We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Impressive - mediocre service”
Review of The Mermaid

The Mermaid
Ranked #25 of 104 Restaurants in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bellefonte
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not Impressive - mediocre service”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I ate at this restaurant twice. One time we had salads, which were quite good, aind the second time sandwiches. I had the steak sandwich, which was good, and my wife had the Brie sandwich, which was repellant. We told the waitress and she stared at us for a minute and could only offer, "some people like it." Overall the service was very poor. She didn't offer to take another order for my wife and spent a lot of time standing around, not looking at us when it came time to pay the check. The first time the service was better, but still slow and not especially good. The atmosphere is nice, it's on the beach, but unless you are already at the Buccaneer and desperate, I'd pass.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    62
    24
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The one night a week for dinner-don't do it!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

They made an attempt to offer a seafood buffet with beachside serving and entertainment with fire dancers. The $35 per person charge is way to much for what they serve. Not everything was horrible. But certainly was cold, due to being served outside. There was chicken served also, but only dark meat. The service was not so great. But if you don't want to leave the resort, just order room service. It will be less expensive.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank pattyinsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
110 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beachside dining under a roof”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Great selection of lunch fare, open from 11am to 5pm, which is a shame because it would be a great place to have dinner! You are right on Mermaid Beach. Service was really good, food yummy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank dkp213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Perfect location for lunch”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The location--right on a gorgeous beach at the Buccaneer hotel is why people go here. And most recently the food has been much better. We had the steak salad and the caribbean chicken salad and two planter punches and it was really very good. The service was excellent which isn't usually the case here. We also had the flatbread veggie pizza--and it was ok, not crispy like it should have been. But the location will keep us coming back time and again. We eat lunch then we lounge in the chairs on the beach and swim. It's perfection. Honestly I don't even care what I eat--

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terese C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volin, South Dakota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A view and atmosphere to die for”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Our first meal on St. Croix was at The Mermaid. Having just arrived at The Buccaneer, our porter whisked us away to the Mermaid for lunch. Having spent a full 24 hours traveling, we stepped into The Mermaid and caught our first real taste of the scenery of St. Croix. It took my breath away. The weather was simply perfect (I think it always is in St. Croix) and the open sides of the restaurant took advantage of that. Our food was OK, but pricey for what it was. We had a green chile and conch chowder which was served in a shallow bowl. About 4 slurps and it was gone. The ribs were served in a small portion and with little sauce. The fries, however, were excellent. Over the week that we stayed at The Buccaneer, we had several drinks from The Mermaid, served by the ever bubbly beach server, Tammy. The drinks were always good, but not great and quite expensive. I imagine it's hard to serve great drinks on the beach. They water down before you even deliver them. We also tried to partake of the Seafood Buffet one frustrating Monday night. We had reservations and even though there were many, many tables open in the main dining area, the hostess wandered around then stopped at a table crammed in the corner by the bar and grill station. There was nothing on the table: no salt and pepper, no pretty floral arrangement, no silverware. We asked for a different table and she told us we couldn't have one because of the reservations...but we had a reservation...and the main dining tables were all empty. Who knows what was going on. The staff was obviously over-run and under-prepared. For the 15 minutes we were there, there was no food available. The guy who was supposed to be frying shrimp and some other fish had just walked off. When I asked if he was coming back, I was told they were "pre-prepping" him, whatever that means. We left, sensing a disappointment brewing. The bottom line on The Mermaid is: one goes there for the atmosphere and convenience. It delivers on both of those points. The food, however, is lacking and expensive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theaddledcowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mermaid also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to The Mermaid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing