We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth it all!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Northwest Point Resort
Ranked #33 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Indy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“worth it all!”
Reviewed 22 June 2009

This was our favorite time away. We really enjoyed the location, facilities and staff (they're awesome!). It was a perfect 30th anniversary celebration. We loved the condo (and included patio), beaches, pool, kayaking, snorkeling, swimming, dining (thanks for the tips!) and work out room.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogozinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    101
    26
    12
    13
See reviews for
95
177
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2009

My wife and I spent 10 days at Northwest Point Resort during our honeymoon. We rented a unit direct through the owner that included a small SUV for our use during our stay. We only had to take a cab when we arrived and departed (from/to the airport). We loved the secluded location of the resort. The grounds were well maintained with beautiful plants and flowers. The unit was nice and spacious with a full kitchen, living room, bedroom, and bathroom with washer/dryer (my wife is picky about bathrooms and it was fine for her). Sliding glass doors opened onto a balcony from both the bedroom and living room. The bedroom also had a small safe. Our balcony faced the Northwest and we were on the second floor with a great view of the ocean. We had wireless internet access from inside the living room which worked good most all the time, as well as satellite TV which occasionally would lose certain stations depending on the hour of night. We shopped at IGA multiple times, cooking and preparing meals in our unit’s full kitchen for all of our breakfasts and most of our lunches, which saved us lots of money. We ate out for most all of our dinners.

The swimming pool was nice and clean with both a shallow and deeper end (6 or 7 foot), and a neat little waterfall. The deck boardwalk out to the beach was often populated with small lizards (we named them bobble head lizards because of how they bounced their heads up and down). We saw these lizards all over the island. A nice large hammock was located in a gazebo at the end of the walk which leads from the beach back toward the pool. The beach is nice and wide, and was raked of seaweed with a tractor every morning. The water was crystal clear with both sandy bottom and sea grass areas. Cabanas lined the beach with plenty of reclining beach loungers. One thing missing was built in tables on the cabana posts, which would have been nice to set drinks. If you wanted to use the kayaks you just had to see the bartender/cook at the restaurant to sign out some paddles, but be warned those kayaks are heavy and not easy to drag back up from the beach! Thank goodness another kind guest helped me with one. There is a small coral reef about a hundred yards straight out from the end of the boardwalk to the beach. We saw some nice coral and small colorful fish when we snorkeled. There is also a sandbar not too far up the beach toward the Northwest on which you can walk out hundreds of yards and still only be waste deep in the ocean (I recommend water shoes).

The wind is almost always blowing at the resort, which was awesome. It keeps you nice and cool, and it keeps most all of the mosquitoes away from the beach. However the heavy rains of late resulted in the bugs being out in full force anywhere away from the beach and we made mad dashes to and from the vehicle in the parking lot anytime after sunset even with lots of bug spray on! I would suggest a rental car to allow access to other parts of the island, we adjusted to driving on the left side of the road quite easily, but have your passenger constantly remind you when making turns just to be safe. It is easy to forget when leaving a parking lot. We never once felt unsafe anywhere on the island. There are street lights along the dirt road to the resort but they were never lit. The drive to from the resort is completely dark for about 15 minutes on all of the dirt section and part of the paved highway.

The resort was quiet and peaceful with the sounds of the wind and ocean and very little light pollution. The only notable noise resulted from someone on the first floor who frequently slammed the door exiting their unit. The Central AC worked great, but was a tiny bit loud when running. Overall Northwest Point Resort is a fabulous value with only a few minor negatives. It’s a little worn compared to newer resorts, but still very nice. Our unit had blinds that you could see through from outside if the interior was lit, but I don’t know why anyone would want to look in anyway. The bed and pillows were a bit hard, the linens were a bit stiff, and the ceiling fan was too noisy to use in the bedroom at night. The bathroom towels were in need of replacing but thank goodness our unit had two nice beach towels, because we forgot to pack ours! I told the unit owner about the noisy bedroom fan and he told me he would have it replaced soon.

Picky vacationers accustomed to luxurious standards need not apply, but if you’re looking for a great secluded location in Provo Turks & Caicos that offers what you need at an incredibly affordable price, we would definitely recommend the Northwest Point Resort!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bsly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

We just returned from a week at Northwest Point. We couldn't be happier. It is about 20 minutes outside of the main Grace Bay area. However, its location was a plus for us. It ensures that it is quiet and relaxed. The grounds were beautiful with a wonderful beachfront where you could relax all by yourself. We had a one bedroom suite which had plenty of room and fully stocked kitchen and washer and dryer, which comes in handy. Even though we really liked the location, grounds and room, the service was the best part. Mike, Mary and everyone were most helpful whether it be scheduling diving or giving some advice on snorkel spots or other excursions. They make Northwest Point the great spot that it is.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snorkeling-Jayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, KS
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2009

My wife and I traveled to the Turks and Caicos Islands with another couple last year. We found a great deal staying at the Northwest Point Resort. We all enjoyed the stay because of the great price, the wonderful accommodations, and the friendly service. The only trouble with this resort is that it is out of the way. It is a 20-30 drive along gravel road to shopping and restaurants.
But the beach at the resort is great and the snorkeling was good. If you like a quiet place to relax and unwind, this is a great choice!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toddWallentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, NJ
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Our family of five stayed at the Northwest Point Resort during spring break. The suite was great, with lots of room, which is a definite plus with teenage children. It was very clean. The staff were wonderful and attentive, and helped arrange our excursions.

The area itself was quite secluded and absolutely silent at night (except the sound of the ocean). With a rental car, we could go where we wanted - it's a pretty quick drive to anywhere on the island - and then return to the Northwest Point to get away from the crowds, relax, and do some snorkeling. There were times when we were the only people on the beach or at the pool. Definitely a good choice!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0S0x1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2009

We just returned from 7 days at Northwest Point on our honeymoon. We stayed in Unit 207, an oceanfront 2-bedroom condo ( we were upgraded), with a wraparound balcony. Great views from our condo! We were very happy with it and definitely loved the fact that we had a kitchen and washer/dryer. We said many times during our stay that we were happy that we had decided to pass on the ridiculously overpriced Grace Bay hotels. The value at Northwest Point can't be beat, and furthermore it's located at the tip of the island, away from all of the crowds. We rented a car from Grace Bay Car Rentals, very friendly and they had our car waiting as soon as we walked out of the airport. It was only a 15-20 minute drive from the airport, most of it to the hotel is paved, with only a short distance of gravel once you reach the end of your trip.

For most of our seven days, we saw only a handful of other guests, it was amazingly quiet! We loved this! We felt like we owned our own resort and were "allowing" a few other guests to hang out! :-) We ate a few times at the grill located at the hotel. They have things like chicken fingers, hamburgers, french fries, fish fingers, etc. Most items are in the $10 range, much cheaper than other restaurants on the island. We didn't have any problems getting food there, and if the cook was busy and away, all you needed to do is give her a call and she would come. She was great!

The pool and hot tub are open 24/7. There are a few cozy hammocks on the property for your use.

We ventured into town one night and went to Provo's only movie theater and saw "X-Men." It was nice to see a movie on our island vacation!

As far as the prices of food go on the island, watch out! Prices are at least double of the US, and since they fly in a lot of their food, it definitely shows in the ticket prices. If you can bring some laundry detergent from home, or things like that, it would definitely help. For example, we went to the IGA on our first day there and stocked up on a few items. The store has just as much variety as a regular US grocery chain. However, prices are sky high! Peanut butter for $5.00, a bottle of ranch salad dressing for $8.00. Some of our favorite restaurants-Hemingway's, Da Conch Shack, Tiki Hut, Sharkbite, Baci, Las Brisas, and Horse Eye Jack's. Be prepared for a $50 lunch and at least $75-100 dinner depending on how much alcohol you drink. We also loved the Infinity Bar and the Lounge at Grace Bay Club. A super cool place to hang out and have drinks.

Overall, we would definitely return to Northwest Point. If you are a diva, don't stay here. But if you like having the best of both worlds, having a kitchen and cooking a little, but then room service cleaning your dishes for you, and washing clothes when you need to, but having room service help keep your beach towels washed and dried, or staying oceanfront with pockets of turtle grass and pockets of clear white sand, that is still raked everyday just like the big resorts, then book your condo now! Mike, the resort manager was wonderful and gave us some great recommendations. Go visit him and enjoy the view!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, MS
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

Absolutely beautiful. If you are looking for a natural unspoiled postcard place to relax and enjoy the scenery and tranquility, it would be hard to do better than this. Clean, quiet, thoughtfully designed, amazing. We had a blast.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XDARKSTARX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
10.0 mi away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#17 of 44 in Providenciales
1,040 reviews
7.8 mi away
La Vista Azul Resort
La Vista Azul Resort
#35 of 44 in Providenciales
238 reviews
10.2 mi away
Caribbean Paradise Inn
Caribbean Paradise Inn
#25 of 44 in Providenciales
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Grace Bay Suites
Grace Bay Suites
#38 of 44 in Providenciales
261 reviews
10.2 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
1,972 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#23 of 44 in Providenciales
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwest Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwest Point Resort

Property: Northwest Point Resort
Address: 1 Davies Bight Road, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Northwest Point Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northwest Point Resort is located on 16 miles of white sand beach on the northwest marine park on the main island of Provo in Turks and Caicos. The resort is private, affordable and offers guests a relaxing vacation. With an oversized heated pool and jacuzzi tub the resort is ocean front. Condo's are fully furnished suites. Kitchen amenities include fridge, stove, washer dryer, dishwasher, King, Queen and single beds. Condos have multiple bathrooms and all of them have balconies with spectacular views of the ocean. The Caribbean inspired suites are spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. Linens are included and any offsite activities can be organized by our staff at the request of our guests. Enjoy strolling our private beach or relaxing on lounge chairs pool side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Northwest Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northwest Point Hotel Providenciales
Northwest Point Providenciales
Northwest Point Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing