We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pirates Buffet- don't do it!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in St. Croix
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pirates Buffet- don't do it!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We did not stay at Carambola- we heard about the Pirates Buffet called ahead of time got all the information...45$ a person lots of seafood & all other food. What they didn't tell us is when we got our bill there was a 20% service charge already included-- it was a buffet and we paid a 25$ tip for 3 people for nothing-- for them to clear our plates-- no drinks are included. Also the hot food was cold, it was packed & they never had enough food out & as for seafood it was shrimp cocktail or crab legs.... not my idea of seafood buffet. Extremely disappointing for 45$ a person buffet. When I complained about the fee they said sorry its a special buffet night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 15Mich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hi,
Wanted to respond to your review and say we're sorry you had a less than great experience at our Pirates Buffet. We usually get very good feedback. Our 20% gratuity is pretty standard at most hotels, but again we're sorry if you felt it was too high for what your received. Thanks again for sharing your feedback with us.

Warm regards,
Nancy Williams
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    382
    119
    63
    39
See reviews for
277
608
32
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dandridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

If you are looking for a place to get away and kick back and relax this is the place for it.

We booked this hotel at the last minute. We had originally planned to go to St. Thomas (which would have been our fourth time there) and at the last minute we changed and booked a trip here.

It is secluded and quiet and small enough that even if it were full (we hit it on a fairly slow week) I don't think it would be crowded. The location is beautiful and incredibly scenic, with the beach just a few steps from all of the rooms. All of the rooms are king suites with a sleeper sofa, mini fridge and microwave. The bathroom has a HUGE walk-in shower. The only negative about the room is that the placement of the AC makes it hard to keep the bathroom cool. There are 2 TVs placed so you can watch from the couch or the bed. There is also a nice screened in porch where you can hang out. Speaking of hanging out, there are several hammocks hung at the edge of the beach.

I would recommend renting a car if not for the whole time at least part of the week if you plan on exploring the island much, as a taxi to and from about anywhere will cost as much or more than a days car rental. The hotel can arrange the rental and have it delivered for you. Yes, they drive on the left in St. Croix which can be a bit daunting, but the traffic was not really heavy like it is on St. Thomas. We didn't rent as we were there to kick back and unwind. There is also a shuttle that runs to Christenstead severel times through the day which is cheaper than a taxi.

If you don't want to rent a car but still see the island, the hotel can arrange a tour of the island to get a little of the local flavor, and not have to try to drive on the wrong side of the road.

The food was great and the service while not fast (remember you are on island time) is outstanding, especially Diane. She waited on us two different evenings and was probably the best waitress we had there. The menu is a bit limited which is another reason you might want to get a car to take somewhere for dinner.

The beach is beautiful and the water is warm and clear. The snorkeling is good, but sometimes the waves make it difficult to get away from the beach to get to the reef, Once you do the visibility is great. The pool is about the same temp as the ocean (about 82 F) and is very nice. The only problem with the pool is if you are an early pool user, you might want to take a towel back to the room with you, This was especially true on the weekend when the hotel was busier, but not so much of a problem later in the week. The lobby usually has a few towels on hand if there are none at the pool. The only downside of the beach is that if you are going out to swim/snorkel there is a limited space where you can do that due to rocks and urchins on the rocks.

If you are into scuba this is a fabulous place. I tried their "discover scuba" which consisted of a short lesson in the pool to learn how to use the equipment, and then we went down to the beach, swam out about 75 yards and dove down and explored the reef up close, Mel, who did my lesson and went out to the reef with me, and Greg have a great operation there at Sweet Bottom Dive.

All in all, a fantastic place and we had a blast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biotcher38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I decided on this resort for our destination wedding after looking at the other hotel options on St. Croix. We loved the feel of this resort (it had the most up to date modern interiors and over all feel) When we were driving to the resort upon cresting the hill top we had some of the most breathtaking views of the Caribbean. The drive was pretty windy and the resort was a bit off of the beaten path but the feel was worth it.

When we checked in the ambience of the mezzanine with its ocean breezes and view of the sea made you just want to sit in a hammock and relax right away. The check in service was a bit slow but they made up for it with fresh drinks and a personal ride to our rooms. Our room was nicely put together and was right on the beach. We had several members of my family staying on the premises and each room was different in their amenities, which was a bit of a turn off.

Having a destination wedding and doing everything on my own was very nerve wracking and my experience with the first sales person was awful. Then Anne showed up and made everything absolutely wonderful!! She helped me out and made sure that everything was perfect. We had a bit of a weather issue when it rained on our big day, but she had a great back up plan at the ready and eased the stress immediately. She was WONDERFUL! I really don't know what I would have done without her.

It is imperative to get a rental car while in St. Croix, especially if you are staying at the Carambola as it is a bit out of the way from everything.

The worst part of the trip was leaving. We really did like it there and the locals we met were amazing and had wonderful stories to tell!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi Maggie,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a detailed review. So happy the wedding was a big success and glad to hear you enjoyed working with Ann. She always goes above and beyond for our guests and we get nothing but high praise for her.
Please let us know if you will make a return visits...our whole team will look forward to welcoming you back!
Warm regards,
Nancy Williams
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weeki Wachee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Both families gathered at the resort for a beautiful wedding. The rehearsal dinner was the Pirate Buffet and we had 39 guests. It was awesome, both the food and the entertainment. The Sunday wedding was perfect as well. Ann Weinheimer went above and beyond to help and always came through when we needed her. The resort was beautiful (rooms, beach, pool, dining areas) and the restaurant staff was outstanding. Check-in was welcoming. One area for improvement would be housekeeping (they seldom deliver ice and rooms are not cleaned until late in the day). I would recommend this resort highly for a wedding or other family or group gathering. Five stars from me!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrBean2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you so much for your great feedback on the wedding and entire stay with us. Yes, Ann Weinheimer is a GEM and we get so many compliments about her and our entire team. We hope you will come back and visit us again. I've passed your review on to our whole team and Ann was so happy to see your comments.
Warmly,
Nancy Williams
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at Renaissance Carambola this last week for a destination wedding. We arrived Wednesday, 18 June and departed Wednesday, 25 June 2014. The staff greeted us with rum punches as we checked in (non-alcoholic versions for non-drinkers/children). The check in process was fairly smooth. There were approximately 47-50 people in our group. All rooms (23 rooms) were within expectations of each guest. The vast majority of our group are seasoned travelers with fairly lofty expectations about vacation lodging. No complaints---which is pretty good coming from a group that size. Rooms were immaculately clean and very spacious. Some of our rooms easily accommodated (4) adults. We had rooms in each of the four room classes that the property offers. Ceiling fans and a.c. in each room. All rooms had refrigerators (some full-sized, some half-sized) and some rooms came with a small cook-top surface (pots, dish ware, flatware included) that we used for breakfast each morning. Beautiful grounds and Well maintained.
The property is on the north side of the island and somewhat secluded. If you plan to be off property frequently, car rental is suggested. We used Centerline Car Rentals.
This property has lots of aesthetic qualities that make it simply AWESOME, but the staff makes it second to None!!! From Maria, Alex, Kema, And Dee at the front desk to Ann, & Jacqui in Sales and Catering to Greg at the Sweet Bottom Dive shop (who also doubles as an ordained minister THANKS Greg!!!!! He filled in at the last minute when we couldn't find our minister--can you say---lifesaver!!), Tiffany and Mr Carrington in reservations, all of the wait-staff and bartenders, the housekeeping ladies and gents, to the ladies that monitored the gate entrance......WE SALUTE YOU!!!!!! Thank you SOooo much. You made our stay worthwhile!!!!!

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are quiet, with the only noise being the sound of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank La_Kaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We visited this gorgeous property in early May, although we did not stay here. We enjoyed lunch and a wonderful late afternoon and evening spent snorkeling and relaxing on the beach. The grounds are very well maintained and the beach is breathtaking!
Service and staff were wonderful and friendly at the beach bar restaurant. My husband and I split the turkey club with fries (which they put on two plates for us) and my daughter ordered the fried calamari. It was plenty of food and very good, with great presentation.
The beach was one of my favorites on the island and we had some of the best snorkeling here. We got to swim with a sting ray and saw several different fish of all sizes. There is a perfect sandy bottom beach for swimming, if you walk down the beach just a bit.
This is a wonderful and scenic part of the island and I wouldn't hesitate to visit again or stay here!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenandkenontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Fannie Flagg and I visited St. Croix from June 18 – 24, 2014. We would stay here again, tomorrow.
We stayed at the Renaissance Carambola and rented a jeep from Centerline Car Rental. The best way to explain our visit is with a Match Game question: Fannie and Gene went to St. Croix for their 30th wedding anniversary and had a BLANK. The answer is “a very large time!”.
First about Fannie and Gene. We are 50, give or take (Fannie’s slightly under), very active and moderately traveled in US and Caribbean and Europe. We have not stayed in St. Croix before, but have stayed in St. Thomas, Vieques and Aruba in the Caribbean (and Cabo San Lucas in the Pacific), in case a comparison is needed. Gene is a Marriott Platinum member.
Renaissance Carambola. Other reviews mentioned that the villa/building matters and that seems to be the case. We stayed in 255, probably in the top 2 or 3 buildings (building 25), certainly as far as beach front and beach access is concerned. The room was beautifully furnished, spacious and we loved the screened-in porch; kitchenette, where Fannie and Gene concocted many beverages during our 6 night stay. The bathroom was excellent, especially the very large shower. The housekeeping was terrific, never hovering, and always seeming to know when we were out of the room during mid-day to tidy up the room.
Some of the very excellent hotel staff are: Christine (concierge) who helped with directions to restaurants, pool towels, once, excellent room location; and Maria and Carmen at the front desk who are very friendly; Akim who took our luggage and Fannie’s large stash of booze, to the room; Alex with local knowledge, and Pablo at the Flamboyant bar. Don’t forget about Ms. B at the hotel gift shop, where one can find food, drink, and Goya mixers for Fannie’s rum.
Other items about the resort. The restaurant (and there is only one) had a good selection of dishes, very fresh and with beautiful sunset views. The actual place where you would eat lunch or supper is at the Flamboyant Bar (indoor and outdoor seating). Gene enjoyed the conch chowder at least 3 times (he might have lost count). The seared tofu was also most excellent; understandable why the Renaissance has received vegetarian awards. One thing we notice about the Renaissance as well as other restaurants were the size of the portions – we shared quite often, possibly due to prior rum drinks occupying space, but nonetheless, serving sizes at all of the restaurants reviewed were remarkably large.
Some reviewers mentioned the lack of umbrellas on the beach. That is not a problem; there really is only 1, but there is plenty of shade from trees, and that it better shade. Also, we found beach/pool towels plentiful all but one day, and that is when a simple stop by the lobby and chat with Christine resolved that.
We hiked to the tidal pools which were very interesting. Probably a 2.5 – 3.0 hour event, including getting in the pool and relaxing and drying off. The hike is not difficult, basically a single-track bike path that has some altitude changes. You can get a map from the lobby, or simply walk around to the right of the tennis courts and you can’t miss the wooden bridge and trail head sign “Trail” to the right.
We also rented snorkeling gear for $14 each per day at the dive shop, on property. That was money well spent, but we are not snorkeling types and it took a bit of practice to relax. It really is easy to swim out to the orange buoy that marks 50 yards to “the wall”.
And we played Frisbee® golf which is set-up in the green spaces of the resort. Nice!
OK, now some quick words about other places, mainly bars and restaurants and really, all were excellent. There are really only 3 places close by (2+- miles): EAT, Waves, and Off the Wall.
EAT. We had a drink here once and lunch/drinks another time. Beautiful view; great staff, clever menu and simply a very fun place. Our waiter was Chewbacca, who has been there 13 years; he was great. We had wonderful hamburgers, and that’s saying a lot since Fannie fancies herself a vegetarian. We recommend it.
Waves. We had supper here; a pretty elegant place, probably best reserved for your fanciest night; yet still casual. Incredible views (tables are a few feet from the breaking wave below) and great service. Fannie had muscles and seafood linguini, and Gene had mahi mahi, along with calamari and puff pastry appetizer. We recommend it.
Off the Wall. We just had a drink here; but really enjoyed it. It is on the sea side of the road and has a few tables and a bar. We recommend it.
Slightly further away.
Rowdy Joe’. This place is especially excellent. We were here twice; once for drinks and once for drinks/lunch. The fried edamame (teriyaki and sirachi) were incredible and Fannie had fish tacos and Gene had a cubano sandwich. We played darts both times were here; Gene 1, Fannie 1. We have to go back for the rubber match (game). We recommend it.
Mt. Pelier/Domino Club. (The beer drinking pigs). You have to see this to understand it. The waitresses are excellent; bar is full of colorful locals, and of course, the pigs. Fannie fed the pigs some beer and it is really fun. It’s about 15 minutes from the Renaissance, and well worth the trip. We suggest a Pain Killer, followed by a shot of Mama Wanna (local medicinal concoction); we had ours served over ice cubes. We recommend it.
Further away.
Christiansted is about 30 minutes (13 miles). It is an interesting town, we think similar to a lot of Caribbean towns; small streets, jewelry and dress shops, tourist shops and a very nice boardwalk.
Rum Runners. We especially enjoyed Rum Runners, largely due the really incredible conch fritters…we went back just for them. Also, Fannie enjoyed the lobster salad. Also Gene enjoyed the fried mahi mahi sandwich. Again, the portions were really huge. We recommend it.
Angry Nates. We had a drink at Angry Nates and it was ok, but we don’t have enough experience to recommend it. It has a good reputation and was recommended by some folks we ran into.
Turtles. This is in Fredericksted; a great deli with about 4 tables under trees overlooking a serene Caribbean bay. Again, we shared a “Rachel” (Reuben (Kincaid) with slaw) and chips and a beer. We visited here on the way to the airport from Carambola. We didn’t otherwise see or do anything in F’sted, but we recommend Turtles.
Grocery Stores.
These are interesting. You really should rent a car and stock up on rum, breakfast goodies, water bottles and beer. There are several stores on Route 70; perhaps the best, and on the way from the airport to the Renaissance is Plaza Market.
Summary.
We were here 7 days and had only wonderful times. We were always comfortable in our surroundings and the people, without exception, were very friendly and helpful.
Finally, Gene’s tip of the day; if you are traveling here from the states, you don’t need your passport, but having it makes it easier. For example, when departing the island, they don’t know if you are foreign and got to St. Croix via some other means, so they want you to fill out immigration forms and show a passport. Gene asked, and one can enter and exit from the US with a driver’s license only, but apparently it’s easier with a passport.
Fannie and I welcome any questions, and if you are considering going to St. Croix and staying at the Renaissance Carambola, as you can tell, we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The higher the building number the closer to the beach - we were in building 25 out of 26. The sing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank geneRayburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Croix hotels
10.6 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
8.6 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Address: | Estate Davis Bay, 00851-3031, St. Croix
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Croix
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Croix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort And Spa
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Hotel St. Croix
Carambola Beach Hotel
Carambola Beach Resort
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing