We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go to Isaac, skip Jack”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Isaac Bay

Isaac Bay
Ranked #17 of 107 things to do in St. Croix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You need a four-wheel-drive vehicle to get here, but it's well worth the trip to this scenic and secluded beach, perfect for swimming, and a barrier reef for snorkeling.
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Go to Isaac, skip Jack”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We walked down to Jack beach (the further beach) first but it was really shallow and grassy, not great for snorkeling or swimming. The sand there was really fine and silty, as soon as you stepped onto a sandy part it clouded up the water so we hiked the half mile back to Isaac bay. The surf was a little rough but swimmable and the snorkeling was decent. There were other people there but very few (manybe 8 other people in the 2 hours we stayed) Bring water and wear shoes as there are plants with thorns near the path down. FYI- we spoke to the steward of Isaac and Jack Bay (this area is owned by the nature conservancy) and there are NO snakes on St. Croix- something that crossed our minds as we hiked through the tall grasses to the beach so no worries!! the hike is beautiful so bring your camera (or at least don't leave it in the car)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CloverAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    19
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
chapel hill, nc
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“isaac bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

we went early to beat the heat. awesome hike down to pristine private beach and some big coral snorkeling. def bring snacks, towel, wate shoes and water. park on right before point udall and leave car unlocked with nothing in sight. stunning views!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mina07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An unspoiled paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Looking for a mile (or so) of beach all to yourself? It's available at Isaac Bay! A 20 minute hike down from Point Udall descends to this breathtakingly beautiful beaches. Be aware: there are no facilities, no shop to by snacks or beverages, no life guards. Just crystal clear water and gentle waves.I recommend hiking down mid-morning to beat the heat. Just remember to take your sunscreen and water bottles...

Helpful?
Thank khaludi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Hike in, bring water and snacks, find shade under a tree, snorkel in calm, crystal clear waters, see pretty much no one else the entire time. Sigh.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank bubbles8892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Well worth the easy and short hike. We have snorkeled many sites before and found the coral, fish, and water clarity to be just about the best of anywhere we've been. No rays or turtles, but many species of fish including large schools as well a a couple of big barracudas! Also super private with just a few other people on the beach.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Isaac Bay also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Isaac Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing