We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it!”
Review of Point Udall

Point Udall
Ranked #4 of 107 things to do in St. Croix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This rocky promontory, the easternmost point in the United States, juts into the Caribbean Sea and features "The Castle," a huge mansion perched atop the cliffs and which resembles India's Taj Mahal and a Moorish mosque.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“loved it!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

You must go if you arevin st croix. The view is breathtaking! Many reviews I read mentioned safety of your car, but if you are just visiting point udall then your car is right in front of you the whole time. We took the hiking trail from there to isaac and jack bay, so we had to leave our car there. It was no big deal. There was a little bit of graffiti on the monument which is really a disappointment in the humans who did it, but it didn't take away from the beauty of the site.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2377donna9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    169
    54
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing sundial”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

When we drove up to this monument it kinda looked alien but we realized it was a huge sundial to the mariners this was a fantastic attraction a must see while in st Croix

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rcairjam-Rhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Views nice, monument bizarre, BUT unique”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Where else can u be the furthest .......... Highest......(mt. Danali) Lowest.......(death valley). So why not be at the furthest east of US territories. Unique, nothing special and u must be smart. Don't leave car locked OR with anything IN it. Drive out is pretty and u pass a giant telescope. If u have the time do it, you will enjoy. Just don't move heaven and earth to squeeze it in or u will be dissatisfied.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank IdoLove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiansted
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a must see!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Point Udall is a great place for everyone. It has amazing views of the ocean, jack and issacs and the beach down the left side which i just call Udall beach. It's a great place to relax. When I first moved to St. Croix, I thought it would be the coolest thing to be the first in the United States to see the sunrise. It is, it's really amazing watching to sunrise. If you are on St. Croix you need to check out this spot! & it's free too :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JordanB464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Sunrise!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I came to Point Udall to watch the first sunrise on the east coast of the United States. It was spectacular, as were most visuals on the island.

The monument is fairly remote, so I did have to get up early (around 4:00), and drive in the pitch black on unfamiliar roads, but it was a beautiful and quiet way to start the day. Point Udall has a reputation for being dangerous, and I was advised not to go alone, but because of it's geography, there were actually several groups of sun worshippers already there when I arrived in the pre-dawn and I never felt unsafe. If you do find yourself alone, or the company threatening, it is possible to stay in your car, or circle the monument and head back down the road - just use your head.

If you love to watch the sun rise, or enjoy these kinds of unique island experiences, I highly recommend you give it a try.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Point Udall also viewed

 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 

Been to Point Udall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing