We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & Beautiful East End of St. Croix”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Croix
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Reef Golf and Beach Resort
Reviewed 26 May 2012

My family stayed at Unit 143 of The Reef. We found it a perfect place to relax on spring break. The views of the water and Buck Island were fabulous. Our boys wandered The Reef, catching lizards and meeting the neighbors. Speaking of the other residents, they were amazingly welcoming of us, even though we were obviously just visiting.

We enjoyed our place, I think it was called "Dreamy Island Villa". It was outfitted with everything we needed, even extra sunscreen.

The Reef has good amenities: a couple places to eat, nice peaceful golf, a nice pool, etc. It's just very friendly and relaxed, not overly resorty like some places.

The Browns

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Dan111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

Just got home from our third trip to St Croix. After having some disappointing stays at several of the hotels, we went through VRBO and stayed here. We had played golf out here before and ate at the nearby restaurants so we knew we loved the east end of the island. So happy to have finally found a great one bedroom villa to rent and stay at in the future. Completely redone and having everything we needed we were super satisfied. We loved that the walls of the majority of villas are not shared with other places. So many rentals on the island share walls or roof/ceilings and you hear your neighbors like a hotel. Not here and it was a nice peaceful private stay. Terrific view and close to great snorkeling. We did the Buck Island sailing tour from the nearby St Croix Yacht Club and highly recommend that. We truly loved the spacious and comfortable villa and look forward to staying there on our future trips.

Room Tip: Based on other recommendations here on Trip Adivsor we rented Dreamy Island Villa #143 and it was ul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caribbean_Fisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Stayed: May 2012
5 Stars - overall
5 Stars - individual categories


The Reef is a lovely vacation spot on such a scenic part of the island. Stayed a week and wish it could have been 2 or 3. We had a nice one bedroom villa called Dreamy Island and its all that. We played lots of golf and chilled out on the beach. Barbecued lots of fresh fish and just met a lot of nice people there. One day we did a fantastic snorkeling trip and then came back and just read a lot around the pool. Missing those warm breezes already

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALASKANDYINGFORSUN!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Our family rented a one bedroom villa for a week and just totally took advantage of everything the place has to offer: Golf, pool, beach, warm breeze, restaurants, snorkeling, sunshine, sailing, and casino. The pool house was super useful with the kids and we just loved our newly remodeled villa. The large private travertine tile patio was great for yoga. Best part of The Reef is its out on the east end where its gated, quiet, and safe.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarknAnne_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

These villas are located in the nicest part of the island. My husband and I really loved staying here. We rented a one bedroom for a week with a lovely patio, nice view, and played golf almost every morning. Then chilled out at their beach or on the pool every afternoon. We needed a break from the rat race an this place was terrific. Found our lovely villa on VRBO. We BBQ'd a couple nights on their big Weber and ate down at the two wonderful restaurants the other nights. Snorkeled a bit too and saw some fantastic tropical fish and corals. Great value and beautiful spot. Hope to go again next season.

Room Tip: The one bedroom units that have a front row view are by far the best value. Get one with two A/Cs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy_Cali_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed at The Reef this past New Years for a week. We love the east end of St Croix and this is the perfect spot to vacation. The view of the Caribbean and Buck Island is dreamy as are the occasional rainbows. Relaxed away the days at the pool and a bunch on the beach. Lots of great lunches at the Good Spirits deli and fantastic dinners at Duggans and Blue Water Terrace. Our 1 bedroom unit we rented called Dreamy Island Villa had a nice big Weber BBQ that we grilled lots of fresh fish on that we caught one day. My wife spent every morning out on the patio just enjoying her coffee and the view and we completely relaxed in total comfort. The villa was fully stocked and even came with snorkeling gear and golf clubs to use. Definitely going back in the near future.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mschroed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We spent a week here and it was wonderful. We stayed at Dreamy Villa (Unit 143) which is beautifully remodeled, very comfortable (great a/c) and has an amazing view of the water. The owner has it well-stocked with all kinds of gear for your trip (including golf clubs and snorkel gear) and a very useful guide/overview of St. Croix. The location is great, too, just a few minutes to Christiansted and close to some excellent restaurants and beautiful beaches and bays. We highly recommend it and will be back!

Room Tip: Stay in the same unit we did - Dreamy Villa, Unit 143.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Croix hotels
4.7 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,437 reviews
14.6 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
18.5 mi away
Sand Castle on the Beach
Sand Castle on the Beach
#2 of 3 in Frederiksted
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#12 of 14 in Christiansted
128 reviews
6.8 mi away
Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort
Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis ...
#10 of 14 in Christiansted
74 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Golf and Beach Resort

Address: 5000 Teague Bay, 00820-5256, St. Croix
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Speciality Lodging in St. Croix
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
The Reef Golf And Beach Hotel St. Croix
The Reef Golf And Beach Resort St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing