We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible location and people!”
Review of Alexandra Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Alexandra Resort
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible location and people!”
Reviewed 13 February 2011

The hotel was excellent. The people were a great host for us, and we had a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanThompsonIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    939
    575
    122
    45
    36
See reviews for
435
926
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, IL
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

We got lucky. After spending one forgettable night at a different resort, we were fortunate to spend the rest of the week at the Alexandra. Great location, great beach, great people, great vacation. The Mango Reef restaurant is on site and serves good food overlooking the beach. The pool area is attractive (though we spent most of our time at the beach). The Alexandra isn't a five star resort but it is a clean, well maintained, well located property which offers a great value in Provo. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The Mango Reef staff treated us like family and gave us hugs when we left. The snorkeling trip booked by the hotel was a fun 3 hour excursion. Snorkeling at Smith's Reef (which you can access from Turtle Cove) was actually better snorkeling and you can wade in from the beach. You can definitely stay at fancier places on Grace Beach but we will be going back to the Alexandra Resort when we return to the Turks and Caicos!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfa59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We read that there were problems with noise from construction at the Alexandra and we almost didn't book our rooms. I'm glad we did. Evidently the resort was under construction for several years but it is now finished and wonderful. The service is first rate and has probably the best and most popular restaurant on the Island.

We had glorious days of sun. Hard to decide whether to sit on this wonderful beach or spend time on the comfy lounges by the pool. You can't go wrong at the Alexandra.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy4748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

It's important to say that we did not start off at the Alexandra. We started our vacation at Northwest Point Resort on the other side of the island. Long story short, there were wild dogs on the beach, although secluded the beach is not well kept, and then we got robbed. With no help from the managment, we decided to get the heck out of there.

Around midnight, we called the Alexandra Resort. The offered to pick us up and even gave us a break on our room rate. Then, the manager waited up for us to personally greet us and the chefs stayed late to make us dinner. Our room was great, the beach was beautiful, the service was the best we've ever had, and the food is amazing.

Although our vacation started off difficult, we loved the Alexandra and are planning on going back this winter.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnandandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago IL
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We had a wonderful vacation to Provo, Dec 31-Jan 5, 2011. We rented through vrbo.com a privately owned studio condo at the Alexandra with a lovely ocean view (not ocean front). There are only 4 buildings here, so everything in the resort is a quick walk. The resort is in a good location and we were able to walk to a few other resorts to eat in their restaurants. We spent a couple days at the resort's beachfront and a few days exploring other beaches/taking tours. We ate 2 meals at the Alexandra's restaurant (Mango Reef) and the food was good and reasonably priced. Occasionally, there was hotel staff to help set up beach chairs and umbrellas, but I did not see anyone delivering drinks out on the beach. You will not find a fancy spa or workout facility here (they have both, but are very small and basic), and currently, the reception area is a small room in one of the condo buildings, not a grand entrance like many of the other resorts. Our particular condo was about the size of a hotel room with a small kitchenette. But it was perfect for breakfasts out on the balcony and then lunches and dinners out. I would recommend it to people who are interested in exploring the island, visiting other restaurants, and using the Alexandra as a home base. If you want to spend all your time at one resort with pampered service and amenities, this might not be the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ckd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2010

We just returned from a week at the Alexandra Resort which we traded into from an exchange with Interval. We were told this is the only timeshare building on the island. I had expected a parking lot view since this was a trade but we had a beautiful 2 bedroom ocean view corner unit on the third floor. There was a large balcony with a table and 6 chairs and two lounge chairs. Even the second bedroom had a small balcony.
The renovations are almost over and after three years (according to owners we met), it was worth the wait. The gym and spa are still in their temporary locations and some more grass was being laid while we were there. The unit was brand new, granite counters, stainless kitchen, 3 flat screen tv's. 2 1/2 baths, double bathroom sinks. The cabinet set up in the kitchen was a little awkward, but not a deal breaker.
The food and the Mango Reef is good and the beach front dinning was open. We rented a car (Grace Bay Rentals, dropped it off at the resort) so we ate at a few local places all which were good.
The Snorkel Trip that leaves from the Resort was great, according to my husband. It includes three stops and conch salad lunch. The captain and the mate were helpful, polite and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishy_girl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Pros:
The room was absolutely beautiful! It had everything we needed, and was cleaned 2x's a day.

The hotel restaurant, Mango Reef, was amazing! It had a killer menu, tons of options, and everything tasted wonderful!

Cons:
The Alexandra staff was RUDE!!!

The website read the hotel has two restaurants. They were both closed down. We arrived right when the Mango Reef Restaurant was moving in, so even though the food was amazing, we had to listen to, and view, non-stop construction for 6 out of the 7 days we were there.

The website read there was a swim-up bar. There wasn't. It was closed and under construction.

The construction of the new restaurant, new sales office and swim-up bar was non-stop for 6 of the 7 days we were there. There was constant loud noise of hammers and saws as we tried to relax on the beach.

The airconditioner went out for 2 days.

The "Spa" was a tiny room with very limited services. Nothing at all like what is on the website.

The website read there was beachside dining. There wasn't.

The website read there was "mexican fiesta" night 2x's a week. There wasn't.

On the third night our room was infested with fleas!!!

Our view was supposed to be ocean front, but it was more of a "Peek-a-boo" view.

The private safe in our room was automatically locked and was shut off from our access the night before departure. We had to have someone come in and open it at 10:30 PM the night before we were leaving so we could remove our belongings.

AND HERE IS THE REAL PISSER:
The concierge confirmed 3 times that there was a cab reserved for us for our early morning departure to the airport. They never called, the cab never showed up, and they made NO effort to remedy the situation. So, we paid the gardener $20 to take us to the airport in his own car.

So, in a shell, we will definitely come back to Providenciales, but we will NOT stay at The Alexandra. I suggest The Palms or The Veranda. Both were gorgeous, the restaurants were amazing, and the staff were very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank alittletwisted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
1.1 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 44 in Providenciales
2,407 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 44 in Providenciales
429 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#12 of 44 in Providenciales
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
1,540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Regent Grand
The Regent Grand
#6 of 44 in Providenciales
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Resort

Property: Alexandra Resort
Address: Princess Drive, Grace Bay | Turks and Caicos, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#15 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#19 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Grace Bay Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, Alexandra Resort offers the dream vacation of a lifetime; spacious accommodations, warm friendly service, and amazing oceanfront dining with the option to book all-inclusive reservations. Guests can also take our complimentary dining shuttle to our two on-island sister resorts to enjoy their restaurants facilities. Alexandra Resort provides a delightful Caribbean atmosphere, fantastic ocean views, powder white sand, and activities and amenities including non-motorized water sports, tennis courts, bicycles, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, West Indies, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alexandra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Resort Providenciales
Alexandra Hotel Providenciales
Alexandra Resort Turks Caicos
Alexandra Turks Caicos
Alexandra Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing