We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amanyara
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Northwest Point Resort(Providenciales)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Neptune Villas(Five Cays Settlement)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Turtle Cove Inn(Providenciales)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen Angel Resort(Providenciales)
View Hotel
La Vista Azul Resort(Providenciales)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One On Marlin(Providenciales)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kokomo Botanical Resort(Providenciales)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Bay Club(Providenciales)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
356
42
22
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
42
22
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaman resortsocean pavilionland roverprivate coveparrot cayrange roverpond viewmosquito netstunning resortmain restaurantmalcolm beachcommon areassteam roominfinity poolsoaking tubthe general managertennis courts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 441 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Returned from a wonderful 7 night spring break at Amanyara with my wife and 11 year old son.
It has been a long time that I would sign up on the spot to return the following year to a location (when there are so many great places to discover)- this time I would!

After battling the airport arrival experience, a sense of calm and pampering began with our drive to the luxury of Amanyara. We were met at the car by the management team and swiftly escorted to our room- more like a huge glass enclosed pavilion which had all the necessities you could think of- electronic shades for privacy, complimentary minibar with an amazing cookie, nuts, chocolate selection which was replenished twice daily. Maria was our hands-on expert who checked in on us almost daily to make sure we were being well-cared for and happy with our choices of activities. The Amanyara branded soaps, body gels, shampoos, after sun moisturizers and SPF were always on hand and unique. We used the wonderfully efficient room service team for a variety of breakfast and snacks- each time our selections arrived quickly, hot and with an air of hospitality and service.


Usually when in the Caribbean I say "is it good or just island good"- Aman's restaurants are way beyond Island good and could compete on the mainland to quell their guests culinary desires! We loved the dining options which embraced the wonderful Aman Asian influence with perhaps the best Pad Thai and Tom Yum Soup we've experienced since Amanpuri in Phuket. Their continental specialties with fare ranging from steaks to pizzas are in full force under the watchful and creative eye of Fritz. We would look forward to our encounters with Fritz each day as he also checked in on us to learn what our palates were yearning for in this island paradise. The management team receives our highest praise as we always felt well cared for at each encounter. Our deepest thanks to Ben who we encountered several times daily- always with his smile and gentle inquiries to ensure we were satisfied. Angelo on the food and beverage management team was always enthusiastic to recommend a wine and make something up to our son's wishes.

After spending our days at the beach with the amazing beach attendants- always eager to provide a beverage or little amuse each day, we would make our way to the pool area to unwind with the Aman signature tea time. Families would come together to share our stories and unwind while Bojan and the amazing staff of bartends would mix some of the most glorious cocktails with their signature Aman smiles and grace. Each evening sitting amongst new friends with the laughter of children watching the sunrise with a cocktail (or two or three) handcrafted by Bojan was truly a highlight we replay in our minds upon our return.

The public areas were equally luxurious and well maintained. The staff was always eager to provide service and take that extra unexpected gesture to ensure loyalty and a return.

The only negatives of our entire trip were beyond the control of Amanyara. The PLS airport won the award of the worst airport we have experiences in my 50+ countries of travel. The absurdity of arranging 5 jet takeoffs in less than an hour with a boarding area that can accommodate perhaps 150 people is laughable. This can be managed by simply going to http://vipflyersclub.com and using their entry and departure service.

In closing, Aman is not for everyone- and that's why we love it! If you like privacy and relaxation, if you like quiet and well mannered children then you'll have no problem. Timeless elegance with an attention to personalized service comes with a price. Aman sets the bar and delivers its quality experience with this gem in a natural paradise.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GeneDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We visited for our babymoon, and the entire staff could not have been more attentive or wonderful to us. I requested tempurpedic pillows because of my back, and after the first night they provided me with a maternity S shaped pillow without me asking, which I thought was very considerate seeing that I didn’t even know that was an option!

I scoured the reviews before we arrived, and there were some inconsistencies in what people said (perhaps they weren’t told if certain things were available), so just to clarify for those who hate checking in luggage like us and weren’t sure of what liquids to pack:

1. They provide (literally) unlimited mosquito spray – there’s one in every room and they have it on hand wherever you are in the common areas. USE IT. Note: there’s no calamine lotion or anti itch relief, to get a tube you have to pay $20 at the gift shop. We also requested mosquito nets which they very happily put on for us after the first night. While it does sound dramatic and we got quite a few bites, let’s keep in mind that you’re in a nature preserve and this is part of the deal. You’re in their hood, not the other way around.
2. They have sunblock and aloe vera readily available everywhere
3. I forgot saline solution – they had a big giant Costco sized bottle in the gift shop (that I obviously couldn’t carry on back home) ….for $35 USD. This is kind of indicative of their prices in general.
4. Someone mentioned there not being enough lights on the walk back home – we usually asked for a golf cart to pick us up at night, but if you do decide to walk back, every room is equipped a flashlight.
5. To leave the resort for a meal, it costs $100/hour to hire a car to drive you. So factoring in a leisurely 3 hour departure from the hotel will cost you $300+ (not including the meal!). Needless to say, we didn’t leave for 5 days.

The meals were ridiculously pricey for what it was – we booked the package that included daily breakfast and dinner for 5 night consecutive stays (no drinks included. Basic Fiji water is $9/bottle…and each person gets one bottle. We learned to order tap after the first night). It’s true what people said of the menu. At first you’re overwhelmed with the options, and by the 4th night you are so tired of it all. Lunch was our only expense, and we averaged about $80-90 per day (without drinks, too!) – it’s not particularly worth it considering that pad thai is $42. You get immune to the sticker shock after a while, but I’ve never been so excited to see a bottle of water for less than $4 at the Charlotte airport when we returned.

All in all, the staff was very lovely – they’re clearly very attentive and are there to serve your needs. We took advantage of morning yoga, tennis, and paddle boarding (can you tell we really ran the gamut on free activities?) and really enjoyed the resort overall. The resort was never crowded, and often the sala’s were very open. Our movement for the day usually consisted of moving from the daybed sala to the beach and back to the pool lounge daybeds. What a rough life. The other guests were lovely and kept to themselves as well (when you’re paying this price, you really weed out the rough crowds I guess).

While we’re open to splurging a little while on vacation, most of the reason why we didn't pay for certain items was more for the principle of it. This resort is fit for the .01%er’s where throwing irrational amounts of money around is not a big deal at all. Maybe the prices can’t be helped (I’m giving them the benefit of the doubt in believing that import tax + expenses are high). While I loved it here, the prices were just ridiculous. Then again, the real rich people who vacation like this monthly probably aren’t reviewing on here and are too busy updating on rich kids of instagram!

You’ll notice that the majority lower reviews here are mostly for people who joined for meals and didn’t stay at the resort. I would agree that if I were only visiting the resort for dinner, I’d be disappointed as well for what you get out of the price. But overall, the resort is lovely and so accommodating. I don’t know what Grace Bay is like, but from the airport crowd, it seems as if it’s more of a party town. Amanyara definitely is not – it’s more of a private and quiet retreat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ikli7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Amanyara lives up to the breathtaking photos posted online and the beach is truly remote. Compared to Grace Bay resorts on Provo which are lined up like Ocean City, MD or Honolulu, Amanyara is situated on a stretch of beach heaven. The architecture of the resort gives a nod to the Amangiri resort in Utah with a more sprawling feel to guest pavillons and villas which are stand alone structures. The pool allows for views of the sunset and has incredibly clear water. The snorkeling trip with Clauden is not to be missed. Clauden, an intelligent and compassionate staff member, represents Aman well and wants guests to have an enjoyable visit. He was the staff most worthy of recognition. The Australian female staff member at the spa was incredibly helpful too. Transportation and drivers were excellent from airport.

Why only a 4 star review? For older adults or individuals with disabilities this property may be difficult to navigate. There were steps throughout the property with poor visibility (e.g., near the spa area) as well as sharp furniture that could cause trips and falls in the guest pavillons (bench by tub, coffee table by bed, etc...). Staff was whizzing through the resort on golf carts as guests were walking (trying to avoid getting hit).

Another concern was that for longer stays that the rooms were not as cozy as Amangani and other luxury resorts. For example, the indoor space did not match the outdoor space. As many guests have mentioned, the mosquitoes were quite persistent and did tend to get inside the guest rooms even without doors open (screens are needed). We requested a mosquito net after killing 7 mosquitoes and having the buzz in our ears at night. The net worked well and is recommended for guests staying in an ocean pavillon. It is recommended that more furniture be added to the room for increased variety. If it rains there is pretty much the bed and one chair as an option which seems to be extremely minimalist to the point of impractical.

Breakfast buffet was underwhelming compared to other Aman resorts. The plain yogurt was extremely bland as were the muffins. The fruit was moldly which was disappointing. One more concern was the condition of the paddle boarding equipment which needs to be replaced. Although bikes were a bit battered they were appreciated.

Very much enjoyed the sunset...a beautiful property with a laid back, mystical quality. If you are an Aman junkie, you will not want to miss this one! Best for couples.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dreamtravelreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The Amanyara is a stunning architectural achievement. It offers privacy, comfort, and the opportunity to really disconnect from the pressure of the outside world. The beach is magnificent...and the superlatives end here. There is something missing from the Amanyara. There's no soul, no atmosphere that seems to hold the place together. We've stayed in other Aman resorts around the world, and this one really felt off kilter....perhaps this has something to do with the management - consider this: upon arrival we were greeted by the two managers - two strapping European men - a European client relations woman, and a local employee. The manager introduced himself, his work partner, and the client relations person, but failed to even acknowledge the presence of Jonathan, to whom we introduced ourselves given the "oversight" of the manager. If anything, the way the hotel functions creates tension. There is for instance a bicycle sharing system to allow people to get around the property, but what happens is that people tend to stake their claims on bikes by leaving their clothing in the baskets, and then other people take the bikes, leaving the clothing to one side before riding off. This creates a bizarre ambiance of mistrust amongst guests, and management should think about this differently.
The prices at the Amanyara are insultingly off the charts. Dinner for two can easily hit $ 100 per person before event thinking about wine. This is not the issue, however. The food is exceptionally average, and the service glacially slow and lacking in polish. Great food and great service, I am happy to pay for, but if I get mediocre food and poor service, I am not happy. While the kitchen was happy to accomodate special requests, they seemed to get some recipes wrong....a lobster curry was served one evening in a rich, red curry base, while on another occasion was served in a dishwater thin soup base. When asked, the server insisted that this was how the dish was always served. The wine list was ridiculously priced as well - expect to pay 3 to 5 times what you'd pay in Paris or New York.
Let's move on to activities. There is an OK gym, two tennis courts, and a pilates studio. There was some discussion (read: raised voices) to get the Pilates studio open, as they usually charge $ 150 per class -- as we have been practising Pilates for the better part of a decade, we got to use the facility without a chaperone. The hotel's website states that they work closely with a diving company, and boasts about the 8 mn ride from the hotel's beach to the nearest dive sites. Well....the diving company will charge you $ 400 for a two tank dive -- for you divers out there you'll know that this is just crazy. After establishing that this was not an option for me, the hotel found me a 6 dive package, Nitrox and equipment included, for $ 500. I did have to wake up at the crack of dawn to dive, travel 30 mns into the main part of Provo to get the dive boat, but at least I got value for money. Do not be duped by the hotel's web site, which leads one to believe that it's possible to saunter down to the beach, on to the dive boat, and out to the dive site.
I work hard and when I'm holiday I stay in nice places and rarely look at prices, but the audacity of this place is insulting. Even if a guest wants to travel into town to have dinner in a local restaurant, the quoted Amanyara price is $ 120 each away.....People who can afford to stay at a place like this like this did not get rich by throwing their money out the window, and this is what Amanyara essentially wants people to do. I did not go to the Amanyara expecting to be on a budget holiday, and I don't recall being surprised like this by the prices of the Aman resorts in Siem Reap, Luang Prabang, or Bali. While some may think that simply this hotel was not for us - fine, but why such a dramatic departure from what is an outstanding brand and product everywhere else?
Finally, as if adding insult to injury, the hotel included items on the bill that my party did not consume....cigars charged to my daughter, and bottles of wine we did not drink....again, the policy of the hotel is to blame. Nothing gets written down when orders are taken, nothing gets signed at the end of a meal or upon the purchase of goods or services, and no reciepts are available, except at check-out. When looking at the bill, it's comes down to a memory game and the guest's word against that of the hotel. This does not make for the most pleasant of departures...
All in all, while this is a beautiful hotel, the value for money is terrible, the service mediocre, and the management in need of some soul-searching.

Room Tip: Bring mosquitoe repellent. You'll need it.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank voyageur à paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco F, General Manager at Amanyara, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear future Amanyara guests,

Please note that most of the comments regarding these guests' recent stay with us at the resort are quite accurate, however somewhat exaggerated as the focus is mostly all cost related.

Amanyara and all similar iconic luxury properties in the Caribbean are indeed very pricey. This is not due to price gauging, but to the high costs inherent in importing almost all of our products, high energy costs on island locations, compensating for a high staff to guest ratio (Amanyara has 7 employees to every guest they serve), and ensuring that we are equipped to serve to a very high level, our most important customer, you our valued guest.

In regards to diving, we do mention clearly in all of our communications that the resort "utilizes the services of a professional dive operation" and that if you do not wish to enjoy a beach pickup, which costs extra as the dive is considered a private one, that yes, you will have to go to one of the island's marinas to board the boat with other divers. We therefore offered these guests complimentary transfers to a marina on several occasions, as a hospitality gesture, in our brand new Land Rovers, and likewise sourced a less expensive diving operator to go diving with.

In regards to transportation, I am not aware of any resorts that offer chauffeur driven transportation in a privatized Land Rover for free. Our actual transportation costs are indeed less expensive than what is alternate on offer on the island, and the island does provide several rental car companies as another alternative for guests.

Our Fitness Center is newly renovated (November 2013), with the latest Artis line of Technogym equipment, some of the most advanced wellness equipment in the world and we actually have 4 Har-thru Tennis courts, likewise some of the best courts used by top tennis professionals, hence somewhat confused with the comments made. Our Pilates program is indeed instructor managed, just as we do not expect guest to guide themselves for their treatments in our Spa, we provide a high level of professional.expertise to guide our Pilates sessions.

Lastly, if we indeed do make a mistake in terms of billing, or for that fact anything else, we resolve the issue immediately with the guest concerned and unfortunately for us on our costly Caribbean islands, we do not share the same regional economies of scale as our colleagues in South East Asia.

We look forward to continue to welcoming and welcoming back our avid diving guests, and those in search of true beauty at our peaceful place in the Turks and Caicos Islands.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This was our third stay at Amanyara, and of course it is a world-class hotel. The buildings and setting are absolutely outstanding, the beach is great, the villas exceptional (and you pay for it). In terms of service, our one complaint involves dining. The food was overpriced for the quality, and restaurant service is slow.

However, perhaps I am simply being overly sensitive, but the hotel did not seem to be very ethical. The staff seemed very put upon, and evidently they fire staff once they reach a certain age/employment period?! These luxury hotels need to know that we care if the staff are happy. Much of the staff comes from Asia and is very far from their families. Additionally, the nickeling and diming does not make it seem like warm, embracing hotel.

I just wish we could enjoy the luxurious setting without feeling like we were contributing to mistreatment. On the other hand, I was happy to see that they had a marine conservation program for the guests.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BDWny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews