We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Secluded”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in St. Croix
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Our family just returned from eight days at the Renaissance Carambola. What a wonderful resort!! Nestled in a little valley, surrounded by the hills of the rain forest and a crescent of beautiful beach along the Caribbean sea, the location is absolutely gorgeous! We never tired of the view from the hilltop as you drive in or out! That being said, be aware that this resort is quite secluded. There are several good restaurants within 10-15 minutes but you WILL definitely need a car unless you don't plan to leave the resort - which you would be quite happy doing, but with so much to see and do on St. Croix you'll probably want to get a car!

We were greeted at check in with rum punch and refreshing lime water in the lobby. The grounds are gorgeous and immaculately maintained. The beach is secluded and BEAUTIFUL and the pool was never crowded. They had a little trouble keeping up with clean towels but nothing that was unmanageable. Hey, you're on vacation surrounded by the beautiful, lush rain forest and the Caribbean sea... if you have to wait a bit for a towel, just sit back and enjoy the scenery!

The resort is made up of numerous buildings, each containing 5-6 "rooms", which adds to the very private and secluded feel of this resort. Our family had two of the three rooms on the second floor of one building. I don't think we ever saw anyone else coming or going from the other rooms even though they were occupied; it was just so private! The rooms themselves are really more like villas, each one having a main living area, a kitchenette, a nice-sized bedroom, a LARGE bathroom and a lovely screened-in porch. If you can, request a second floor room; these rooms have beautiful wooden vaulted ceilings that add to the openness and ambiance of the British-colonial decor. The rooms are very well-appointed and I was impressed that along with the standard room features (coffee pot, blow dryer, iron, robes) they also thought to include convenient little amenities like mosquito repellent and umbrellas! My favorite feature of the rooms was the gorgeous and relaxing screened in patio ~ our family spent many hours relaxing out there, playing cards, having breakfast, and taking naps with the sights and sounds of the ocean and rain forest right outside. Also so convenient were the kitchenettes! We went to the grocery store the first day and stocked our full-size refrigerator with drinks, snacks, and breakfast items. With a two-burner cook top, a small dishwasher and a microwave, the kitchen was functional enough to accommodate all of our breakfasts, a few lunches and even a simple dinner or two for our family of five. That really helps the budget as it's quite expensive to eat-out there!

Speaking of dining out, we only ate at the restaurant one night... for the Friday night buffet and show. While the buffet was very extensive and quite good, I felt it was a little expensive ($45 per person, NO drinks included - not even alcohol-free drinks) and probably would have enjoyed a meal at one of the many gourmet restaurants on the island more for the money we spent. We mainly went to the buffet for the show (moko jumbies & fire dancers) which we later figured out any guest could watch on the patio without dining at the restaurant. TIP: Skip the buffet but definitely go to the Friday show ~ it's a little cheesy but it's essentially free (bring tip money for the performers) and worth a walk over!

There is NO QUESTION that if we return to St. Croix we would most definitely stay at this resort again!! I would highly recommend it for both couples and families!! Enjoy...

ON A SIDE NOTE: There is a great dive shop conveniently located on-site. Please also see my review of the Sweet Bottom Dive Shop!! We had some great lessons and dives with them!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are very private. We were in building 8 - great location, close to parking, lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Staciesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Wow! Thanks for taking the time to write such a wonderful and comprehensive review of your recent stay. I must say you covered everything beautifully! Sounds like you really enjoyed everything the wonderful things the island has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort!

Warmly,
Nancy Williams
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

791 - 797 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

We did not stay at Carambola- we heard about the Pirates Buffet called ahead of time got all the information...45$ a person lots of seafood & all other food. What they didn't tell us is when we got our bill there was a 20% service charge already included-- it was a buffet and we paid a 25$ tip for 3 people for nothing-- for them to clear our plates-- no drinks are included. Also the hot food was cold, it was packed & they never had enough food out & as for seafood it was shrimp cocktail or crab legs.... not my idea of seafood buffet. Extremely disappointing for 45$ a person buffet. When I complained about the fee they said sorry its a special buffet night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank 15Mich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Hi,
Wanted to respond to your review and say we're sorry you had a less than great experience at our Pirates Buffet. We usually get very good feedback. Our 20% gratuity is pretty standard at most hotels, but again we're sorry if you felt it was too high for what your received. Thanks again for sharing your feedback with us.

Warm regards,
Nancy Williams
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

If you are looking for a place to get away and kick back and relax this is the place for it.

We booked this hotel at the last minute. We had originally planned to go to St. Thomas (which would have been our fourth time there) and at the last minute we changed and booked a trip here.

It is secluded and quiet and small enough that even if it were full (we hit it on a fairly slow week) I don't think it would be crowded. The location is beautiful and incredibly scenic, with the beach just a few steps from all of the rooms. All of the rooms are king suites with a sleeper sofa, mini fridge and microwave. The bathroom has a HUGE walk-in shower. The only negative about the room is that the placement of the AC makes it hard to keep the bathroom cool. There are 2 TVs placed so you can watch from the couch or the bed. There is also a nice screened in porch where you can hang out. Speaking of hanging out, there are several hammocks hung at the edge of the beach.

I would recommend renting a car if not for the whole time at least part of the week if you plan on exploring the island much, as a taxi to and from about anywhere will cost as much or more than a days car rental. The hotel can arrange the rental and have it delivered for you. Yes, they drive on the left in St. Croix which can be a bit daunting, but the traffic was not really heavy like it is on St. Thomas. We didn't rent as we were there to kick back and unwind. There is also a shuttle that runs to Christenstead severel times through the day which is cheaper than a taxi.

If you don't want to rent a car but still see the island, the hotel can arrange a tour of the island to get a little of the local flavor, and not have to try to drive on the wrong side of the road.

The food was great and the service while not fast (remember you are on island time) is outstanding, especially Diane. She waited on us two different evenings and was probably the best waitress we had there. The menu is a bit limited which is another reason you might want to get a car to take somewhere for dinner.

The beach is beautiful and the water is warm and clear. The snorkeling is good, but sometimes the waves make it difficult to get away from the beach to get to the reef, Once you do the visibility is great. The pool is about the same temp as the ocean (about 82 F) and is very nice. The only problem with the pool is if you are an early pool user, you might want to take a towel back to the room with you, This was especially true on the weekend when the hotel was busier, but not so much of a problem later in the week. The lobby usually has a few towels on hand if there are none at the pool. The only downside of the beach is that if you are going out to swim/snorkel there is a limited space where you can do that due to rocks and urchins on the rocks.

If you are into scuba this is a fabulous place. I tried their "discover scuba" which consisted of a short lesson in the pool to learn how to use the equipment, and then we went down to the beach, swam out about 75 yards and dove down and explored the reef up close, Mel, who did my lesson and went out to the reef with me, and Greg have a great operation there at Sweet Bottom Dive.

All in all, a fantastic place and we had a blast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biotcher38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I decided on this resort for our destination wedding after looking at the other hotel options on St. Croix. We loved the feel of this resort (it had the most up to date modern interiors and over all feel) When we were driving to the resort upon cresting the hill top we had some of the most breathtaking views of the Caribbean. The drive was pretty windy and the resort was a bit off of the beaten path but the feel was worth it.

When we checked in the ambience of the mezzanine with its ocean breezes and view of the sea made you just want to sit in a hammock and relax right away. The check in service was a bit slow but they made up for it with fresh drinks and a personal ride to our rooms. Our room was nicely put together and was right on the beach. We had several members of my family staying on the premises and each room was different in their amenities, which was a bit of a turn off.

Having a destination wedding and doing everything on my own was very nerve wracking and my experience with the first sales person was awful. Then Anne showed up and made everything absolutely wonderful!! She helped me out and made sure that everything was perfect. We had a bit of a weather issue when it rained on our big day, but she had a great back up plan at the ready and eased the stress immediately. She was WONDERFUL! I really don't know what I would have done without her.

It is imperative to get a rental car while in St. Croix, especially if you are staying at the Carambola as it is a bit out of the way from everything.

The worst part of the trip was leaving. We really did like it there and the locals we met were amazing and had wonderful stories to tell!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Hi Maggie,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a detailed review. So happy the wedding was a big success and glad to hear you enjoyed working with Ann. She always goes above and beyond for our guests and we get nothing but high praise for her.
Please let us know if you will make a return visits...our whole team will look forward to welcoming you back!
Warm regards,
Nancy Williams
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Both families gathered at the resort for a beautiful wedding. The rehearsal dinner was the Pirate Buffet and we had 39 guests. It was awesome, both the food and the entertainment. The Sunday wedding was perfect as well. Ann Weinheimer went above and beyond to help and always came through when we needed her. The resort was beautiful (rooms, beach, pool, dining areas) and the restaurant staff was outstanding. Check-in was welcoming. One area for improvement would be housekeeping (they seldom deliver ice and rooms are not cleaned until late in the day). I would recommend this resort highly for a wedding or other family or group gathering. Five stars from me!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrBean2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you so much for your great feedback on the wedding and entire stay with us. Yes, Ann Weinheimer is a GEM and we get so many compliments about her and our entire team. We hope you will come back and visit us again. I've passed your review on to our whole team and Ann was so happy to see your comments.
Warmly,
Nancy Williams
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at Renaissance Carambola this last week for a destination wedding. We arrived Wednesday, 18 June and departed Wednesday, 25 June 2014. The staff greeted us with rum punches as we checked in (non-alcoholic versions for non-drinkers/children). The check in process was fairly smooth. There were approximately 47-50 people in our group. All rooms (23 rooms) were within expectations of each guest. The vast majority of our group are seasoned travelers with fairly lofty expectations about vacation lodging. No complaints---which is pretty good coming from a group that size. Rooms were immaculately clean and very spacious. Some of our rooms easily accommodated (4) adults. We had rooms in each of the four room classes that the property offers. Ceiling fans and a.c. in each room. All rooms had refrigerators (some full-sized, some half-sized) and some rooms came with a small cook-top surface (pots, dish ware, flatware included) that we used for breakfast each morning. Beautiful grounds and Well maintained.
The property is on the north side of the island and somewhat secluded. If you plan to be off property frequently, car rental is suggested. We used Centerline Car Rentals.
This property has lots of aesthetic qualities that make it simply AWESOME, but the staff makes it second to None!!! From Maria, Alex, Kema, And Dee at the front desk to Ann, & Jacqui in Sales and Catering to Greg at the Sweet Bottom Dive shop (who also doubles as an ordained minister THANKS Greg!!!!! He filled in at the last minute when we couldn't find our minister--can you say---lifesaver!!), Tiffany and Mr Carrington in reservations, all of the wait-staff and bartenders, the housekeeping ladies and gents, to the ladies that monitored the gate entrance......WE SALUTE YOU!!!!!! Thank you SOooo much. You made our stay worthwhile!!!!!

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are quiet, with the only noise being the sound of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank La_Kaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We visited this gorgeous property in early May, although we did not stay here. We enjoyed lunch and a wonderful late afternoon and evening spent snorkeling and relaxing on the beach. The grounds are very well maintained and the beach is breathtaking!
Service and staff were wonderful and friendly at the beach bar restaurant. My husband and I split the turkey club with fries (which they put on two plates for us) and my daughter ordered the fried calamari. It was plenty of food and very good, with great presentation.
The beach was one of my favorites on the island and we had some of the best snorkeling here. We got to swim with a sting ray and saw several different fish of all sizes. There is a perfect sandy bottom beach for swimming, if you walk down the beach just a bit.
This is a wonderful and scenic part of the island and I wouldn't hesitate to visit again or stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenandkenontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Croix hotels
10.6 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
7.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
217 reviews
8.5 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#12 of 14 in Christiansted
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
501 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,437 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Address: | Estate Davis Bay, 00850, St. Croix
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Croix
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Croix
Price Range: £169 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a tropical oasis at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa. Our resort in St. Croix, US Virgin Islands offers a one-of-a-kind luxury setting within the foothills of a lush tropical rainforest. We sit only steps away from the pristine sands of Estate Davis Bay and our oceanfront resort offers easy access to many exhilarating outdoor activities in St. Croix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort And Spa
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Hotel St. Croix
Carambola Beach Hotel
Carambola Beach Resort
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing