We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful secluded resort, but too far from Grace Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Northwest Point Resort
Ranked #33 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2010

NWP was a very nice resort on the North West Point of the island. They had the best most affordable deal on the island. We got a complimentary rental car with our 4 night stay:) The service was o.k. Dwight was very helpful whenever we needed anything.

Our room was clean and very spacious with a full kitchen(which came in handy because of the distance to Grace Bay). We slept like babies every night with the sound of the ocean being the only noise we heard. We picked up some food, snacks and beer for our room at the IGA Store. We enjoyed late night TurkHead(local brew) on our balcony while playing some cards.

NWP's location is not ideal unless you only plan on leaving the resort once or twice. You absolutely need a rental car if you plan on going out to dinner every night. We drove into town twice a day and it wasted an hour of our day. If you go out to dinner, the drive home is not very comfortable. There are not alot of lights on the road so make sure you drive very slow. Going down the dirt road at night makes you feel like you are entering a horror movie(If you see Jason with a ski mask just step on it:) NWP's pool area was very clean and nice(pool was spotless).

Other then the location and the driving distance to Grace Bay we actually truly liked the resort. It's a great resort for peace and quiet. There beach is also very quiet and secluded. However, the water is not as clean and clear as it is on the other side of the island(Grace Bay Beach). Every morning a tractor skims the beach to clear off the seaweed(at exactly 7 every morning).

Next time we will definitely stay on Grace Bay, but for those who like seclusion and enjoy cooking their own meals on a tropical island(NWP is 100% for you).

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WineCountry-ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2010

This was our 3rd visit to Provo and our 1st to NW Point. We preferred the NWP resort location to Grace Bay beach as it is much calmer and quieter. If a visitor wants to hang out on Grace Bay, it's a 10 minute drive with many access points and lots of parking. The facilities and gounds are well maintained and clean. Our room was very nice and included a full kitchen, flat screen tv and washer/dryer. The best part of the room was the bed. We have traveled extensively and slept on some terribly hard/uncomfortable beds. The bed at NWP was exceptionally comfortable and since the resort has nice breezes, we slept with the windows and balcony doors open. A similar experience would be difficult to match elsewhere on the island. To be fair, this is not a 5-star property and visitors should not expect the pretense that accompanies luxury resorts. The NWP resort is a spectacular value offering a great Caribbean experience. The people that run and staff the reort of extremely helpful and accomodating.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

The bathroom was moldy, rugs filthy, paint chipping from the shower ceiling. never again

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luckyinnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tcireal, Resort Manager at Northwest Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2010

Thank you for posting your review and comments regarding your recent stay. Our guest reviews are very important to us whether positive or negative and as such we follow up on any serious comments that reflect negatively on the resort. Your comment is one in which we do not take lightly. We are not aware of any of our bathrooms in the condition you describe, carpets included, as we checked them all yesterday after being alerted to your review. Could you please kindly contact the resort manager at your earliest convenience and indicate which room you stayed in so that we many investigate your comments further. Thank you though for giving us high marks in both location and service.

Regards

NWPR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

We stayed at the Northwest Point Resort (NWPR) from December 9th to December 30th on our first vacation away from home during the Christmas season. The drive from the airport to NWPR is about 15 minutes, albeit on the left side of the road, and it is an easy drive - there is a dirt road for the last couple of minutes, but it is well groomed, and not all that different to drive on then their paved roads.

Upon arriving to the resort we were greeted by friendly staff, checked immediately into our suite and we're very happy with the furnishings - 32" lcd flat screen tv, dvd player, comfortable sofa, great bed, and a fully equipped kitchen with all the amenities of home.

The resort itself has a fantastic pool, around 45 feet at its widest point and about 65 feet long, which is great for swimming. The nicest thing for us is that the pool, while not lifeguarded, is open 24 hours a day, and with the beautiful weather during the day being spent at the beach it was nice to also be able to swim at night when we wanted.

The beach out front of the resort has a little seaweed at spots, but is very well maintained, has excellent snorkeling, great to swim, and the resort has multiple tandem (two-person) kayaks that you can take for offshore exploration (within reason) at no cost.

We also went down to the Grace Bay resorts (about a 15-minute drive) several times, but found that while the beach has some fantastic spots, it really felt over crowded at the resort areas - which is not what we felt at the NWPR beach, or other beaches in the area that the NWPR staff will gladly recommend.

The NWPR restaurant, headed by Chef Franko, served great, simple food, and made an absolutely fantastic turkey dinner for Christmas day, with stuffing, mashed potatoes and perfectly cooked turkey for everyone at the resort. They also make a great pina colada and are friendly and a pleasure to deal with.

We loved our stay, and recommend this resort to anyone that wants a little bit of seclusion, a great beach, fantastic rooms, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nepean_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

This is a great place to stay. The room came with a complimentary car, which is essential if you want to roam around the beautiful beaches. The resort is in the blue hills and you have to drive 5 minutes in no asphalt road, but it's ok, it's not a big deal, not even by night. You will have fun in driving a japanese toyota with right-side steering wheel.

The island is very relaxing and safe and this resort is the top if you need to have "a break". but even if you like night life, you are still at 15 minutes drive from Grace Bay, where all the hotel are (extremely condensed) and the sand is very very thin.

If you want to stay in the resort and relax... you can, you have miles of secluded beach, kitchen, dishwasher, washing machine with dryer, you are completely independent after you go to the IGA market near Grace Bay. You can virtually walk for hour in that beach and still be the only one...

Employees are always happy to help out, just ask. Cleaning service ok, clean room ok, security guard active at night, incredible view on the Milky Way by night. I will come back for sure, and this time for a whole week.

Adequate price for the stay, and you get the car as a bonus. Don't miss the chance to see all the beaches of the island. It is worth.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
Thank emattei777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

We stayed at Northwest Point for 12 days to celebrate our honeymoon. It was a perfect fit for us because it as if we had our own 1 bedroom apartment in the Caribbean. The staff gave us a warm welcome and we were pleased to find our suite to be spotless and comfortable. Although Northwest Point is a 25 minute car ride to Grace Bay, we didn't mind because with the complimentary rental ca,r we explored all the beaches on the island, checked out more local restaurants and found some of the most dramatic and private beaches to be close to the resort. We'd advise to just stock up on some basics like coffee, snacks etc. since the closest store is about a 15-20 minute drive. If you want to be catered to hand and foot and be in the center of all the action (mind you Provo is not party-central) this isn't your spot. However, if you want something affordable, clean and private and enjoy exploring, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

I was attracted to this reosrt by the older reviews. I am a senior from New York and a little intimidated by left side driving. I travelled with 2 British young guys in early 20's so this would be a challenge for most locations to accommodate such varied ages. All of us were completely satisfied. The staff is the firendliest I have met in decades of travelling. The actual rooms are provided with all amenities, allowing for a family stay in comfort. I have not seen this at most resorts. We could catch our own food from the ocean and cook it or eat every meal at the new open air restaurant staffed by a first-rate chef. The pool and hot tub are steps from the rooms as is the ocen itself. The wi-fi was working, although required some tinkering by the staff. One really did not need to drive with the excelling dining onsite but with the provided rental car everything was within a 30 minute drive. The islands are just 3 hours flight from New York non-stop. The fishing, scuba and other sports kept the young men busy, whereas the close quiet beach was a joy to me. It is true, like in all tropics, that when the wind gets quiet insects can be a problem., This can be relieved with protective measures which I find better than sprayed chemicals coming in the windows at night as I have experienced elsewhere. The beach has no crashing waves so parents can feel secure in letting the kids play in safety. I never felt insecure at any time, although in any foreign country some caution is needed. Since only dollars are needed here, there was no change in exchange rates to make prices unreliable and the stores carried the usual goods seen at home. I cannot say that about most other islands in this area.. Obviously language is also no problem for the english-speaking. I would highly recommend this resort for those looking for a quiet, safe and non-touristy place to stay. I would only caution against reliance on the locak taxi's. The cars are safe and the drivers friendly but the prices make most city taxi's at home look like bargains. A 20 minute taxi ride for 2 people can easily cost $36 without the tip ! Driving is simple with no traffic so it makes sense to use the rental car. Roads are of the usual British Colonial quality - i,e, primitive but still
quite convenient and since the place is so small nothing requires a long drive anyway..
If you want a place with no one hawking you for your money, with a nice quiet ambiance, with attractions for all ages, and a feeling of being in a familar setting, then this is a place you would like. If you want formal dining, dancing, and partying with casino and nightlife, it's not for you.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDGPTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
8.3 mi away
Aquamarine Beach Houses
Aquamarine Beach Houses
#29 of 44 in Providenciales
360 reviews
10.0 mi away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#16 of 44 in Providenciales
1,061 reviews
7.7 mi away
Neptune Villas
Neptune Villas
#1 of 1 in Five Cays Settlement
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#13 of 44 in Providenciales
591 reviews
10.2 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#17 of 44 in Providenciales
1,993 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#23 of 44 in Providenciales
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwest Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwest Point Resort

Address: 1 Davies Bight Road, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: £194 - £430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Northwest Point Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northwest Point Resort is located on 16 miles of white sand beach on the northwest marine park on the main island of Provo in Turks and Caicos. The resort is private, affordable and offers guests a relaxing vacation. With an oversized heated pool and jacuzzi tub the resort is ocean front. Condo's are fully furnished suites. Kitchen amenities include fridge, stove, washer dryer, dishwasher, King, Queen and single beds. Condos have multiple bathrooms and all of them have balconies with spectacular views of the ocean. The Caribbean inspired suites are spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. Linens are included and any offsite activities can be organized by our staff at the request of our guests. Enjoy strolling our private beach or relaxing on lounge chairs pool side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Northwest Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northwest Point Hotel Providenciales
Northwest Point Providenciales
Northwest Point Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing