We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The virgin islands at their best...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Croix
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Reef Golf and Beach Resort
Washington, DC
1 review
“The virgin islands at their best...”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed at The Reef this past New Years for a week. We love the east end of St Croix and this is the perfect spot to vacation. The view of the Caribbean and Buck Island is dreamy as are the occasional rainbows. Relaxed away the days at the pool and a bunch on the beach. Lots of great lunches at the Good Spirits deli and fantastic dinners at Duggans and Blue Water Terrace. Our 1 bedroom unit we rented called Dreamy Island Villa had a nice big Weber BBQ that we grilled lots of fresh fish on that we caught one day. My wife spent every morning out on the patio just enjoying her coffee and the view and we completely relaxed in total comfort. The villa was fully stocked and even came with snorkeling gear and golf clubs to use. Definitely going back in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mschroed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
12
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We spent a week here and it was wonderful. We stayed at Dreamy Villa (Unit 143) which is beautifully remodeled, very comfortable (great a/c) and has an amazing view of the water. The owner has it well-stocked with all kinds of gear for your trip (including golf clubs and snorkel gear) and a very useful guide/overview of St. Croix. The location is great, too, just a few minutes to Christiansted and close to some excellent restaurants and beautiful beaches and bays. We highly recommend it and will be back!

Room Tip: Stay in the same unit we did - Dreamy Villa, Unit 143.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We just spent a month at the Reef. It really depends on which condo you stay in. Our's was rundown but we were able to visit some of the other units and some are spectacular. The golf course is a joke. 9 holes, short and not maintained well. The greens are like putting on a WalMart parking lot and the fairways are mostly rock. The pool is one of the nicest we have ever been in. A nice deli, great beach, and a fine restaurant are REAL close.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackstrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Amazing little restaurant right off the main road for breakfast with a great value. Stopped here two mornings since we had such a large group to have breakfast before our journeys around the island. Shop has everything you may need for any day trip. Beach across the road has great views of buck island and a quiet place to get away from it all

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unityfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
152 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This is an extremely well maintained property with golf course, pool, beech, condo store and deli, tennis courts and a beachside upper scale restaurant all withint a few hundred yards.

Room Tip: It is not technically on the beach although it is so close one can nearly touch it. The images are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smalltowntravelerPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The Reef is a gorgeous development on the quieter and safe east end of the island. It has a fun golf course and many amenities. We stayed in a one bedroom villa (#143) named Dreamy Island Villa. It was super nice with updated furniture, WiFi, Wii, two split ACs that were whisper quiet, Temperpedic bed, and it had a ultra quiet Honda generator for any power outages. The view overlooks the golf course fairway and down over the turquoise water and breathtaking Buck Island. There is a nice constant breeze there and both the patio and the pool area are terrific places to completely relax. The complex has its own beach with hammocks and lounge chairs which is really nice. Down by the beach is the best seafood place on the island called Duggans where we ate several times. Next to the golf shop is another great little BBQ restaurant called Good Spirits also with some convenience items. We loved the location of The Reef as it is near some of the best snorkeling bays and also the Divi Casino is close by. There were several other tasty restaurants nearby called Blue Terrace, Mahis, Deep End, and two bars and a gas station only a few minutes away. We drove into Christiansted a couple times for dinner, but really enjoyed just being out on the east end of the island more. The golf was super reasonable, $15 for 9 holes in the Caribbean with ocean views, wow! Another thing we really liked was the St Croix Yacht Club is adjacent so we could have our boat docked and ready for day trips to Buck Island or snorkeling a several amazing reefs. We loved it so much there, we are going back in a few months!

Room Tip: The one bedroom villas that are right on the golf course have unobstructed views. Many of the villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grande_Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2010

What do you say to no cell phone coverage, very limited internet access, and constant power outages? The bathrooms were claustrophobic and the air conditioner barely cools off the unit and you will learn how to sweat profusely. The unit itself is such a long drive from town where everything is happening. The air conditioner barely cools off the unit and you will learn how to sweat profusely. You can't rely on taxis out on the end of the island and there are no buses as there are on St. Thomas. Very isolated and the beach was nothing to brag about as it was all seaweed after you walk into the water. The beach is not walking distance from the rental as the owners clearly stated. The only thing we liked was the proximity to the casino. Not my idea of a vacation.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bellbevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Croix hotels
4.0 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
6.1 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#4 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
0.8 mi away
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
7.9 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Golf and Beach Resort

Property: The Reef Golf and Beach Resort
Address: 5000 Teague Bay, 00820-5256, St. Croix
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Speciality Lodging in St. Croix
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
The Reef Golf And Beach Hotel St. Croix
The Reef Golf And Beach Resort St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing