We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, secluded resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Northwest Point Resort
Ranked #34 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service, secluded resort”
Reviewed 9 May 2009

It was our honeymoon, there were other honeymoon couples there too, but it was not crowded and very relaxing. We got massages in our room and he helped us with day trips. Mike was incredibly helpful and had great recommendations for restaurants. We had a great time!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iwanttogototheretoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    97
    25
    12
    13
See reviews for
92
173
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Ellyn, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2009

This was our second trip to Provo. Our last trip in Dec 2007, we stayed at the Royal West Indies on Grace Bay. We had mixed feeling about Northwest Point but in the end would not stay here again.

Beach
-not as fine as grace bay
-lots of seagrass on the beach and in the water; no one cleaned it
-no people; that's the best part
-no construction like grace bay

Pool
-needs to be heated a bit more
-Orbitz lists the resort as entirely non-smoking...smoking is allowed and there are ashtrays all over the pool area...there were a couple of smokers at the pool when we were there

Restaurant/Food
-limited menu
-very few customers leads to not a lot of food on hand
-had only one bottle of water for purchase one day
-had no chicken fingers one day
-had no french fries one day
-hours can be a bit sporadic as can the day of the week that it's closed
-Andrew was very friendly and very helpful
-You could probably eat all of your meals here but the restaurant can close any day mgt chooses...usually it's sunday or monday but they change as they see fit. You'll need some groceries or a car to go to other restaurants.

Service
-walked us to our room, helped with bags, refused tip
-couldn't tell me how much they would charge for calls back to the US
-no pool or beachside drink service
-beach towels in your room only...none at pool or beach...you use 'em, you wash em
-housekeeping service was adequate; no surprises, good or bad
-our dryer didn't work. the maintenance manager came pretty quickly and fixed it
-TV -resort has DirecTV satelitte...only they don't get reception on about 50% of the channels. You would get some channels fine in the morning but not at night...other channels you couldn't watch in the morning but could at night. We missed some of our favorite shows at night as a result. When we told management, we were told that that's the way it is and even if they had cable it would be bad. We stayed at a hotel in Grace Bay last year and had no problems with the TV. According to one of the condo owners, cable is more expensive on the island and the resort/owners don't want to pay for it.

Room
-got a deluxe garden/pool view
-smaller than expected; all of the pictures except one on the hotel website showing the deluxe garden/pool view rooms show rooms that were bigger than the one they gave us. since the place was almost completely empty and they knew that we had a crib in the room, it would have been nice for the hotel to give us one of the larger one bedroom rooms.
-no dining table, only two tall bar chairs...not good for a 2 year old
-one bedroom. the bathroom was in the bedroom rather than off of a common area
-We planned on putting our two year old to sleep in a crib in the bedroom. Because the room was so small, we had to rearrange furniture just to fit the pack & play in the room and the bedroom door then wouldn't open all of the way
-bedroom was tiny
-wireless internet worked about 50% of the time and then only when in the living area, sitting next to the sliding glass door, with the curtain open. If the curtain was closed or we were anywhere else in the room, we never got service. Service in building 2 seemed better as the antenna is located behind the restaurant, right next to building 2.
-refrigerator worked fine but cosmetically was a bit beat up...several nicks on the front and side that had begun to rust. It just felt well-used.
-the kitchen sink was similarly scratched and well worn. the faucet had separate hot and cold knobs and the top of the hot knob with the "H" had fallen off
-kitchen lacked a frying pan so we couldn't make the pancakes we bought at the grocery store
-sponge in the kitchen was very dirty
-we had only two packets of dishwasher soap left in the room and they were not replaced by the housekeeping staff when used up
-no kleenex provided in the room or bathroom...even at motel 6, you get tissues
-the toilet paper was some of the thinnest stuff you've ever seen...suitable for a truck stop on I-80...not a luxury resort
-soap, shampoo and conditioner were provided...nothing fancy but it does the job
-small security safe was provided with a key...it was fine but I prefer the electronic pin-type hotel safes...who needs another key to lose at the beach

Bugs
-when we landed, we were in the parking lot of the airport for perhaps 10-15 minutes...we were eaten up by mosquitoes
-later, we ate dinner at the resort restaurant and continued to be eaten up by mosquitoes
-apparently, when there is no breeze on the island, the mosquitoes and no-see-ums are pretty terrible. the resort used a chemical fogger as most do when there was no breeze to try to control them but they were losing the battle. For 5 of our 7 days, we didn't have problems with bugs because there was a good breeze.

Getting there
-resort is located on a gravel road...any car will do. you do not need 4 wheel drive.
-we rented a car from grace bay rentals...2nd year we've rented with them...they had a car for us at the airport. No need to drive to their office on grace bay to pick up or drop off.
-car was an older Toyota Camry with 75,000 miles. Clean and worked fine. Well used but much more spacious and cheaper than Hertz or Avis. I saved about $200 over a comparable car with Hertz or Avis.

Restaurant recommendations
-tiki hut - turtle cove
-baci - turtle cove
-coco bistro - grace bay
-las brisas - chalk sound - favorite

Hurricanes
-While Provo avoided a direct hit of any hurricanes in 2008, there was still minor evidence of damage
-Many of the palm trees had only small or sparse leaves. They appear to have lost their plumage in the storms.
-The famed palm canopy at Coco Bistro on Grace Bay was certainly less dense than in Dec 2007.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank weezieonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

I stayed at NWPR at the suggestion of my boyfriend...He said it would be "the most relaxing vacation you'll ever take" and he sure was right!!!
It was like having my own resort on my own island. The beach was mostly deserted...You could walk in either direction for at least an hour and never run into another person...I read, listened to my ipod and just relaxed! For me, it was better than a spa vacation! I'm still smiling!!!

Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank blondebeachbabe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2009

Northwest Point is amazing. It's relaxing, romantic, secluded, and offers many things to do. There are many beaches on Provo but I think the beach immediately outside of the resort was my favorite. We had a lot of fun snorkeling about 50 yards out, seeing all types of colorful fish, turtles, crabs, and of course the reef itself. The pool area is beautiful and relaxing. The staff is friendly but not overbearing, and the other tourists were just as nice. I recommend going out and just stargazing at night. I've never seen so many stars in my life, and it's an amazing sight to see. I would definitely go back to Provo and I wouldn't think of staying anywhere but Northwest Point.

Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AhmedNguotwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

We were looking for a good beach experience without crowds and big hotel hassle, and that's what you get at Northwest Point.This is an extremely well managed condo complex with about 50 units of varying size in two buildings. There are no other resorts on this long stretch of beach. It is not like staying in a full service hotel, but does include some daily basic housekeeping service and a poolside bar with simple fair food service.The very small staff is well trained and friendly, and the two onsite senior managers are always available to help guests. Getting to the airport or to the restaurant areas is a 20 car ride including a long unpaved road to the resort. The road however is well maintained, very wide and arguably the safest on the island. We saw some really aggressive drivers and a slew of accidents, so you want to drive defensively. On restaurants, we went to several highly rated by TripAdvisor reviews including Simba, Grace's Cottage, Bay Bistro , da Conch Shack and Las Brisas. They were all pretty much as described by the reviews. Our favorite, however, has not been reviewed on TripAdvisor, or at least I couldn't find it, and that was Baci Ristorante on Turtle Cove. Great food, a varied menu from local fish with an Italian touch to excellent pizza, nice atmosphere on the water, good service and a friendly and enthusiastic manager. Go early and drive around the cove and out on the little peninsula behind it, interesting large homes. Simarlarly, Los Brisas overlooks Chalk Sound and there are some new large residences furthur up the road. Overall we enjoyed our visit and will likely go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lpugdeeeqazzzxvbbbbmmlkkii88z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2009

We just returned on the 29th. Unfortunately we stayed during a unusually windy week. The wind wouldnt shut off until the day we left...isnt that how it always goes? But...the resort is wonderful, the staff is really wonderful, yes, even Mike. hehe Cant say weve stayed at a freindlier resort, even though they were having some plumbing issues, (which did not affect us), digging every day, all day it seemed like, they still would stop and say hi. Even the owner of the resort was getting dirty, that tells us that he really wants his resort to succeed. The grounds are lovely, lots of color and conch shells of course. We stayed in 206 the first night, a 1 bedroom with views of the ocean and pool area. But it was a 1 bedroom so the rest of our stay we were in 309. Nice view of ocean but not pool area. But we did get to see the kite-boarders (?), in action. They park to the east of the resort along the beach most mornings flying kites. The rooms were satisfactory, clean and with all the amenities that we wanted.
As far as the drive is concerned its not that bad, 10 minutes to the millenium highway. We found that being we rented a car we ended up seeing alot more of the island than if we had stayed on Grace Bay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnhotl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2009

We just returned on 3-29 for a week stay in a 1 bdr oceanfront with 1 child. Mike is great at helping out with check in and taking care of your needs. He found a rental car for us when the airport was out of cars...he even gave us a ride to pick up the car. Personal attention was fabulous! We had a relaxing week going between the pool, beach which were very uncrowded and met lots of nice couples. Only negative on the pool was the water was very cold and we had a very windy week (25mph winds). Be prepared to spend some cash on food anywhere you go, the least expensive meal we had all week was 55.00 for lunch! Be sure to visit the beach on grace bay and i recommend the caicos dream boat tour with snorkeling, lunch and a visit to half moon bay. We are so ready to go back!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbugs66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
7.8 mi away
La Vista Azul Resort
La Vista Azul Resort
#35 of 45 in Providenciales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
10.2 mi away
Caribbean Paradise Inn
Caribbean Paradise Inn
#22 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
11.3 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#11 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#19 of 45 in Providenciales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#23 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
8.7 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwest Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwest Point Resort

Property: Northwest Point Resort
Address: 1 Davies Bight Road, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Northwest Point Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northwest Point Resort is located on 16 miles of white sand beach on the northwest marine park on the main island of Provo in Turks and Caicos. The resort is private, affordable and offers guests a relaxing vacation. With an oversized heated pool and jacuzzi tub the resort is ocean front. Condo's are fully furnished suites. Kitchen amenities include fridge, stove, washer dryer, dishwasher, King, Queen and single beds. Condos have multiple bathrooms and all of them have balconies with spectacular views of the ocean. The Caribbean inspired suites are spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. Linens are included and any offsite activities can be organized by our staff at the request of our guests. Enjoy strolling our private beach or relaxing on lounge chairs pool side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Northwest Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northwest Point Hotel Providenciales
Northwest Point Providenciales
Northwest Point Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing