We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Educational and FUN!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Thru Kayaks VI

Sea Thru Kayaks VI
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: BIOLUMINESCENT BAY TOURS in the only clear kayaks on St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands and only one of two operators using clear kayaks in the world. Visit our bay at Salt River National Park which is currently being studied by the National Park Service and Dr. Michael Latz of Scripps Institute California. Experience the bay that the scientific community was unaware existed until a year ago and now is being called possibly the best of the six or seven year round bioluminescent bays in the world. Our see through boats are the best way to view this definitely better than swimming through it.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Educational and FUN!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I sent an email to inquire about the tours. Craig was very helpful as my group ranged in age from 21 to 80 and were first time kayakers. We went on the Best of both Worlds Morning Tour and had a great time. Bryce made sure we were safe at all times, gave clear instructions, and kept my sister out of the Mangroves...ha, ha. The Lagoon is fascinating, and Bryce pointed out wildlife and creatures we would have missed on our own. Both in the Lagoon and the Sea, we were able to clearly see the world below us, and Bryce brought creatures to us to touch and see up close. I echo the other reviews....don't miss this tour if you have the opportunity to do it. We all agreed it was one of the highlights of our visit to St.Croix.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seathru, Owner at Sea Thru Kayaks VI, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Bryce and I would like to say thank you for taking our tour and also for taking the time to post a review. Glad you enjoyed the "Best of Both Worlds" tour and hope to see you again. Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    10
    4
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The only way to do a bioluminescent excursion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We did a bioluminescent tour with Sea Thru Kayaks and this, in our opinion, is the only way to go. Being able to see through the bottom and sides of the kayaks, we didn't miss a single aspect of this amazing experience. There aren't many places in the world where one can do a bioluminescence tour, so doing this with Sea Thru Kayaks is an absolute must for any St. Croix visitor.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OnBoardKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seathru, Owner at Sea Thru Kayaks VI, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We would like to thank you for coming out with us and much thanks for taking the time to review us. Glad you enjoyed the light show that god has given us in this bay. Hope to see you again. Best craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arezzo, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bioluminescence spectacular! Don't miss this!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Bioluminescence spectacular!

My daughter and I did this tour with six of her pals who she recruited to go along. It was a group of athletes who had competed the day before in the St. Croix Half-Ironman. The group was fun and the guides witty. There are two people in each kayak. After paddling through the estuary seeing partially sunk boats and hearing the history of the island and waiting for it to get dark, you paddle into the bay where the bioluminescence is strongest.
Here’s the drill. With your partner, paddle as fast as possible to warp speed then stop padding and put your face to the bottom of the see-thru kayak. You will feel like you are experiencing hyper speed in Star Trek or Space Mountain at Disney World, only this is for real!!
Have your kayaking partner paddle while you stretch your fingers out over the side. You’ll create brilliant strands of white unless you bump a jellyfish (non-stinging). Those light up bright green. Scoop on the surface and you are likely to come up with a jellyfish.
The guides offer you the opportunity to swim in the bioluminescence. If you are comfortable swimming in dark water with lots of sparkling tiny marine life, go for it. I was the oldest of the group and the first in the water. I wouldn’t have missed the chance! There were only a few who chose to take the dip. Just remember that those would go in the water must also get out of the water into the kayak. So pull yourself up and dive into the kayak…..remember those sea lions at the beach, zoo, Sea World. You’ve got the picture. That’s the form you want. Don’t worry about smashing your face on entry, the bottom of the kayaks are smooth.
I could wax on regarding the science behind this (I am an oceanographer), but here it from Bryce.

Don’t miss this. Go on a clear calm night with little moon; the darker the better.


MJ

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MGWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seathru, Owner at Sea Thru Kayaks VI, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We would like to thank you for coming out with us. Glad to hear that you as a school science teacher who teaches about bioluminescence was able to experience our bay the WORLDS BRIGHTEST bio bay. As far as us swimming in the bay I believe that will stop shortly,this being due to not only the potential harm to the extremely fragile dinoflagellate from bug spray,perfume, lotions etc. on swimmers, but also the dangers and hazards to swimmers from marine life. Mosquito Bay Puerto Rico's glow has almost entirely disappeared and it was called the brightest bio bay in the world. Belief is the disappearance of the glow was caused by allowing people to swim in the bay. Currently there is a court injunction prohibiting the use of Mosquito Bay by anyone. Mosquito Bay was the second largest money making attraction in all of Puerto Rico so the economic ramifications are huge. Our bio bay which has been unknown to the world until now is the BRIGHTEST BIO BAY IN THE WORLD according to analyzed data by the worlds leading bioluminescent scientist. We want to preserve our bay and keep this world class attraction alive so our children and our visitors from around the world can continue to marvel at it's brilliance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, IN
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Great way to end our trip. The guide, Bryce, was very knowledgeable and entertaining. The bay was full of glowing plankton, and we caught a few jelly fish as well. This tour is a must, and the sea thru kayaks the best possible way to see the bioluminescence.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KaraKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seathru, Owner at Sea Thru Kayaks VI, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Bryce and I would like to thank you for coming out with us. Glad you enjoyed the jellyfish show. We have the brightest glow of all the bio locations in the world and we also are the only location with multiple glowing organisms. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
182 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just after sunset, we kayaked to the most remote area of Salt River and the stars were everywhere, above and below! The glowing plankton and jellyfish burst with bright flashes as our kayaks and paddles touched them. Amazing!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seathru, Owner at Sea Thru Kayaks VI, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for coming out with us. Yep the place is alive with glowing critters. We are about to be discovered by the world with a symposium involving the worlds leading shallow water bioluminescence authority Dr. Latz from Scripps Institute and scientists from four major marine biology universities in conjunction with the National Park Service will present to the public here their findings from this past six months water samplings from bio bay. The numbers are WOW !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Thru Kayaks VI also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Sea Thru Kayaks VI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing