We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alexandra Resort Supports the Island Potcakes”
Review of Alexandra Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alexandra Resort
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Alexandra Resort Supports the Island Potcakes”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This week, Pets without Vets brought a group of 16 volunteers to the island to assist with a spay/neuter campaign hosted by the T&C Animal Welfare Committee. The clinic was very successful and we could not have done it without the support of the local business community.

The Alexandra Resort hosted all the volunteers, free of charge, in individual, one bedroom suites! We are used to all shacking up together, 3 to a room, so you can imagine, we were all blown away!

The accommodations were lovely, comfortable and quiet. The bed was super cozy, which means a lot to me personally, after working 14 hours a day! Staff is friendly and responsive. I really felt at home here.

The Alexandra Resort is a big supporter of improving the health care of the island animals. They are giving back to their community.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robininNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
We were thrilled to support the Pets without Vets program and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the resort. Many thanks to you and your team for everything that you did to help Potcake Place during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    925
    561
    114
    41
    33
See reviews for
414
909
29
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley Heights,NJ
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed here on a last minute long weekend and they had many specials to offer. The hotel is directly on the beach and we were upgraded to an ocean view room. The studio is quite small. It's like a NYC hotel as far as space goes and it seemed as though the bed was a full size.The decor is lovely with an LCD tv and a small kitchenette. The kitchenette was limited with a small fridge and microwave.They did supply plates,etc but there is no stovetop so this equates to having to go out to eat.There's a large closet and safe and a nice size balcony to get you off of the bed.It was fine for 4 days.The resort itself is great. The pool is clean and they have bikes and pool floats for the ocean. Mango Reef is there and they serve on the beach,weather permitting.Plenty of towels and lounge chairs at the ocean. As stated,the staff was great.Overall,for the discounted price,we'd stay again. If it were a longer trip I'd get a one bedroom but on the island,that's expensive at any resort.They were able to accomodate a late checkout as well. Can't wait to return to the island!

Room Tip: Travel off season for a great deal. Must eat on the beach at Mango.If space is important,get a one b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L-DeL6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to the Alexandra Resort and we hope you will stay with us again in the future. As you noted, we do offer one and two bedroom suites (which have full kitchen facilities) in addition to our studios. Our studios are approximately 460 square feet in size, and all of our studios have queen size beds. The studios in the Prima Donna building feature a two burner cooktop - the studios in the Marilyn and lady Rose buildings do not. However, all studios are equipped with a small refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker and blender, so preparing light meals is possible. We appreciate your acknowledgments of the many positive aspects about staying at the Alexandra Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed there with a friend from 10/20-10/26. We were in a one bedroom in the Prima Dona, room 3201...we even had a view of the ocean. I am glad I decided to go with the one bedroom since with two women, we needed the extra room! The bed was comfy, bathrooms big. Cleaned daily. The Alex is great. The ocean is beautiful. If I had to complain about anything, it would be that there are no towels at the pool and I'm not sure why. You had to go to the beach to get them...but that's not really a big problem. I would definitley stay there again. The food at Mango Reef was fabulous...Lobster Quesadillas..yum...fish tacos...yum...Open lobster ravioli....YUM...enough to save half for lunch the next day...and it was even better! The Pina Coladas are to die for....I could just go on. Also ate at Mr. Grouper's twice...really good food!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ngrinthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced with the beach towel service. During your stay we were in the process of changing our beach towel distribution service. For added guest convenience, beach towels are now placed directly in guest rooms. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This was our third stay at the Alexandra Resort and our 4th time visiting Turks & Caicos. Before coming to Provo, we island hopped across the Caribbean before finding the paradise that is Grace Bay. Since then, we have only wanted to return to Grace Bay and the Alexandra for our beach vacations. The best thing about this resort is that it's no fuss. For the last two visits, my husband and I have stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with our toddler son and his grandparents. You get a large fully equipped kitchen, large bathrooms that you don't have to share, and best of all a huge balcony with a view of the resort and the aquamarine Caribbean sea. The resort itself is clean, well maintained, and has wonderful landscaping. It has actually gotten better since we first started coming. They have the same great service with a smile, but the addition of Mango Reef and the drink service at the beach has really improved our vacation experience. We can't wait until our son is old enough for the Pelican Club. We have also booked an ocean tour with Caicos Dream Tours and loved it. While many people like all inclusive resorts, we like to travel independently and choose which restaurants to enjoy. Here we don't have to pay the all-inclusive price, which means more chances to come back. Our favorite Provo restaurants include Coyaba, Coco Bistro, Hemingway's, and Da Conch Shack. This is our happy place and we hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: Try to reserve a room on a higher floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingertea8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
We very much appreciate your continued patronage and thank you for joining the growing number of families who have become repeat guests at the resort. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at the Alexandra from Oct 19-26, 2013. We had a one bedroom condo in the Chelsea buliding (Room 1304). We loved it! Of course, if you've read other reveiws, by now you know that grace bay beach is beyond compare, and it is so incredibly beautiful! We agree, but really want to make this review useful, so here goes:
My most favorite things about the Alexandra:
1) beach! A clean, gorgeous beach. I couldn't get enough time at the beach! They maintain it well, and the beach chair and umbrella are ample, and well kept.
2) Free use of water toys and bikes. This probably saved us at least $100 for our stay. We loved using the kayaks, paddle boards and bikes.
3) Okay...this may sound mean, and I'm sorry... but it was quiet. The kids seemed to all be in the kids club, or maybe they weren't there at all, but while I was laying under my umbrella, I never had to hear the squeal of children playing on the beach! It was wonderful!
4) Very satisfactory room! So, it's not new, there are the occasional marks on the wall or door, but I didn't care about that. The room was spotlessly clean, and every single thing that we needed from towels to dishes were provided.

Less awesome parts of the Alexandra:
1) the laundry is in a separate building at the far end of the complex. This was a little inconvenient, but the facilities themselves were clean, and best of all- free.
2) There was no late check out available for our building on Saturdays... so we had to kill some time in the lobby and at the airport, instead of getting a few extra, precious moments on the beach! This is totally understandable, and they were very polite about offering us any other options, like perhaps a shower room where we could get ready before the airport trip, if we had wanted that.

Bottom line:
We absolutely loved our time here, and would come back without hesitation!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelingschuhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
It was our pleasure to be of service during your stay and we are glad to read you had a wonderful vacation. The Chelsea building, where you stayed, is the only building on property that does not offer washers and dryers in all of the one and two bedroom suites. This is the one timeshare building on the property, and since all check-ins and check-outs take place on Saturdays, we do not have the flexibility to extend late check-outs in this building. We are sharing this feedback for the benefits of other readers who may be planning a trip. Please stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My experience at the Alexandra was delightful. If you're looking for classic luxury this is not the hotel for you. If your looking for a nice above average very clean hotel, this is it. They offer the following free @ no charge: Wi-Fi, bikes that you can take out and explore the island on your own. Paddle boards, kayaks, snorkeling equipment & paddle boats. I was extremely pleased by the hospitality I received @ the Alexandra especially by a memorable young man named Arnold. He made our stay extra special. Very accommodating to any and all needs that we had. Rooms are clean & freshly decorated. All rooms come with a mini kitchenette everything in great condition n worked perfectly, no complaints. I come from NYC so dining prices were pretty much the same. If you go to the market which I recommend. Yes, the prices are twice as much as NYC bc everything is imported to this island. Nevertheless the entire island was full of such pleasant, calm, happy people. I felt extremely safe riding the bike in the early morning and at night along the roads by myself. I was truly in awe of the ZEN this island gave me. This is an island where water activities are the main attraction. This is not a place where there will be major partying going on like in Cancun, South Beach etc. Cons: satellite tv clarity was scarce but who the heck is watching tv in Turks!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your positive review and acknowledging the excellent value that you received while staying with us. We are also pleased to read that you received excellent service, and we will pass along your kind comments to Arnold. It sounds like you discovered what makes Turks and Caicos so special and we hope you will stay with us again to enjoy more of this very magical island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

After three days of madness at a Miami wedding my wife and I arrived at the Alexandra resort. We were overlooking the beach and sea from a large third floor balcony of a superb apartment with kitchen-living room, bathroom and bedroom.
The quality of the building is excellent. The location is very difficult to beat. The food on the beach at the Mango Reef restaurant is superb. The beach itself is one of the best in the world. If you look at the color of the water and the sand you will see why.
This holiday week was an eye opener. Loved the place, the island and the people (even Anderson who might just be the funniest barman on the planet).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Blessup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
We are glad that you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay at the Alexandra Resort. You did indeed choose the right resort for location, quality and value. Please stay with us again on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
1.1 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 45 in Providenciales
2,370 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 45 in Providenciales
411 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#10 of 45 in Providenciales
1,533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
1.9 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#22 of 45 in Providenciales
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Resort

Property: Alexandra Resort
Address: Princess Drive | Grace Bay, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#13 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Grace Bay Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, The Alexandra offers the dream vacation of a lifetime; spacious accommodations, warm friendly service, and amazing oceanfront dining. Guest can also take our complimentary dining shuttle to our two on-island sister resorts to enjoy their restaurants facilities. The Alexandra provides a delightful Caribbean atmosphere, fantastic ocean views, powder white sand, and activities and amenities including complimentary non motorized water sports, tennis courts, free use of pedal bikes, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alexandra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Resort Providenciales
Alexandra Hotel Providenciales
Alexandra Resort Turks Caicos
Alexandra Turks Caicos
Alexandra Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing