We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at the Alex”
Review of Alexandra Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Alexandra Resort
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay at the Alex”
Reviewed 18 April 2009

We stayed in a one bedroom at the Alex over Easter weekend and had a wonderful experience. Our room, in the Marilyn building, was new, clean , beautifully decorated, and had everything we needed. My husband was impressed with the flat screen TVs - but I hardly noticed them... To me, the best part was the balconcy. We didn't stay in an ocean front building - but still had a perfect view of the water and the beautiful sunsets.

The beach in front of the resort is perfect and we spent most of our time just lounging and relaxing. The sand was so soft and the water was crystal clear. My husband took snorkel gear and we spent one day at Coral Gardens where he saw sea turtles and a lot of colorful fish. He also snorkeled in front of the Alexandra and saw barracudas, a sting ray, and found a live conch on the ocean floor.

The restaurants at the resort were just okay. On the first day, we had lunch at the Sunset Deck . I'm a vegetarian and tried to order a veggie burger - but they were out, so I had to settle for french fries. Then, one afternoon, we tried the buy one, get one drinks at happy hour at the Orchid. We ordered a margarita and a beer - but got two margaritas.

Other than that, we had wonderful dining experiences at Bay Bistro (twice for breakfast), Hemingways, Baci, Coco Bistro, and Parallel 23 (for dinner), The Infinity Bar at GBC (for drinks) and Da Conch Shack (twice for lunch).

Overall, we had a fabulous trip. If we're ever lucky enough to return to Provo, we'd definitely consider staying at the Alexandra again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    949
    580
    124
    51
    37
See reviews for
450
933
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, SC
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2009

The Alex was a great hotel to visit. We stayed in one of the newer buildings, the Marylin, on the fifth floor. It had a fantastic ocean view that we could see from the bed without even sitting up.

Pros about the Alex -

Room was good size, newer furniture (since it was a newer building). Contemporary modern with 37' LCD TV and DVD player. Granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances in the kitchenette with a closet containing a stand-up washer/dryer.

Employees always had a fantastic attitude. Michael at the front desk did everything in his power to make sure we had a great time. He organized cabs for us to go to dinner, and even arranged transportation after we were finished with dinner to bring us back.

Our room was always clean (they even did the dishes in the sink).


Cons -

Not many cons to list. The only thing vacant that we missed terribly was the use of an ice machine, or a vending area. There would be some incidents where you'd like a coke, or a snack, and you would always have to walk to the Orchid restaurant and purchase your drink or food there (A can of coke is $2.00 there). Also, I was instructed to take our ice bucket to the Orchid restaurant if I needed ice. It did feel a little strange walking into a restaurant, passing by all the patrons to the bar to get my ice bucket filled.

Since this is a hotel/condo combo resort, we did get a phone call to attend their "meet and greet" with the management there. We had already booked reservations to dinner elsewhere that night, but they kept insisting that we meet with them for a cocktail. I imagine they wanted to lay their real estate spiel on us, because the phone call we received was borderline pushy.

Must Do's:

The Orchid was not a flashy restaurant at all. They did have a great breakfast selection. But for dinner, I highly recommend making reservations at Hemingway's at the Sands. Make the reservations for around 7pm, and then walk along the beach from the Alex to the Sands to dinner (only a 10 minute walk). The sunset walk on the beach, followed by the lantern-lit tables at Hemingway's right on the beach, made a very memorable dinner.

Snuba!
Walk to the left of the Alex and you'll find yourself covered in a land of kids and families. Yes, you've discovered the Beaches resort. If you can slog off the resort photographers taking money hungry pictures of people's kids playing in the sand, keep going two more resorts down and you'll find the Winsong Resort (a total 20 minute walk from the Alex). Here, Jodi is the owner/instructor of Snuba (Tankless snorkeling with a regulator). For $70 she'll lead you through bight reef and you'll see conch, carribean lobster, coral, and fish galore at a depth of nearly 30 feet.

After Snuba, I returned many times to the reef and saw eagle rays, sea turtles, and tons of other colorful fish.

The Alex was a pleasure to stay in because we were not bothered by other guests, it seemed as if we were one of the only ones in the entire resort, and when you're on the beach, there's only 10 people at the most on the beach with you. The Alex staff goes out of their way to make sure your stay is pleasant. If they can't find something you need at that particular time, they sure do make up for it whenever and however they can. My wife and I have already discussed returning to the Alex on a later trip to TCI.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sculder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2009

Spent a week at Alexandra in Nov 2008. The hotel is right on Grace Bay. The water is beautiful. The beach was empty, so we almost had it to ourselves. Our suite was great. 2 bedrooms, 2.5 baths, kitchen, and a huge terrace. The front desk/lobby is a little strange. You can barely find it actually, which was weird. The hotel was almost empty as well. I'm not sure if it was because of the hurricane, but you should definitely stay here. The pool was nice as well.

You have to take an expensive cab ride to dinner almost every night, as there isn't much within walking distance. A cab ride fron the airport should be $11 each, and definitely stop at IGA n the way to stock up on whatever you need. This is definitely a great value hotel, although is seems more like a condo-type atmosphere.

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goingfor50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2009

The Alexandra is a quiet and unpretentious resort. The Staff are friendly and any requests put to the Reception Staff are dealt with efficiently and extremely quickly!!
Our room had a fantastic view of the resort and of the sea. The room was clean, comfortable and tastefully furnished. The washing machine and the dryer are excellent.
The Alexandra is ideally situated to reach all the amenities (Supermarket, shopping restaurants, restaurants, diving centres, Coral Gardens) and of course it is on Grace Bay with its beautiful beach with sand like talcum powder.
The Orchard at the Alexandra is good for breakfast and we generally found the food and the service excellent there.
There was some refurbishing taking place at one of the front buildings but noise was never an issue; the works were quite unobstrusive.
You will need to hire a car to explore Provo. You will still find beaches where there seems to be no other soul but you!! You can venture out to sample many of the excellent restaurants around. Some of our favourites are Da Conch Shack, Aqua Bar, Shark Bite and Las Brisas. The service is generally slow but well who needs to hurry on holiday!! Just enjoy the view, the warmth and relax!!
This was our third stay at Provo and the Alexandra and we loved every minute of it. We cannot wait for our next holiday there next year!! Tom and Muriele. United Kingdom. March 2009.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PearceUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

My boyfriend and I arranged a studio room through vrbo.com (unit 3307!), and were very pleased! The room/bathroom were immaculate, the views of pool and ocean were spectacular, and the balcony was very cozy. LOVED having the washer/dryer right in the unit. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Restaurants served good food (albeit the service was a bit, er, laid-back/slow), though we only ate there for lunch once in awhile. The resort is perfectly positioned on Grace Bay to allow long walks (in either direction) on the beach, as well as easy (walking or driving) access to a number of wonderful dining options in the area. The beach itself was beautiful and the water was stunning. I only wish that the Alexandra had catamarans easily accessible (as other resorts did), so we could enjoy a morning/afternoon sail. Also, I wish the pool was heated, but I'm kind of wimpy about those things. Overall, we definitely recommend this resort to others looking for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keb2139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2009

We booked a luxury beach front studio with lastminute.com. The resort is a 15 minute taxi drive from the airport. The room was good, and the location on Grace Beach excellent. The restaurant and location on to the beach superb but relatively expensive. We decided not to hire a car as we were only staying 7 nights as one part of our holiday and were enjoying relaxing. The supermarket isn't walking distance so we bought milk (at a price!) from the restaurant, and ate the rest of our meals there. The resort was very quiet, which was perfect. If someone wants noise they should go to the resort next door, called Beaches, which is all inclusive. Great if you have young children, horrible for just adults!! However, there's a good dive centre there which is open to non residents.

The snorkeling along the reef straight off the beach was superb. Loads of fish. It's easy to go to the wrong part of the beach, we and some others did on the first day, so make sure you walk way past the first sectioned off water, to the 2nd, where the reef is. It's a leisurely 20 min walk from the Alexandra.
Mosquito repellent essential in the evenings.
If we ever retuned to the C&C we would stay again, but I'm glad we were on holiday in Florida and did it as an extra trip as it's not that fantastic to justify the distance from the UK.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mosaic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2009

We just got back yesterday from our 3 night/4 day stay in Turks & Caicos. The Alexandra was our choice based on TA reviews and we were really happy with our choice. The only reason I did not go 5 stars, is because they don't have room service. Sometimes I just like to eat on the balcony of our room and we did go to the grocery store for food, but you don't really want to buy everything you can get from the restaurant for 1/4 of the price when you add it all up. Other than that - it was beautiful, loved Ada at the Orchid Restaurant, the rooms were sooo beautiful and comfortable. We had a luxury ocean front suite. Worth the $$ if you ask me. Great deal for everything that is nearby. You can literally walk the beach to all different resorts and have access to walk in and eat at their restaurants. Super nice - loved the Alexandra!! Oh and the drinks at the bar...whew - you won't need to many...which is a good thing!! And make sure to try Da Conch Shack if you like red snapper - to die for!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noraisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
3.4 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#13 of 44 in Providenciales
585 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,426 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,553 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Regent Grand
The Regent Grand
#6 of 44 in Providenciales
762 reviews
1.2 mi away
West Bay Club
West Bay Club
#8 of 44 in Providenciales
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Resort

Property: Alexandra Resort
Address: Princess Drive, Grace Bay | Turks and Caicos, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#16 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#20 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Grace Bay Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, Alexandra Resort offers the dream vacation of a lifetime; spacious accommodations, warm friendly service, and amazing oceanfront dining with the option to book all-inclusive reservations. Guests can also take our complimentary dining shuttle to our two on-island sister resorts to enjoy their restaurants facilities. Alexandra Resort provides a delightful Caribbean atmosphere, fantastic ocean views, powder white sand, and activities and amenities including non-motorized water sports, tennis courts, bicycles, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, West Indies, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Alexandra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Resort Providenciales
Alexandra Hotel Providenciales
Alexandra Resort Turks Caicos
Alexandra Turks Caicos
Alexandra Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing