We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price and good rest, quiet resort.”
Review of Alexandra Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Alexandra Resort
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good price and good rest, quiet resort.”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My husband and I visited the Alexandra Resort in May of 2012. We had a great time, the hotel was clean, fun but quiet. Granted we went in the low season. I got a massage and it was great.
The food at the restaurant was decent, but in Providenciales you can find any kind of food you want it might just be a taxi ride away.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeraldineCols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for your positive review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    937
    575
    121
    44
    36
See reviews for
433
924
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

A lot of research went into finding a great hotel for my boyfriend and I (in our late 20's and from NJ) to stay in when we were planning this trip Providenciales. We traveled June 30-July6 and decided to go with the attractive rate, reviews, and pictures that the Alexandra Resort provided. Booking a hotel/flight with Expedia, we didn't want to spend a ridiculous amount of money on our hotel since we knew we'd be off exploring the island and the many restaurants it has to offer.

Alexandra Resort was the perfect place we were looking for- a clean, nice hotel, that offered beachfront access, a restaurant/bar, and a swim up bar (which surprisingly, was not the easiest thing to find) and a great in-between price if you weren't willing to pay an arm and a leg for the Gansevoort, Regent Palm, or Grace Bay Club. I couldn't of been happier with our trip here, it was literally everything we were looking for. This is definitely a GREAT hotel for couples looking to stay in a beautiful hotel, with a nice-sized pool, beachfront access and more (bike rentals, room-service, etc). Being a teacher, I like to stay away from hotels with too many children when vacationing (like Beaches), but this was perfect- definitely a family friendly hotel, but lots of couples here! Upon arrival, we were greeted with a Rum Punch and were also given rewards for a summer special they were running which included: $100 credit towards Caicos Dream Tours (which leaves right from the hotel- make sure you do the Snorkel and Conch trip, SO much fun!), a 20% discount on spa services and $150 credit toward the hotel's restaurant and bar, Mango Reef which was awesome! A great guy named Darren took our bags and escorted us up to our room to make sure everything was up to our standards. We booked the Ocean View Deluxe Suite which featured a fully equipped open-concept kitchen, dining, and living room area in addition to a large bedroom with it's own bathroom suite and a separate half-bath off the kitchen. The suite also included a washer and dryer, and a large balcony with a table and chairs for eating along with two large chase lounge chairs. The balcony was accessible from both the living room and bedroom and overlooked the pool area and ocean- a beautiful site to wake up to every day!

The rooms were spotless and maid services came to check up on the room twice a day making sure we had enough towels and more. The pool itself is a large size and offers a swim-up bar which was surprisingly empty most of the time! To be honest, the pool itself was never crowded and chairs were always open at any time of the day. The beach is just SO amazing in Turks and Caicos, most people didn't spend too much time at the pool. As you walk toward the ocean, you pass through the hotel's only restaurant which also has a separate bar. We stopped here first for a bottle of Turks Head Island Lager, a yummy beer and at a great price. Mango Reef charged about $4.50 per bottle which was quite reasonable compared to many of the other bars we visited. The bartenders were super friendly and we stopped for drinks here just about every night before and sometimes after dinner! Now onto the beach- the water and sand here is simply amazing. Having visited Aruba, San Juan, Puerto Rico, Puerta Vallarta, and Grand Cayman Island, I would definitely say Grace Bay beach is the most beautiful beach we've seen yet! The water is the most amazing shade of blue, just the right temperature, and the sand is soft and white. The Alexandra resort offers lounge chairs and umbrellas and we never had difficulty finding a place to plant ourselves for the day, even when we came down around 11 or noon. There are waiters here and there if you need to order a drink or food, but we also brought down a few drinks with us in plastic cups.

The Alexandra Resort is a hotel or two (a quick walk) away from The Regent Palm where we had a fantastic dinner at Parallel 23 (get the risotto!). I thought the hotel itself was in a great location and cabs were easily accessible when going out to eat on the island. Another perk of staying at the Alexandra was borrowing the many bikes they have on-site and riding to the local IGA supermarket, which was only about a 10-15 minute ride where we stocked our kitchen with snacks and alcohol. This is also in the center of town where you can shop and have lunch! Make sure you bring a book bag if you're planning on running to the food store- it's worth it since the kitchen in our suite was so nice and stocked with all the cooking equipment one might need. All in all, the Alexandra Resort is not a swanky stylish resort you might be looking for in a place like the Gansevoort, but its a reasonable, beautiful, clean hotel with great rooms, a big pool and beachfront access to one of the most gorgeous beaches in the world. The staff was so helpful and accommodating in answering any questions we had and even giving local recommendations. We loved Turks and Caicos and would definitely go back for a little rest, relaxation, good food and good company. What more do you need, right?

Breakfast was great at the Mango Reef and although we didn't dine there for dinner, it was many of the locals' favorite recommendation to eat! Be sure to have drinks at sunset at the Infinity Bar at Grace Bay Club, dinner at Coyaba and Parallel 23, and lunch at Somewhere Cafe- an amazing view with great Mexican food! My only suggestion for making the Alexandra Resort even better might be having a small store/area to buy snacks/water/goods and possibly another place to eat/drink!

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe suite on 3 or 4th floor, its so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank tinabell8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
We appreciate your thorough review and many kind comments which we will share with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington Park MD
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

They say love is better the 2nd time around. We are inclined to agree. My wife and I stayed at the Alexandra during 8/24 - 8/31, 2013. It was our 2nd time in 3 years and I told my wife if we hit the lottery, we have to consider buying a place here. It is still our favorite place to visit when you want to do as little as possible except enjoy the best beach in the world, Grace Bay. Also, the resort staff continues to be the best, most friendly and helpful people we’ve come across at a resort. Al, our Concierge is still there and is extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the island.
We were welcomed into the check-in area, quickly received room keys and info, topped off with a very soothing rum punch. This time we had a studio room on the 1st floor of the Chelsea building. We would have appreciated a 2nd floor room with a higher view of the beach, but it was still a nice to open the window to see the beach and ocean. We stopped at Mango Reef for lunch and yes you pay a little more... I will not argue that, but the portions and quality were very good in our opinion. I’d advise stopping at the supermarket early in the week for something to eat during the week to offset the cost. We were soon on the beach and enjoying ourselves in the clear water of the ocean.
Again we were into the slow season which to us is a good time to be there. We weren’t there for shopping, but the excursions were plentiful. The one thing you absolutely have to do is take either the half day or all day snorkel and beach tours with Caicos Dream Tours. We did the half day this time and it was not as good as the all day from our first visit, but not because of the tour company. I’m sure they would prefer smooth water and not choppy for snorkeling. But conditions aren’t their fault so we did what we could. The water around Turks is still simply the most beautiful and clear turquoise water I have ever seen in my life.
One other must do on the island is the Thursday fish fry at Bight Park. It runs from 5:30 to 10pm. It offers food from local restaurants, music, and some souvenir stands. Don’t be on “Island time” for this outing. You want to get there at 5-5:15 to see them setting up and get yourself a good seat as picnic tables are limited.
We plan to go here again if we get the chance despite other islands we would like to visit. So if you are looking for a great place to chill out that seems to attract cool people on vacation, you can’t go wrong with our now home away from home, the Alexandra Resort on Grace Bay on the beautiful island of Providenciales!

Room Tip: Timeshares get the Chelsea building with beach & ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JJnCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for once again staying at the Alexandra Resort and for posting such a positive review. We value your patronage. We forward to seeing you again on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickliffe, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Great restaurant on the beach with awesome views of the sunset. Good room service and good value. Great views of the beach. Enjoyed using the free bikes to do grocery shopping and shopping. Over all very satisfied staying here. Will be back to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We appreciate your acknowledgement of the resort's convenient location and value. We look forward to hosting your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

stayed at Alexandra for 5 nights. we were debating between here and the windsong. very glad we choose alexandra. upon check in our room was ready at 3 pm. we were given rum punch. front desk staff was helpfull and polite although they didnt tell us were spa / gym was or any of the services offered / prices etc. we were given a voucher for the Mango Reef for $150. Our room was fine, clean had microwave, coffee maker, sink, dishes, and washer and dryer. the beach location is why you come here and the alexandra is located on perhaps the best area on grace bay we walked both directions and didnt see a better location. The beach is wider, cleaner and water more blue / clear than any other spot on grace bay and for the price of alexandra you cant beat it. The hotel grounds were clean and nice as well. The pool was big although we did not go in it. the pool swim up bar area was rather run down and they could definately upgrade that and i would have used for sure. the beach chairs and umbrellas were all fine and there is alot of room so your not packed into each other like other resorts we saw. the attendents on beach were helpful and polite. no real beach service for drinks however so if you want one you have to go to bar but its very close. there is a liquor store and small market right at entrance to resort so you can use the free bikes the resort offers to go if you need anything, or walk its very close. Resort also offers paddleboard, snorkeling gear and kayaks free. Mango reef was excellent very big menu great food and desert. has live music 2x per week good for happy hour and sunsets. Also has dine on the beach options were tables are set up right on the beach. davidson was our waiter for on the beach and he was great. i would recommend this location for sure we walked to windsong and was a tiny / rocky beach glad we dodged that bullet. we will be back for sure. would like to see some improvements with pool bar area, maybe some more music at bar, and beach service for drinks but overall it was great. entire staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigfatposterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Alexandra Resort. We are in the process of upgrading the pool bar and hope you will have the opportunity to enjoy in on a future visit. Thank you for your patronage and positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Spent one week at the Alexandra Resort in Turks and Caicos and it was wonderful. We opted not to stay at an all inclusive because we didn't want to feel confined to it for the food and drinks. Besides we don't live to eat nor drink. We had a studio with a washer/dryer, kitchenette and balcony with a partial ocean view and complete view of the pool. The food and drinks in Turks and Caicos is very expensive. We recommend if you can pack some instant food like oatmeal, coffee, snacks etc. if you're on a budget. A box of cereal ranges from $6-$12 and it is the small box. If you decide to do some groceries, don't take the shuttle which will cost $9 per person to go shopping. Since, the Alexandra provides bicycles free of charge which has a basket you can bike to the Grace Bay Gourmet which is nearby and know the area as well. Go to the gourmet section and eat the food which is cheap and delicious. The staff will try to convince you to take the shuttle because it is cheaper. You can also purchase your alcoholic drinks at the market (beer, wine, rum etc.) and have drink at the balcony. Once you reach the Seven Star resort on bike make a right and the grocery store is on the left. The Alexandra staff are very friendly and helpful. They arranged everything for us to include the boat tour, taxi, and ATV tour. We took the Caicos Dream Boat Tour which we were able to scuba dive and catch conch which was prepared as meal on the boat. The boat trip was worth it and we highly recommend it. The beach is very clean and beautiful. Thursday is Fish Fry and I strongly recommend you go. Ask the front desk about it. It is a long walk from the Alexandra, however, I recommend you bike or if you take a cab you are charged per person and make sure you have a return ride back. At the Fish Fry you have great music, the locals cook fresh seafood which you can purchase and many tourists from the local resorts gather to eat and dance. You can eat at Mr. Grouper which is a short walk from the Alexandra. Once you exit the Alexandra take a left and at the end of the road (Regents Palm) take a right and it is up the street. The food is cheaper than the Mango Reef. The Mango Reef food is excellent! We enjoyed it! We did the ATV tour. I was not impress with it. The helmets were worn out and the ATV was rusted and old. It really was not a tour, it was more riding the ATV on a rugged road. We enjoyed it but I was expecting riding along the beach. The room was cleaned twice daily. We enjoyed our stay and will return! No more all inclusive for us.

Room Tip: Recommend you have a washer/dryer unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank WC608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for sharing positive feedback about your stay at the Alexandra Resort and acknowledging that the resort offers great value. I am sure future guests will get good use from your tips and suggestions. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutherford, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We just returned from our trip late last night. The resort exceeded my expectations! Best was the beautiful beach. The island was also really beautiful with plenty to see and many great restaurants. Definitely rent a car and explore the island. They drive on the left but honestly they only have two main roads and it was very simple to get around. We traveled with two young children 2 and 6. No children's activities at the resort that I noticed even though they advertised a kids club. The kids stayed entertained at the beach most of the time. Lots of watersports. We used the snorkel gear, kayaks, paddle boards all for free!

Right next door was Beaches Resort. Their beach was very crowded. Glad we didn't spend a fortune to stay there. I loved that the Alexandra had few guests and was more intimate. Everything was close walking distance between room, lobby, beach, and pool. Plus since this was such a safe and pretty island it was nice not being tied down to an all inclusive plan.

We stayed in the Chelsea building which was best location but the oldest building. Room was great and updated however I missed the washer dryer in the unit. Our luggage did not arrive until the second day of our trip (thanks to United) and we had to use the main laundry facility which was not very convenient. We had a one bedroom unit which had an amazing view of the ocean.

The restaurant Mango Reef was great! Everything we ordered was excellent and the service was also wonderful. Loved the outdoor seating above the beach. For dinner you can eat right on the beach but you must make reservations even if you are staying on the property.

The resort staff were all excellent and very helpful. The concierge was great for planning trips and asking questions. Definitely attend the welcome meeting on Sunday morning and get delicious pastries and useful information. We missed the Cocktail reception on Monday night but wish I had gone since I imagine the food was also great.

My only small negative was that the pool water was always filled with lots of bugs and leaves. Trust me you don't want to spend a lot of time in the pool at this resort since the beach is so amazing but since we traveled with kids they are always drawn to the pool. I guess since the pool was mostly empty all day it did get very dirty and it made it unpleasant to even walk around in it. My kids loved the pool and did not mind the bugs so I know it is probably just me being squeamish about it. Also there were many ants around the resort especially in the pool.

Definitely venture to Chalk Sound and Taylor Beach. They have a wonderful restaurant called Las Brisas which in my opinion was the best food and service we had all week. Also grab some snorkeling gear and go to Coral Gardens which is right next door to Beaches Resort. They have a protected reef which was great with lots of fish and coral reefs to view, best of all FREE!

Also did the undersea submarine for the kids. Saw lots of fish, sea turtles and even a mermaid. Kids loved it. More for kids and non-swimmers though.

Definitely will be returning to this resort and wonderful island in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IHeart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
We are pleased that you had an enjoyable visit to the Alexandra Resort. We are glad you and your family were able to take advantage of all of our complimentary watersports activities. Thank you for bringing the issue around the pool to our attention - we are working on addressing it. The resort does have the Pelican Kids Club for children aged 4-10 for $25 per day including lunch at Mango Reef. We would like to confirm that all suites have washers and dryers except the studios and one bedroom units in Chelsea and the studios in Lady Rose. We are looking forward to welcoming back in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
1.1 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 44 in Providenciales
2,403 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 44 in Providenciales
424 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#12 of 44 in Providenciales
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
1,540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Regent Grand
The Regent Grand
#7 of 44 in Providenciales
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Resort

Property: Alexandra Resort
Address: Princess Drive, Grace Bay | Turks and Caicos, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#15 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#19 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Grace Bay Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, Alexandra Resort offers the dream vacation of a lifetime; spacious accommodations, warm friendly service, and amazing oceanfront dining with the option to book all-inclusive reservations. Guests can also take our complimentary dining shuttle to our two on-island sister resorts to enjoy their restaurants facilities. Alexandra Resort provides a delightful Caribbean atmosphere, fantastic ocean views, powder white sand, and activities and amenities including non-motorized water sports, tennis courts, bicycles, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, West Indies, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Alexandra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Resort Providenciales
Alexandra Hotel Providenciales
Alexandra Resort Turks Caicos
Alexandra Turks Caicos
Alexandra Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing