We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Somerset on Grace Bay
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

My fiancée and I just got back from a five night stay at the Somerset on Grace Bay and it was fantastic!! I’m signing up on Trip Advisor just to post this review because it is so well deserved. The team at the Somerset was incredible. I work in the hospitality industry and trust me when I say that I am very hard to impress. Usually when I stay at hotels I immediately see all the flaws and that’s what I remember most. Not for this trip, and not for the Somerset. Everything from the grounds to the room to the pool and beach was amazing!
The grounds are absolutely stunning, well kept and clean. Every morning you will see the staff cleaning the pool and pool area as well as the beach. We walked the entire beach on grace bay during our stay and Somerset definitely has one of the best sections of the beach. Other hotels had seaweed and were overcrowded and small. The beach at Somerset was clean with plenty of chairs and space for you to relax and not feel like you’re on top of your neighbors.

The pool area as well was great. There are only 60 or so units in the resort which made for a quite peaceful atmosphere around the pool . No getting up at 7am to run down and put your books and towels on a chair to hold it which was great.

The room was wonderful as well. It was very spacious for a resort, with modern kitchen furnishings and a traditional island resort feel. The room was well taken care of by housekeeping and was very clean every time we returned from our day on the island. They also turned down the room at night with fresh towels which was nice.

We ate at the pool/beach bar for lunch almost every day and the food was great. They had a wide assortment of menu options and everything we tried from the conch to the pizza was very good. We never made it to dinner at the hotel but did also have breakfast a few mornings which was also very good and affordable. The continental breakfast was a bonus!

Last but certainly not least was the service. The Somerset definitely earns its stars from its service. Make sure to say hello to Janet and Jonathan at the pool bar, they were so attentive and friendly. The concierge was great with helping us get reservations from dinner to diving. From the second we arrived (Ricardo from the hotel met us and another couple at the airport) to our final minutes before leaving, we received excellent service everywhere we went. Everyone remembered our names, what room we were in, where we were from. It was incredible and made our stay that much better.

I highly recommend the Somerset and will definitely be going back again soon!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sroot17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    94
    38
    15
    9
See reviews for
276
214
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

I have been to this resort twice now. A girlfriend and I go for our annual "mommy getaway" vacation. It is a boutique resort in Provo on Grace Bay about 20 minutes from the airport. The staff is courteous but not warm.

The grounds are immaculate and the beach/pools are gorgeous; really, really gorgeous.

We like it for a girlfriends getaway b/c we can rent a 2-bedroom townhome and each have our own room and bathroom. The resort serves a free continental breakfast which is lovely. We stock up on groceries and drinkey-poos at the IGA (use the one on Leeward Highway as it is much cheaper than the newer one on Grace Bay--and get the deli's beans and rice), and then spend days lounging by the beach pool. It is heaven. There are lots of lovely restaurants in Grace Bay for evenings. Conch dishes are very popular.

There is great snorkeling right off shore at Turtle Cove.

We really like Provo/Grace Bay b/c it is safe by Caribbean standards and the water is amazingly beautiful.

The only real downside is the price. Somerset and most area resorts are not cheap (except maybe the beaches down the way). The first time we stayed their Lionel Ritchie was also a guest, if that puts it in some perspective. They do run specials, though, and we save money by splitting the cost of the townhouse. They also have one and three bedrooms for rent. It combines the ease of a condo with the luxury of a resort hotel. This place is great!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Taraehd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

Just returned from our first trip to Turks & Caicos, and Provo.

After doing extensive online research, I booked our stay at The Somerset, based in large part upon favorable reviews through Trip Advisor as well as reputable published reviews by Fodor's and Frommers. I booked our 6 day trip for a 1 bedroom "ocean view" suite using the hotel's website, which required a very large advance downpayment (around $3,200). The total cost for the unit was at just under $7,000, an amount that we consider pretty substantial for a trip that did not even last a full week. I did not use a travel agent when making this reservation. I completely believe that was an error on my part and I will never book reservations at another facility in a foreign country that has not been personally recommended to me by a friend or trusted travel agent.

Although The Somerset is a gorgeous facility with prime real estate, we experienced continual disapppointments thoughout our stay there, beginning from the time we landed at the airport and were not greeted by a representative of the hotel, as we had previously been advised we would. Upon arriving by taxi, and checking in, we were taken to a ground floor unit at the Stirling House (Unit 105) that faced large foliage that totally blocked our view of the beach. In addition, the unit's safe was broken, the curtains were completely unmoveable, further blocking the view of the very small patio, there was rust in the Viking freezer. In short, this unit did not measure up to even what I would describe as minimum standards for a hotel, much less a luxury hotel.

Almost immediately upon seeing this unit, my boyfriend promptly returned to the front desk and demanded to be moved to another unit. He explained that we had booked a reservation for an ocean view suite and that had clearly not been delivered. The individual at the front desk then punted the problem to his boss, Scott, the manager, who my boyfriend then spoke to by phone as Scott was physically not on site at that time. Scott rudely explained to my boyfriend that not all guests could be on the top floor, to which my boyfriend then said fine, put us in another unit, and if necessary, we will pay more. Scott then said they could not do that, as the hotel was completely full. My boyfriend then asked for a full refund and said we would leave the property. Only at that point did Scott suggest that he would give us a 20% discount, after asking if we had used a travel agent in booking the hotel.

As if that isn't enough, my boyfriend then had to waste several hours time waiting on the management to send folks over to the unit to fix the curtain, fix the safe, etc. After the management said the safe was broken, they gave us a "pass key" to use for the safe. On day two, we noticed a large amount of water pooling in the interior hall which was dripping down through the light fixture in the ceiling. Yet again, another call to management to advise them of this major plumming problem. The ground's Fillipino plumber then came in to assess the problem and after looking at it, said that he would probably need to return.

Adding insult to injury, on day 3, my boyfriend came in to the unit around mid-afternoon after being at the pool and found the plumber, in the dark, in the master bathroom where our closet with the safe was, a site that was not even close to where the plumbing problem was the day before. After the plumber left, we discovered that approximately $200 and some pills had been stolen from the safe. We immediately reported this problem to the front desk, to my boyfriend was told that they had never had this problem reported before. The hotel did nothing to reimburse us or credit us the difference on our total bill.

Obviously, these folks are in cohoots and on the take. I could never recommend to ANYONE that this is a good place to spend their hard-earned money. We are very disappointed and will never return to this hotel, and may not return to the island.

On a positive note, there are a few employees there that we did enjoy, including Eva (the concierge) and Leone, at O'Soleil, and Gloria at the pool bar. Other than that. we can't recommend much of anything.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lougae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

We just arrived home from the Somerset, and I am missing it already. We stayed in a garden cottage close to the restaurant, which was convenient for breakfast and dinner. The restaurant was great, and we also enjoyed great food at Marin and Mango Reef, both within walking distance on the beach. We rented bikes one day in town, and that was also great fun. We found the staff at the Somerset cheerful and helpful. Our vacation was relaxing -- really no complaints. We will definitely return to this resort .

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farfromthecrowds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

We traveled a few days after Christmas and were fortunate that we did not experience any flight delays as many travelers did on the East coast. Our flight arrived at 8:30 PM and no one from the Somerset was at the airport to greet us, however we found a taxi and arrived at the hotel within 30 minutes.

Staff showed us to our estate villa, but we couldn't really see much because it was dark. Everyone was hungry so we headed to OSoliel, the restaurant on property to get a bite to eat. We were greeted by the maitre'd and he asked if we had reservations. We explained that we had just arrived at the property and did not have reservations and he rudely told us that he doubted that he could accommodate our party of 4 for dinner and that we could expect to wait for at least an hour. Too tired to seek out other options, we said OK and waited in the bar. After 30 minutes a manager asked what time our seating was for and we reiterated that we had just arrived, no reservations. He quickly found us a table and soon we had dinner on the table. The food was superb, service a little slow, but at least www didn't have to wait over an hour.
The next morning we opened our curtains only to find that our "ocean view villa" has no view of the ocean, but a perfect view into the pool bar. The pool bar obstructed the entire view of the property. We went to the front desk to inquire about this and ask if we could switch villas or move up a floor. After a very long wait, discussions with 3 managers and little explanation as to why they couldn't accommodate our request, we were told that they were too busy at the holiday. We explained that we paid for an estate vill with an ocean view and they just said it was the best they could do. Pretty disappointing after paying $24,000 to take the family to an upscale property.
Despite our difficulties with the view, we did enjoy our visit and loved the property. each time we ate at the restaurant, however, there was an aloofness about the staff. Many other places to eat on the island that welcomed us more than OSoliel, so we stopped going back there.
Upon checkout we again inquired as ton whether or not management could reduce our bill due to the accommodations, but they refused. When we returned home we called our travel agent to see if she could assist and she also was rebuffed. We also learned that our travel agent didn't get her commission from the Somerset. She called several managers, accounting and even the general manager gave here the runaround. Apparently it wasn't until a letter was sent ton the developer ofnthe property that the commission was paid. Subsequently we received a letter from the general manager stating that we could have 3 nights free accommodations on our next visit. Sorry, but we won't be back! There is something going on under the surface of this beautiful place that isn't ethical if a travel agent has to chase a commission and a property refuses to honor a room type paid for by a guest. We visited Parrot Cay and think we will go there next time.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sandrunner6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

Since vacation time is a premium for us at this point in our lives....we think of it as an investment.
Taking off only 2-3 weeks a year....I do not want to go somewhere and think....it was not as nice as a previous trip.
Providenciales has been our favorite Caribbean location of well over a dozen islands. And The Somerset has been EVERYTHING that we could imagine. Stunning architecture and and a well thought out resort like a Robert Trent golf course.
Well furnished suites with top notch fittings. Staff that not only caters to your needs but do so with a smile.
Once you arrive on the property it is like all of your day to day cares are melted away.
The ocean facing pools, croquet lawn, Zen garden just add to the relaxing feature of this resort.
We TRULY can not wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcimike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

We stayed a week at one of the 3 bedroom suites with our toddler and the grandparents. The service was incredibly friendly, the rooms were very clean, and the setting was very intimate. We were looking for something a little more secluded from the big chains and found it at the Somerset. The accommodations were excellent and I think because the property wasn't huge you received very personalized service -- the staff was incredibly friendly and would go out of their way to make sure that you had everything you needed - in fact we had forgotten a few baby items and the staff tracked them down free of charge!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JonMorgan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.9 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#4 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
#5 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Regent Grand
The Regent Grand
#7 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Tuscany
The Tuscany
#2 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerset on Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerset on Grace Bay

Property: The Somerset on Grace Bay
Address: Princess Drive | Grace Bay, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Providenciales
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#4 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#6 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Somerset on Grace Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 4.6 Acres of the world-famous Turks and Caicos beach, The Somerset on Grace Bay is an intimate luxury resort where couples and families alike enjoy treasured times together. The five-star resort features 53 one- to five-bedroom luxury villas ranging from 1,400 to 5,300 sq. Ft. Each with ample living, dining and entertaining spaces and gourmet kitchens equipped with Viking appliances. Two restaurants and bars, two freshwater pools, fitness center, full service spa with in-suite spa services, a range of activities on land and sea, complimentary Caicos Kids Club, and concierge services complement your family vacation, group getaway or romantic interlude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, West Indies, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Somerset on Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerset On Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Somerset On Grace Bay Providenciales
Somerset Grace Bay
Somerset On Grace Bay Hotel
The Somerset On Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing