We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Resort”
Review of Amanyara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amanyara
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Pros:
-Only 3 hours from NYC, direct flights, no jetlag and no malaria/dengue
-Attractive architecture
-Lovely beach, great for swimming, very close to amazing snorkeling
-great spa
-friendly staff on the beach and by the pool
-quiet, relaxed and relaxing

Disappointments:
-unresponsive service (we asked 4 times to have our room made up with 2 beds not one king, no one knew our names or room number)
-there is ongoing construction-near our room and on the beach club (maybe because we visited in October and they're getting ready for high season?)
-good but unmemorable food at high prices
-very spread out villas/pavilions requiring carts, bikes, or lots of walking
-ugly manmade 'pond view'
-the room wasn't light proof, so hard to sleep in if you're sensitive to light
-small gym, one of the two treadmills was broken

Some of my favorite trips have been to Aman resorts in Cambodia, Sri Lanka, and India. I knew Amanyara couldn't provide the same amazing cultural/adventure setting as other Aman's but had hoped for the same level of service and cuisine. Amanyara is a very nice resort--especially suited to romantic couples. I was traveling with a friend and the open bathroom and way the bed/beds are laid out didn't translate well. I emailed ahead and called saying that we were friends and wanted two beds and the hotel confirmed that, but we were shown to a room with a king. We asked again and were told the beds would be fixed at turn down. When we returned from dinner the bed was still a king and so we ended up waiting and then watching them change the bed into two twins. I wouldn't recommend this resort to anyone aside from romantic couples because of the bed layout. If I were traveling as a family, I wouldn't want to share one of these rooms with a sibling. Overall, it was a nice resort but lacked any Aman magic.

Room Tip: ask for a pavilion/villa close to the restaurants/bar etc to avoid lots of walking/biking/waiting fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gandaratravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 309 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2011

make no mistake...if your are searching for the most luxurious experience in the Caribbean in 2011 then stop searching. we arrived on a Friday afternoon and spent the next 2 days lounging on our private beach sipping toddies and snorkeling in the most beautiful waters on earth. we watched a school of bonefish hunting for dinner in the afternoon sun on the reef right outside the door. the staff were best of class, architecture unparalleled. Utmost in privacy. Never once saw another person while in our villa. Be sure to check out the VIP flyers club on the outbound...a great new service that makes the TCI much easier. They greet you curbside and check you in and walk you straight to the front of the TSA line. A nice beverage in their private lounge and you are ready to board. Well worth the additional cost. All-in in the best Caribbean vacation in the last 10 years....already booked a return trip. Kudos the the awesome management and staff.

Room Tip: ocean pavilion only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLT_Doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The customer service at this resort was the most unbelievably attentive that I am almost regretful that I have experienced something as amazing at this in my lifetime. Our stay at this resort has set our travel standards to a whole new level. We stayed in Pavillion 115 and ever amenity was heavenly. From the privacy to the electronic shades, to the soaking tub to the decor, this was superb. Our own private beach was simply unforgettable and other-wordly. We felt as if we were on our own island with our own private caterer, concierge and attendants. The food, food preparation and service was exquisite. If you enjoy southeast asian influences, this is the best food you have ever had. The tennis courts and service (they had our appropriate size shoes, cooler filled with Gatorade, rackets and balls) was "off the hook". We felt like we were pro's at the Us Open. I could go on and on, but overall, this was the resort and honeymoon of a lifetime and I cannot wait to go back and/or try another Aman resort. They are truly what dreams are made of.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I reluctantly agreed to go here after my girlfriend set her hart on this place after hearing some great feedback from friends and clients. I was not so into spending so much for four days, but I'll try anything once.

This is not a place to meet people, dance, play with your kids, drink a lot or hook up.
This is a place you go to disappear.
The beach-front villas are the most complete and beautiful units one can imagine set on a PRIVATE beach that is to say the least, pristine.

The service is in it's own category all-together, nothing is overlooked or needs to be asked for. The beach staff is cool as hell, they just want you to relax, they have the best office in the world and so consequently share that feeling with you when they interact.

Dan the Guest Assistant and Sven the F&B manager are the folks I dealt with the most and both are among the highest brass in this industry.

Go here

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tulo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

All the things everyone else wrote here about how great this place is, IS ENTIRELY TRUE! I'm not going to repeat what was already written, just going to add a few things. You know when you look at some websites and the pictures of the resort look immaculate and when you get there, the place is actually worn and run down? This is not the case - Amanyara is exactly as shown on the website.
They really care about their customers and service is their priority. We were picked up by a air conditioned Land Rover, complete with water bottles, cold towels and were offered a menu of music selections for the ride. A whole group of staff were there to welcome us. A personalized tour of the grounds was first on the agenda. they sent us a bottle of champagne upon our arrival. We were here for our honeymoon and one night when we were going back to our room, we saw rose petals along the path to our room - complete with a rose petals on the bed and floor and a lit candle. Very sweet & thoughtful!
Very convenient to have the complimentary snacks and water/soft drinks in the room. Free phone calls.
We had an oceanview room with lounge chairs outside. At night we'd sit outside and shut the lights to stare at the stars - breathtaking.
They don't even step in your room with shoes on!
Our flight was cancelled unexpectedly and had to stay another night (what a great surprise haha). They were very accomodating to us and let us stay in the same room.
When we did leave (sadly) and at the airport - we noticed that they had placed a leather, typed name tag on our luggage for us (I guess we had lost it on the way there).

Nothing short of perfection...we definitely want to go back or go to other resorts.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yalanomata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We just returned from a five night stay at Amanyara and we are already planning another trip. We just can't say enough about our vacation.

Little things matter at the five star level and Amanyara gets the details right. We had asked for a private room and that is just what we got. We stayed in an Ocean-view pavilion. Many Ocean-view pavilions are set more in the open and had a clearer view of the stunning coastline, but ours was set back in the foliage with a beautiful ocean view, but a bit more secluded.

Inside the room, there is great attention to comfort and style. The free minibar was stocked twice a day (at the morning cleaning and the evening turndown) and if you asked to have more beverages brought, they were there in less than 10 minutes to replenish. The resort provides sunscreen, after sun lotion and bug spray. The thick towels were plentiful and the spa robes were wonderful after an active day. The air conditioning was highly effective against the tropical weather. There were multiple places around the exterior of the pavilion to enjoy the view, the sun/shade and the quiet. Housekeeping is excellent and utterly unseen -- your room is tidied while you are at meals so you never see the staff .Everything is designed for the guests' comfort and relaxation.

The design of the resort is very organic with the surroundings. Every building is constructed to highlight, enhance or just stay out of the way of the natural beauty of the area. The dining area is designed to give you indoor and outdoor options, so you can stay in the air conditioning or sit on the terrace to enjoy the breeze and the sunset.

The food was great. We took advantage of the dining plan (offered to people who stay 4 nights or more) which includes breakfast and dinner. The prices on the menu were hefty, even by New York standards, but the food was fresh, artfully done and varied. There was a core menu with nightly specials. We also had lunch in the beach club after snorkeling. Again, great view, great service and the fish taco was great!

The service at the resort was excellent. The staff is wonderful- pleasant, helpful and unobtrusive. They remember you -- asking if you want the table you had the night before, bringing your preferred beverages at mealtimes. Meals were served at a relaxed but efficient pace, and always with a warm smile. The charming managers make an effort to talk to you during your visit to make sure that everything going well. Lindsey, the naturalist, lent us binoculars for stargazing. That kind of service is exactly what you expect (but don't always get) from a resort of this caliber.

This resort is not for people who want a boisterous "party" atmosphere. There is no swim-up bar, loud music or "scene", but if you are looking for luxurious, absolutely relaxing vacation or a sexy place to reconnect -- this is the place for you.

Room Tip: For privacy, ask for Ocean View Room 108
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaringMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Amanyara is probably the best place we've ever stayed. It's gorgeous, elegant without being stuffy, and totally relaxing -- five stars across the board. We can't wait to return! The website photos show exactly what you'll get: the whole place is unbelievably beautiful, including a jaw-dropping white sand beach. Here are some of the things that added to our outstanding experience.

Responsiveness to Requests: We asked American Express Travel to request an ocean-front pavilion as close as possible to the beach, and found when we arrived that ours was the very closest one on the entire property. (Since the property is quite large, this really made a difference.) One afternoon during our stay, a staffer appeared to restock our minibar snacks less than two minutes after we placed a call to ask about it. Finally, when dining at the main restaurant, we were able to order from the casual room service menu with no problem whatsoever. (The reviewer who said Amanyara is the land of "No" must have been staying somewhere else.)

Amenities Provided at No Charge: Outgoing telephone calls from Amanyara, including international calls, are free of charge. This is unheard of! Other hotels charge you even for local calls from your room, let alone calls out of the country. Sunblock is provided in your room and replenished during your stay, so for the first time on a beach vacation we didn't have to worry about buying it upon arrival at an exorbitant price. Also, everything in the minibar (snacks, soft drinks, beer) other than full-sized bottles of liquor is complimentary. If only more top resorts would do this. Your room also includes a very nice beach bag for your use, so you don't need to pack one.

Gracious, Friendly Staff: Every person we encountered was genuinely friendly, smiling and helpful, and very professional. At checkout there was a problem with our bill arising from some confusion about our included daily continental breakfast; without our asking, all of the breakfast charges incurred during our stay were removed, and the staff could not have been nicer about it.

Incredibly Beautiful Facility: The welcome area, bar, and main restaurant are some of the most beautiful buildings I've ever seen, and the infinity pool is stunning. All of the residential pavilions are identical -- only the location varies -- so every one is gorgeous no matter where you choose to stay, plus you have total privacy as a result of your long entry pathway and the surrounding vegetation. Because the resort is surrounded by an enormous nature preserve (that's the reason for the 15-minute drive down the slightly bumpy dirt road), there is absolutely nothing else within sight in any direction -- just the curve of the island and the horizon.

Amanyara is 99% perfect. The only thing we would change is the restaurant menu: it could be a little more varied. Due to the resort's isolated location, you're not realistically going to dine much off-property, and after a couple of days we wished there were more choices available (hence our ordering from the room-service menu while dining in the restaurant). It wasn't a big problem, though. Our biggest problem is figuring out when we can go back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BrynMawrBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Providenciales
8.9 mi away
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
#4 of 44 in Providenciales
1,933 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
508 reviews
7.2 mi away
Beach Enclave North Shore
Beach Enclave North Shore
#30 of 44 in Providenciales
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Beach House Turks & Caicos
10.7 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#1 of 44 in Providenciales
2,538 reviews
19.8 mi away
COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanyara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanyara

Address: Northwest Point, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#16 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#20 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: £1,462 - £2,779 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amanyara 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanyara is a secluded beachside resort situated on the coast of Northwest Point on the beautiful Providenciales in the Turks & Caicos Islands. The resort borders the pristine reefs of Northwest Point Marine National Park, acclaimed for some of the world's best wall and reef diving. With a contemporary layout and design, the timber-shingled Guest Pavilions and Aman Villas are tucked along the coast or situated inland on the edge of tranquil ponds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, MrandMrsSmith, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amanyara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanyara Hotel Providenciales
Amanyara Resort Providenciales
Amanyara Turks Caicos
Amanyara Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing