We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet, easy, reasonable, close to the beach and best snorkeling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Reef Residences on Grace Bay
Ranked #34 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2011

My husband and I were so glad we picked Reef Residences for our first trip to T&C!

The condos were big and clean with daily maid service. The bed was a little soft and uncomfortable but we managed. The walk to the beach, just past Windsong Resort, is actually a shorter walk than navigating though most giant hotel properties to the beach. And the walk to the reef is directly in front of Coral Gardens, 2 properties away, great snorkeling! You can sign up for a 2-hour sunset cruise (recommended) at the surf shop at Coral Gardens ($60/person). (So you get most of the perks but don't pay the price as CG.)

It was great having a kitchen and preparing breakfast and lunch every day. (Taxi to IGA=$5 each way. Our taxi driver, Wayne, even waited for us to shop.)

The property is super quiet and peaceful, well maintained, nice/gracious/friendly/helpful staff (as we found most of the staff to be on the island). They set up chairs/umbrellas on the beach and offered an umbrella for the day when we left the area. They put a DVD player in our room and lent us movies. Sweet. Oh and free wi-fi. I was actually glad we had our laptop so we could make plans and stay connected with home while there. This is not a place where all the action is, if you need a 24/hour reception/concierge or on-site restaurant, stay at another property.

DINING: Somewhere Cafe is nearby (in Coral Gardens, short walk on the beach) and great food/service. We went there 3 times in 1 week and the waitress hugged me on our last visit! Coco Bistro is also not to be missed. Mango Reef at Alexandria was not good. And surprisingly, Magnolia was just OK, nothing special (though the view of Turtle Cove was spectacular). Don't bother with Tiki Hut or Sharkbites (typical bar food) but the marina dining was nice if you prefer a view over food quality.

If you didn't rent a car for your stay, we highly recommend renting a car for one day (Grace Bay Rentals delivered to RR, ask for steering on the left!) and checking out Sapodilla Bay, drive by Chalk Sound and though Silly Creek and go to lunch/sunset dinner at Las Bresas (closed Tuesdays. Note: most non-hotel restaurants are closed on Mondays). We also toured the conch farm on Leeward Hwy (near the dock to the ferry for N. Caicos). Our guide was lovely.

SUGGESTIONS:
Bring your own snorkel gear (or be prepared to rent it).
Bring your own suntan lotion (it's worth paying to check a bag than buy it on the island).
Bring your own bug spray (for your ankles and feet and arms after the sun goes down. Some restaurants have it at the tables. You won't feel them biting but you will feel it the next morning.)
Bring a light jacket/shall for the evenings.

Our trip couldn't have gone better. I wish we were still there! (I also wish I read this same review before going, we would have been better prepared for our trip!) Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J2NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2011

Our family rented two one-bedroom units at the Reef Residence for our week-long vacation on Provo. The condo units gave us the necessary space for our toddler that a hotel room would certainly not. The units were well equipped so we did a combination of dining out and eating in. The staff are friendly, very helpful, and shared loads of insights about the island, where to eat and interesting things to do. Our condos' were kept spotless while we toured the island. Beach umbrella's can fill up quickly as some quests seem to rise at 4:00AM to arrange their towels and "stake their claim", but extra umbrellas can be borrowed from the desk. Beaches are public in TCI - so many good restaurants can be accesses by strolling down the beach and entering any number of other resorts, or you can drive. The island is easy to explore and a car well worth the cost. Top speed limit on Provo is 40, so you can take your time getting used to driving on the left. Reef Residence is centrally located and an excellend base for your visit to Provo.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gumppenbergers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Reef Residences blew us away from our first step out of the Taxi.
We were greeted right at the sidewalk. Keys in hand, they took us immediately to our unit. They insisted on carrying all the bags even though we tried to help.
The unit was spotless. The ammenities were much better than expected. Comfortable chairs, couch, and bed. Nice desk for computer use. Nice dining area.
Our favorite spot was our patio overlooking the pool. We had privacy since it was surrounded by shrubs, trees and flowers. Huge table with umbrella, perfect for a nice relaxing sleep in big comfy chairs.
All the grounds were well cared for.
The cleaning ladies were exceptional with us. Anything we needed we just asked for and we received.
The management was right on top of everything. I mentioned that it would sure be nice to have more shade at the beach since I burn so easily. Next day 20 new umbrellas appeared. I was most appreciative.
We were treated so nicely by everyone!!!! Friendly and helpful.
The kitchen was well equiped and anything that you did need, they were more than willing to help you find it.
My husband and I had a most wonderful month there and can't wait to return!!!!

I just want to point out to people, that you have to remember that this is an island and it is not home. Things are different. Its up to travellers to adjust to their surroundings and appreciate what the place has to offer instead of expecting it to be like home.

Reef Residences I can't thank you enough for showing us the beauty of your island. The special people that call the island home.

The Dawson's
Unit 6101
Jan 28-Feb28 2011

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toria43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Just returned from a week at Reef Residences. It was myself, my husband and our two year old, another couple and our babysitter. We stayed in a second floor 3 bedroom apartment which happened to have a washer/dryer (yay!). It was sizeable, everyone had their own bathroom, and everyone had privacy. The kitchen had all the appliances you'd need but not so much in way of kitchen utensils. We ate in for breakfasts and some lunches and probably saved a lot that way - Provo is a very expensive destination. This is not a resort, but the guys in the front office helped us with anything we needed and any request for maintenance or cleaning was promptly taken care of. Daily maid service was great except our floor was never really clean. We didn't mind not having a beach view, and the walk to the beach is very short. One issue is that Reef Residences clearly has some problems getting along with the folks at Windsong because the Windsong folks are extremely uptight about which beach umbrellas are theirs (the blue ones) and which ones are to be used by Reef Residences. As it turns out, Reef Residences only has 4 beige beach umbrellas for their guests to use, which is not enough. This took us days to figure out. To make up for it they keep some small umbrellas in the office that you can take down to the beach. It was ultimately easy to deal with, but for the first few days we were pretty frustrated by the many unspoken rules on the beach. In all we were happy with our stay. We are not into big resorts and were happy to stay at a nice, quiet location.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OingoBoingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We just returned from a week at the wonderful Reef Residence. All the staff were totally accommodating and very friendly. Cannot say enough about the clean quiet apartment - we cooked most days and the local IGA has everything you need.
Just steps from the most beautiful beach and snorkeling right from shore.
Will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ottawa149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

These residences are pretty new, clean with a lot of room and convenience. Furnishings, kitchen, etc are very comfortable. Only criticism is one enters and exits through the sliding door. It has a key but doesn't feel secure.

They are behind the Windsong so there is no view whatsoever. The price may make it worth not having a view - but the view is bar none. Given the locaton on the quiet side of Grace Bay, the Reef Residences are a pretty good value - just know you are missing one of the most incredible views.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dctraveler6010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

I just stayed at Reef Residences for a 10 day business trip to Provo. It was a great benefit to have the full kitchen and the ability to cook meals. It saved considerable money by being able to cook, compared to eating every meal out in a restaurant.

The rooms were clean, and the daily maid service was nice. I was in a garden level suite, and it was bigger than some apartments I have lived in. The housekeeping staff was very nice, and always took care of my needs.

The rooms were comfortable and clean, and just a short walk to the beach. The construction at Windsong is complete now, so there is no construction noise or safety concerns as in previous reviews. The beach was a great escape after a long day of work.

The downfalls were the water in my shower never really got warm, but it was not ice cold, so it was tolerable. The internet was also spotty. I never had access to the wireless, but I plugged in using the Vonage line plugged into the phone. Even then sometimes there was no internet. Minor details in my opinion.

I can't wait to come back here to stay on vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alihan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
2.1 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
750 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Oasis at Grace Bay
The Oasis at Grace Bay
#23 of 44 in Providenciales
107 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Vista Azul Resort
La Vista Azul Resort
#36 of 44 in Providenciales
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grace Bay Suites
Grace Bay Suites
#38 of 44 in Providenciales
265 reviews
2.3 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#19 of 44 in Providenciales
2,000 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Sands at Grace Bay
The Sands at Grace Bay
#20 of 44 in Providenciales
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Residences on Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Residences on Grace Bay

Address: Stubbs Road, 00000, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: £221 - £829 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Reef Residences on Grace Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These 24, two-level Bermuda style residences embrace the charm of the islands. At the center of the three buildings is a free-form pool and whirlpool Jacuzzi. The tranquil atmosphere includes lavish landscaping of fragrant frangipani, hibiscus, brillian bougainvillea and palms. All suites have fully equipped kitchens with stainless steel appliances, living rooms, dining area, bedroom with king-size bed and master bathroom. The lower level suites have a second bathroom with a shower. A spa and fitness center featuring state-of-the-art health club equipment is located on site. Daily maid service is included. The famous snorkeling reef is a 200 ft. walk down a paved walk way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Reef Residences on Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Residences On Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Reef Residences On Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing