We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spectacular views and very proximate to most everything”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Croix
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Reef Golf and Beach Resort
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This is an extremely well maintained property with golf course, pool, beech, condo store and deli, tennis courts and a beachside upper scale restaurant all withint a few hundred yards.

Room Tip: It is not technically on the beach although it is so close one can nearly touch it. The images are...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smalltowntravelerPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for The Reef Golf and Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

The Reef is a gorgeous development on the quieter and safe east end of the island. It has a fun golf course and many amenities. We stayed in a one bedroom villa (#143) named Dreamy Island Villa. It was super nice with updated furniture, WiFi, Wii, two split ACs that were whisper quiet, Temperpedic bed, and it had a ultra quiet Honda generator for any power outages. The view overlooks the golf course fairway and down over the turquoise water and breathtaking Buck Island. There is a nice constant breeze there and both the patio and the pool area are terrific places to completely relax. The complex has its own beach with hammocks and lounge chairs which is really nice. Down by the beach is the best seafood place on the island called Duggans where we ate several times. Next to the golf shop is another great little BBQ restaurant called Good Spirits also with some convenience items. We loved the location of The Reef as it is near some of the best snorkeling bays and also the Divi Casino is close by. There were several other tasty restaurants nearby called Blue Terrace, Mahis, Deep End, and two bars and a gas station only a few minutes away. We drove into Christiansted a couple times for dinner, but really enjoyed just being out on the east end of the island more. The golf was super reasonable, $15 for 9 holes in the Caribbean with ocean views, wow! Another thing we really liked was the St Croix Yacht Club is adjacent so we could have our boat docked and ready for day trips to Buck Island or snorkeling a several amazing reefs. We loved it so much there, we are going back in a few months!

Room Tip: The one bedroom villas that are right on the golf course have unobstructed views. Many of the villa...
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grande_Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2010

What do you say to no cell phone coverage, very limited internet access, and constant power outages? The bathrooms were claustrophobic and the air conditioner barely cools off the unit and you will learn how to sweat profusely. The unit itself is such a long drive from town where everything is happening. The air conditioner barely cools off the unit and you will learn how to sweat profusely. You can't rely on taxis out on the end of the island and there are no buses as there are on St. Thomas. Very isolated and the beach was nothing to brag about as it was all seaweed after you walk into the water. The beach is not walking distance from the rental as the owners clearly stated. The only thing we liked was the proximity to the casino. Not my idea of a vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bellbevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2007

I've just returned from 10 glorious days at the Reef Golf and Beach resort in St. Croix and had a wonder ful time. I stayed at Villa Virginia which is a lovely villa with a private patio which faces the golf course and has the most extrodinary ocean view. The Villa was immaculate, very comfortable and well equipped. The owners were quite attentive, calling me upon my arrival to make sure that I arrived safely and that everything was in order when I arrived.

The Reef is a lovely gated community on the East End of St. Croix with a golf course, pool and beach. It was the most relaxing vacation of my life. I took walks on the Reef beach in the morning, read on the patio, shopped and explored several lovely beaches on the island including Shoys, Chanay Bay , Divi Beach tand the beach at the Buccaneer Hotel. They are all beautiful, but the beach at the Buccaneer does charge $4.00 pp to get in but they allow you to use their chairs. Duggans Restaurant right on the Reef property is fantastic but pricey. The Deep End bar at the Tamarinfd Reef hotel is also a good choice for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Point Udall is a definite must see, it's the easternly most point of the US owned territory and has incredible island views.

I definitely plan on visiting St. Croix again and would definitely stay at the Reef again. I would highly reccommend it to anyone who wants to get away from it all and just relax!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank CCGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2006

My wife and and I stayed at Villa Virginia at the Reef on the East End of St. Croix for a week in October and had a wonderful time. The Reef is a beautiful gated resort community complete with a 9-hole golf course, a big pool and quiet beach. I would definitely recommend this resort and this one-bedroom villa. The patio faces the golf course which makes it very private and has a great view of the ocean. My wife and I enjoyed coctails on the patio and just looking at the ocean. The week before we arrived, St. Croix had quite a bit of rain and some flooding but the weather was beautiful while we were there. The locals were very happy about the rain, apparently it hardly ever rains like that. It rained a few times whiel we were there but it was quick showers. The Villa has a full kitchen with a gas grill outside which definitely saved us money on meals. I would recommend Cheesburgers in America's Paradise for a good burger and beer. A bit more expensive but worth trying are Duggans at the Reef and the Restaurant at the Buccaneer hotel. This was our second trip to St. Croix but our first staying at the Reef. We will definitely go back again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank OfficerRTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2006

My husband returned from a 10-day stay at the Reef Golf and Beach resort on April 29, 2006 and had a wonderful time. The Reef is located on the East End of St Croix which is beautiful and serene. Our 1-bedroom loft villa was confortable, tastefully decorated, and immaculate. The villa had a full kitchen which saved us a great deal of money on food; we ate breakfast and lunch in, and many evenings had a candle lit BBQ and a bottle of wine (Or frozen Rum Drinks) on the patio. The view from our patio was beautiful, overlooking the complex, the golf course and the water. The beach is within walking distance and there is a great restaurant, Duggans right on the beach. The deli and convenience store on the property came in very handy for a quick replensihment of supplies. There is also a 9-hole golf course, a pool, and tennis on the premises. The beaches on St Croix are beautiful and uncrowded. Definitely check out Sandy Point on the West End. Its a turtle nesting sanctuary and is only open on the weekends. The day we were there, we saw only 5 other people the entire day and the water was so warm it was like sitting is a spa. All the beaches were beautiful, Shoys and Grapetree Bay are also great for swimming and snorkeling. We had a great vacation and will definitely go back to St. Croix next year. We've already reserved the same villa again for next year. I would highly recommend St. Croix and the Reef has everything you could possibly want from a vacation.

10  Thank vmfnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Croix hotels
4.0 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
7.2 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
216 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
499 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,427 reviews
0.8 mi away
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Golf and Beach Resort

Address: 5000 Teague Bay, 00820-5256, St. Croix
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Speciality Lodging in St. Croix
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
The Reef Golf And Beach Hotel St. Croix
The Reef Golf And Beach Resort St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing