adult board was very hard to get a hold off. No homie cats!! That was a real bummer as all the surrounding resorts seemed to have and we were very envious. We took the island vibe tour with Gino and Tino which we highly recommend. Such a great time, no one wanted to get off the boat at the end. Evenings are pretty quiet on grace bay so if you re looking for nightlife, this may not be your island but if you enjoy gorgeous pristine calm beaches with silky soft sand and great service, this is your place. Hope this was helpful? If so, pls click helpful vote.

Room Tip: Bay bistro, cocoa bistro, Island vibe tour, Smokeys for something local, shuttle for groceries, ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Freja3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    935
    574
    120
    44
    35
See reviews for
431
922
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skillman, New Jersey, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Loved our stay here. Rented the 4-bedroom, very spacious, ocean-view, 4th floor condo. Plenty of space and all of the features we needed so that we could eat in as desired. Only complaint was coffee maker needs to be replaced.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hamilton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for letting us know about the coffee maker - it has been replaced! We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

5 Night visit to TCI with wife, our first time to the island. Chose the resort for location, price and value for dollar. We called the toll free number on their website and made reservation with them. We had a 1 bedroom ocean front suite reserved for about 345 per night.

Arrived at resort and the room they had us in was on the ground level in Rose building, I went and looked at it, asked if they would be able to get us up higher. After a few hours we managed to get a room on the top floor. While they were cleaning the room we took a cab to the grocery store for food and beverages. Be prepared if you do not have a car that the taxi(vans) are 10.00 just about everywhere, each way per person.

The lobby of the Alex seemed nice, clean, simple with a nice deck out back overlooking a beautiful stretch of beach. We sat for a few, had a water then got in the taxi to the market. Be prepared for high prices as you will read, TCI is very expensive. When we returned, we were taken to our room and let me tell you, worth the wait! See my pics of the room, it was fantastic, clean, large and furnished in a slight outdated island theme. We loved it though, had a stack-able washer dryer, full kitchen, pull out sofa, half bath and a nice large king bed.

Overall the property was nice, it was simple and for the most part clean and just perfect. I would say they need to get the gym thing sorted, it is stuck in a small room and not worth even trying, just do your fitness routine in the water.....

Mango Reef is on site and lives up to and exceeds all reviews, it was fantastic and after we tried several TA recommendations, we realized we could have stayed here every night the food was that good.

The stretch of beach at the Alex is nice, power white sand, great loungers and umbrellas, plenty for all....no need to come down and reserve like many seemed to do there. They had available free of charge a number of water toys like stand up paddle boards, kayaks, water bike, floats etc, it was fantastic! The guys manning the beach were so helpful.

The service was just right, everyone eager to help but at a slower pace than we might be used to but just perfect, exactly what we needed.

Pool was just right, plenty of space, plenty of loungers and towels.

All in all, we loved it here. Would we go back to the Alex, sure but there are so many places, we would try others first. I would suggest this place but not really for families with smaller kids, not much to do for them. They would use all that water stuff and be bored by the second day :)

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the ocean are a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 2worldtravelersnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This was our second visit to Provo. 1st visit was at another resort on Grace Bay. We planned to stay there again and made reservations but we were contacted prior to leaving and our stay was cancelled due to "renovations." We had to scramble to find another place to stay and were directed to Alexandra. We stayed 7 nights and everything was delightful. Gracious staff. Very clean grounds and beach. Good food. We had a 1 bedroom suite oceanfront and it was perfectly provisioned with what anyone would need. Al was even kind enough to provision our suite with groceries that we ordered prior to arrival. Nice to be able to walk in the suite and have the refrigerator and pantry already stocked. No need to worry about going to the grocer. A very nice veranda that hosted beautiful sunsets over the crystal blue waters of Grace Bay. There is a reef to snorkel about 15 minutes walking on a beach that is pure as snow. And the walk was pure pleasure due to the amazing scenery and serenity. We passed other resorts on the walk and were very glad we stayed at Alexandra. For us the other resorts were too crowded. Should we make another trip to Provo I suspect we will stay at Alexandra again. Thanks to the staff who helped make this trip a very nice memory.

Room Tip: Oceanfront 1st floor makes everything so much easier. Walk right off the veranda and straight to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rmoore0929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I have gone to Turks and Caicos a couple of times, but this past trip I made with my family we decided to stay at the Alexandra Resort. Let me begin by saying that this is the must beautiful hotel i have seen. The staff is extremely friendly, even with the kids. The Mango Reef restaurant was definitely my kids favorite, one day we had breakfast, lunch, and dinner there. Its THAT GOOD! I would recomend this to anyone thinking of traveling to the Turks & Caicos.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valentina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed for just one night as we were passing through Provo.
Taxi to resort is about a 20 minute ride, the taxis are $11.00 per person, flat rate for this part of the island.
Check in was smooth and even though we arrived 4 hours before check in our room was ready. We were taken to our room by a very friendly helpful fellow on a golf cart.
The room was very clean and nicely furnished. Not the most comfortable of living room sofas though, so don't expect to sit back and relax in soft comfy cushions. Air conditioning works great. We had a ground level room which was perfect for the children to go outside and to go back and forth to the pool.
We ate lunch beside the pool, great service and lovely salads.
We ate dinner on the deck beside the beach. The best view!!! Service was friendly and what you would expect in Provo. Beware of the flies that will swarm as soon as any seafood arrives at the table, it makes for an uncomfortable experience as the flies are continuously
landing on your food.
Pool was clean and the area to sit in the water and lounge is a real treat.
We will return again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Oyster62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

More like 3.5 stars.

My best friend and I stayed at The Alexandra from 6/17-6/22. We were located in the Marilyn Building, in a deluxe ocean view studio on the 5th floor, Room 4502. The room itself was perfect...small kitchenette, modern decor, clean and comfortable with magnificent views out to the pool and ocean. The balcony had a small table with two chairs and a lounger...perfect for taking in the view. Check-in was fast and the cold rum punch made it festive too. There was an "orientation" before being escorted to our rooms. Barely informative at best. Were told where to get our towels, then set free. I wanted to know more...restaurant hours, pool hours, spa location/services, water sports availabilty...etc etc. I was very disappointed that there wasn't an information/amenity book available in the room either...every hotel/resort I've stayed in before has all the amenities listed there for you to peruse in the room.

The first day we arrived, we quickly hit the beach and the pool. We decided to eat at Mango Reef since it was on site. As we were walking back to the room to shower we made a reservation for 8pm (although, by 8 the place was practically empty). We had a great table overlooking the water. The food was superb (and expensive!). We shared a bottle of wine, a large bottled water, 2 appetizers, 2 entrees(the char grilled snapper is a MUST!) and shared a dessert...well over $200...but worth it since it was the first day of vacation. The service was very slow. Dinner took over 2.5 hours...again, tolerable since we were on vacation (it's hard to get used to the "slowness" of it all on the island). The next several days were spent snorkeling at Princess Alexandra National Park (in front of Coral Gardens resort--about a 20 min walk from the resort), floating in the gorgeous water of Grace Bay, relaxing at the pool and soaking in the sunshine. Plenty of chairs available on the beach and poolside. The majority of the days were were there the weather was overcast. Still got a great tan and was able to enjoy being out a big chunk of the day without getting burned. The swim-up bar at the pool was nice. Yes, it did have cracked tile along the edge, but that wasn't bothersome to me. The pool bar isn't staffed with it's own bartender, so there was usually a wait until you caught someone's eye to place your order. Cocktails are $10 each (we stuck to rum punch) and can be charged to the room if you don't have money with you. The second day we were there, we took the afternoon cab to the grocery store...again, the only way I knew of this "service" was from what I'd read here on TA prior to leaving. It would've been nice to have the times of the cab service available in the form of an information packet. I had read that the cab to the IGA was $5. We were charged $9 each. Prices of services should be printed and available at the time of check in. FYI: the Graceway IGA is very expensive....but very expansive. They have everything you'd ever want. We stocked up on breakfast stuff, snacks, beers and 2 bottles of wine.

The day before we were to leave, we called the front desk to ask for a delayed check out time. They said it would be no problem...check out is at 11am but we were able to stay until 1pm. The front desk verified our flight out and said that a cab would be called when we were ready to leave ("takes 10 min", we were told). The day we were leaving, we got a call at 11:30 asking when we were leaving...no one had recorded our request for late check out but it didn't end up being a problem. Check out was smooth...but we waited an hour for a cab to arrive. Come on...if you know it's going to take a while for a cab to arrive, let us know. I was irritated but we made our flight on time.

What would've upped my rating of The Alexandra?
1. A list of amenities and services available at the resort on arrival with prices included (spa services, cab services, pool hours, restaurant hours, water sports, etc). I think there was a happy hour while we were at the resort with complimentary rum punch and appetizers for guests but we were never aware of it until it was finished.
2. Pen and paper in the room.
3. Mango Reef restaurant menu in room, cocktail menu, lunch menu, breakfast menu (perhaps also a list of other restaurants in the area??)
4. Drink and food service out to the beach
5. A small store on site (to buy water, sunscreen, magazines)
6. Kitchenette and bathroom stocked with extra paper towels and toilet paper.
7. Tour listings and locations with prices(snorkeling, parasailing, etc)

All in all, our time in TCI was great. The staff at the resort is friendly, the rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, the beach is gorgeous. Would I stay here again? Not 100% sure. Would I recommend it to friends? I'd tell them to shop around and compare a bit more.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jenoush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Alexandra Resort. We appreciated the kind feedback you shared about the resort.

You offered some fantastic suggestions on how we can improve services and we will certainly work toward implementing them. We would also like to confirm a few details about the resort's services and amenities.

We used to offer a lengthy introduction to the resort at check-in, but the majority of our guests have told us they are tired after travelling and just want to get checked in and proceed directly to their rooms. Accordingly, we have adjusted our check-in process to keep it efficient, with the understanding that we are always there for our guest inquiries after they have had a chance to unpack and settle in. The other reason we have taken this approach is because we have a comprehensive guest services directory in each unit. I am sorry to learn the directory was missing from your room. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. The directory contains all of the information you were interested in learning, including Mango Reef menus. We also have a full time concierge located at the reception center, who is always available to assist guests with inquiries.

We are very proud to have Mango Reef, one of the top restaurants in Providenciales, located at the Alexandra Resort. We do not manage that restaurant but we will pass along your comments about their service and prices. Mango Reef normally does offer F&B services at the beach and I am sorry to learn their attendants were not making services available during your visit.

It is unfortunate that another Tripadvisor reviewer posted inaccurate information about taxi fares. We have negotiated a preferred rate for the taxi shuttle to the IGA. If you had not taken the resort's shuttle, the fare would have been higher. Unfortunately, we can not influence fares or speed of service of taxi services here and we understand how frustrating it is to expect a taxi to arrive in a timely manner and to be delayed for such a lengthy period of time.

I will speak with our housekeeping and front desk teams to ensure your other suggestions regarding improvements to resort services are addressed and thanks again for taking the time to help us continually improve what we do. We realize you had other accommodation choices and we are most appreciative that you chose the Alexandra Resort for your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
1.1 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 44 in Providenciales
2,401 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 44 in Providenciales
422 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#12 of 44 in Providenciales
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Regent Grand
The Regent Grand
#7 of 44 in Providenciales
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Resort

Property: Alexandra Resort
Address: Princess Drive, Grace Bay | Turks and Caicos, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#14 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#18 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Grace Bay Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, Alexandra Resort offers the dream vacation of a lifetime; spacious accommodations, warm friendly service, and amazing oceanfront dining with the option to book all-inclusive reservations. Guests can also take our complimentary dining shuttle to our two on-island sister resorts to enjoy their restaurants facilities. Alexandra Resort provides a delightful Caribbean atmosphere, fantastic ocean views, powder white sand, and activities and amenities including non-motorized water sports, tennis courts, bicycles, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, West Indies, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alexandra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Resort Providenciales
Alexandra Hotel Providenciales
Alexandra Resort Turks Caicos
Alexandra Turks Caicos
Alexandra Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing