We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Somerset on Grace Bay
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife and I flew to Turks & Caicos following our wedding weekend, staying at the Somerset, and it could not have been a better week. A great venue, very picturesque, awesome cottages and the food was generally outstanding. It was the "offseason", so it was largely empty for most of the week we were there until the July 4th weekend -- a fact that was very much appreciated given that we were escaping the grind of NYC.

One thing to remember going in is that the service is considerably slower on the island, so once you can get past the fact that food and beverage will take the scenic route to your table or beach chair, it's all good. That is no slight towards the Somerset though, it's really area-wide.

The service was friendly for the most part, although we ran into a couple servers that didn't seem to be having very good days. Regardless, that didn't sour the trip at all -- just a fantastic place to go, particularly in the offseason when there are better deals and fewer people (if you're looking to get away rather than meet random couples).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
There are newer reviews for The Somerset on Grace Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Couldn't have been more pleased with my stay at The Somerset! I knew it would be a great week when I pulled in and was instantly greeted with cold towels, drinks, and someone to take all of our luggage. From there it only got better.

I was able to experience both a garden unit and an ocean front estate, and both were incredible. The garden units look out onto a beautiful field that is often used for soccer and croquet, and is also just a stones throw away from the continental breakfast. The ocean estates have magnificent views, and even if on the ground level the convenience to the beach and pool sure outweigh the lack of a spectacular view. The rooms themselves are beautifully furnished and have nice finishes.

The staff are some of the friendliest people in the world.

Lastly, the water sports that the resort offers are where it's at. The Hobies, paddle boards, kayaks, and snorkeling equipment can fill up a whole week on their own. The resort also has a lot of fun activities like the Tuesday night bbq and occasionally a movie night on the field outside the garden units.

Truly a one of a kind resort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

WOW what a week!!! The resort is simply beautiful and the crystal water and white sand is amazing, pictures do not do it justice!!! The resort is staffed with the best people, Slevonya,Winston aka Snoopi, Dayanna,Alicia,Kay, Mickey and Ronald just to name a few. They always had smiles on their face and always asked if we were having a good time and if there was anything that they could help us with. The resort's location is perfect, shorts walks on the beach to some great restaurants and shopping. Or take a bike ride into town and let's not forget about the great spa at the somerset I had a facial and body scrub and my husband had the massage the best!

We also met some of the friendliest guest in the resort, hanging out with them and just totally enjoying Paradise with our new found friends. Lynn ny

Room Tip: All the villas are beautiful, however we had the villa on the 3rd floor an ocean view which was the...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I just returned from the Somerset after celebrating my July 4th Birthday! In one word my stay was AMAZING! The property is beautiful with gorgeous villas, an infinity pool, and the most pristine beach that I have ever seen.I especially want to commend the AMAZING staff who went above and beyond to make sure I had a great birthday.I was blown away when a gift basket and personalized birthday card was brought to my room at check-in! The spa and food was also wonderful. A special shout out to key staff:Lachelle, Carmen, Alicia, Clifton, Winston, Katia, Michelle, Leonela, Arlean, the list goes on.All of the staff provided first class service. I can't wait to return for the Lobster fest in the Spring!!! I have told all of my friends that the Somerset definitely is the place to visit for a relaxing getaway with first class service. ---Donna E.from Atlanta

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dbe704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

What a beautiful resort! A one week stay at the Somerset was the perfect combination of relaxation and adventure. The rooms and grounds are exquisite, the frozen drinks are refreshing and the beach is a little slice of paradise. To burn off some of those vacation calories or spend some time in the crystal blue waters, the resort offers paddle boards, kayaks, and sailboats to take out whenever you please. I stayed at the resort with my friend and her family and I found it to be a wonderful place for families, couples, or friend groups- there is a little something for everybody! I left feeling relaxed, refreshed, and blessed to have been able to spend time at a beautiful resort with my friend. From a girl that knows luxury, this hotel comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: I stayed in a villa on the croquet lawn and it was quiet, spacious, and just a short walk to the bea...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gab F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I have been to Turks and Caicos several times for the past seven years and I have to say that The Somerset on Grace Bay is the best resort that I have ever stayed at. The location was stunning, the service was great and the amenities were great. If yo u are looking for a vacation with the family on a peaceful island - this is definitely the place!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter, but still have an ocean view on the top floor. We stayed in Cottage 5...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank islandhopper8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was a return trip for me. I had been at the Somerset in the winter and was so enamored that I asked for a return visit for our anniversary in June. Back int he winter the staff had talked about the opening of a Spa at the Resort, and I was doubly curious to see how the spa would compete with the others on island (there are a number of world class spas which I have favored) and greatly anticipating the new experience. We decided to try a different service everyday - well I had, my husband was only interested in the massage. The first day I started with a mani/pedi - and it was excellent. The service area for this treatment was on the expansive verandah on the side of the reception building - it was a delightful setting, so refreshing to be outside and not smell the nail polish chemicals. The second day I had a facial, I couldn't pick so I asked the therapist to customize one for my skin - it was amazing, I convinced my husband to try it the next day and he said it was an amazing experience. The next day I had detox body wrap, guaranteed to help with my weight lose attempt, and yes it did work - shockingly - I was a sceptic. The final day both of us had a massage - deep tissue for my husband, and a follow up detox massage for me. The services we received were amongst the best we have experienced any where. The spa is small (two treatment rooms, a steam room and the mani/pedi area)and intimate like the Resort, very well appointed and quite lovely. The weather in June was better than in the winter - balmy days, warm ocean water, and cooler evenings. Reminds me of Tahiti. The staff were just as friendly and welcomed us back - made us feel like homecoming. I can hardly wait to go back - there is a yoga retreat in October I am aiming for and a writer's workshop in November - difficult decision.

Room Tip: Really enjoyed the off season!!!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simcoegirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.9 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,466 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
464 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
#4 of 44 in Providenciales
1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Regent Grand
The Regent Grand
#6 of 44 in Providenciales
767 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grace Bay Club
Grace Bay Club
#7 of 44 in Providenciales
1,746 reviews
1.0 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerset on Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerset on Grace Bay

Address: Princess Drive | Grace Bay, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Providenciales
#2 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#3 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: £345 - £1,467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Somerset on Grace Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 4.6 Acres of the world-famous Turks and Caicos beach, The Somerset on Grace Bay is an intimate luxury resort where couples and families alike enjoy treasured times together. The five-star resort features 53 one- to five-bedroom luxury villas ranging from 1,400 to 5,300 sq. Ft. Each with ample living, dining and entertaining spaces and gourmet kitchens equipped with Viking appliances. Two restaurants and bars, two freshwater pools, fitness center, full service spa with in-suite spa services, a range of activities on land and sea, complimentary Caicos Kids Club, and concierge services complement your family vacation, group getaway or romantic interlude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, West Indies, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Somerset on Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerset On Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Somerset On Grace Bay Providenciales
Somerset Grace Bay
Somerset On Grace Bay Hotel
The Somerset On Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing