We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Book Group Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Somerset on Grace Bay
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Book Group Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

As a graduate student earning my MFA in Creative Writing, the Somerset's Book Group Retreat with bestselling author Lee Woodruff was an absolutely wonderful experience. Sitting on the lawn beneath palm trees and a beautiful tropical sky, we discussed Lee's memoirs and fiction. It was extremely inspiring to hear her personal stories. Additionally, it was a truly unique opportunity to be able to gain some perspective into the world of writing and publishing in such an intimate setting with an eclectic group of both island visitors and residents.

I hope to be able to attend many more such retreats in the future!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sasi6784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    94
    38
    15
    9
See reviews for
275
213
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mendham, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

The Somerset offers just the right blend of elegant accommodations in a stunning setting with delicious food, friendly staff, and the most beautiful white sand beach and turquoise blue water. As a frequent traveler, I absolutely loved the beach’s perfect blend of privacy without being isolated…enjoying long walks, frequent swims and a taste of stand up paddleboard yoga. The Somerset’s yoga retreat is just right for the person who is looking to self-nurture, learn something new, and balance their yoga vacation with a spa treatment, meals featuring locally sourced food, and a super fun beach BBQ complete with a DJ and dance floor on the beach. I cannot wait to return in October!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I feel so rejuvenated after participating in the yoga retreat at the beautiful Somerset Resort. I have been to other retreats in Europe but this was my first one in Turks@Caicos.
I arrived from Holland and was met by a very friendly staff. I met other participants at the welcome reception held at the Resorts pool bar.
We did an evening meditation class under the stars led by our lovely instructor Christina, listening only to the peaceful sound of the waves.
Next morning,at sunrise yoga, I was mesmerized by the torquoise color of the ocean and the beautiful soft sand.
My package also included two meals a day plus the popular Somerset Beach BBQ. The food was delicious and we danced the night away.
Practicing yoga in the sand was so calming and restoring, I want to come back to their next retreat in Oct.

Room Tip: All condo's are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Somerset Resort on Grace Bay added a nice spa on premises. I was greeted with a chilled glass of prosecco and treated to a relaxing massage in a nicely-appointed treatment room. It's nice to be able to get a first-rate massage without having to leave the resort's grounds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldie, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Just returned from 4 nights in paradise. This resort is well appointed, well kept grounds, a beautiful pool, and perfect spot on the beach.

The only downside seems to be the true "island time" nature of the staff. While all servers and attendants were incredibly pleasant and courteous. When you wanted drinks it was often very slow. The restaurant was another slight disappointment. While we did not eat dinner, we did have dessert. The service was nearly an hour for a sliver of sautéed pineapple and scoop of ice cream. In the end, this was the only downside in the entire week. My recommendation is to avoid the restaurant and walk down the beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We recently visited The Somerset on a girls' trip/vacation to celebrate Mother's Day, and each of us commented on how perfect the location and accommodations are. The setting is just one of the prettiest on the island, and the three-bedroom, three-bath units are large and spacious, with brand-new Viking appliances and all the amenities, even top-flight blow-dryers (not that you need them); it's fairly casual on the island. The Somerset is ideally situated on a quite slice of beach with helpful attendants, and the management bent over backwards to make our stay amazing. They hosted a cool book club-type event with author Lee Woodruff during our stay as well as a really first-rate beach barbecue/party. We are already talking about our return trip.

Room Tip: Our room faced the pool/beachfront; the infinity pool is just gorgeous. The whole place is quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ccasama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Rented a three bdm Villa in the Welwyn building (one of four stand alone buildings with four units in each building) with exceptional Bay views from massive wraparound decks with grill and hot tub - each unit takes a complete floor. Nicely furnished with all amenities - full kitchen with first class appliances and TVs in each bedroom. Two bedrooms with weary large en-suite bath, third bdm has reasonably private access to third bath. Large lap pool and separate walk in pool. Just past the pool is the most amazing beach with powder-like sand beach that endlessly extends into the water - no rocks/plants/debris. Poolside lunch cabana has good food - not exceptional. On site restaurant/bar is very good and convenient, but a short 1/2 to 1 mile walk on lighted paved streets will get you to additional very nice restaurant choices. Resort staff was the perfect balance of attentive and helpful when needed, without being underfoot. Resort was not full on our visit - had a reserved atmosphere that was quite relaxing. More active amenities available on the beach. Would definitely recommend this property to anyone traveling to TCI!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.9 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#4 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,313 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
#5 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Regent Grand
The Regent Grand
#7 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Tuscany
The Tuscany
#2 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerset on Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerset on Grace Bay

Property: The Somerset on Grace Bay
Address: Princess Drive | Grace Bay, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Providenciales
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#4 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#6 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Somerset on Grace Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 4.6 Acres of the world-famous Turks and Caicos beach, The Somerset on Grace Bay is an intimate luxury resort where couples and families alike enjoy treasured times together. The five-star resort features 53 one- to five-bedroom luxury villas ranging from 1,400 to 5,300 sq. Ft. Each with ample living, dining and entertaining spaces and gourmet kitchens equipped with Viking appliances. Two restaurants and bars, two freshwater pools, fitness center, full service spa with in-suite spa services, a range of activities on land and sea, complimentary Caicos Kids Club, and concierge services complement your family vacation, group getaway or romantic interlude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, West Indies, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Somerset on Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerset On Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Somerset On Grace Bay Providenciales
Somerset Grace Bay
Somerset On Grace Bay Hotel
The Somerset On Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing