We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Buccaneer St Croix
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, NC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This was our third trip to the Buccaneer in 6 years. We started going there because of the kids program for our then 7 year old daughter. The Buccaneer is a very quiet resort that has gotten even more so which was great for us. Our spring break is earlier than most so there were just enough kids that our 13 year old made two friends. Because of a new flight from Denmark there were a lot more Danes which was nice.
St. Croix is undergoing some hardship with the loss of jobs from it's largest employer, but the island still has a lot to offer and the Buccaneer is a great get away.
Try spending half a day on the Jolly Roger Cat snorkeling at Buck Island. It is a wonderful outing.
Also Kendricks in Christiansted is wonderful for dinner as is Duggan's reef.
Eat at Cane Bay is the best lunch.
It is helpful to have a car if you want to explore the island.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms have terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBugsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    292
    63
    38
    30
See reviews for
411
607
32
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My B/F and I just took our first trip to St. Croix. We are a young couple under the age of 35 with no kids.

We stayed at the Buccaneer for 4 nights. The grounds and beaches are beautiful. The service was great. But the biggest downfall the this establishment is that it is a ten minute drive to town where all the bars/restaurants/ watersports are. So if you don't rent a car you have to spend about 10$ each way every time. Also taxis are unreliable and don't run past about 10:30. Also if you rent a car, they drive on the other side of the road which can be tricky.
For not being an all inclusive resort you are forced to stay and pay Manhattan prices for food.
In town it is much cheaper.

This hotel is not good for young couples with no children. It does not have a young crowd and the bar only stays open until 10. I was trying to relax on the beach but there were about 12-15 screaming children and there parents doing nothing about it.

This hotel should NOT be a location for a honeymoon or romantic get away.

I would suggest trying to find a hotel right in Christensted or the DIVI.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jackie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBoulanger, General Manager at The Buccaneer St Croix, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for your recent comments. The Buccaneer is one of the Caribbean's top wedding and honeymoon destinations. We host more than 200 weddings per year, and as many honeymoons, and have dedicated wedding and honeymoon planners among our staff. The Buccaneer is a self-contained destination resort, yet just five minutes from the town of Christiansted. Many of our guests sightsee and shop off-property, and many choose to stay at the resort to enjoy our many beach and sports amenities. Our guests tell us they enjoy the five-star service and serenity of The Buccaneer, as well as its spa, dining, golf, tennis and swimming pools. The resort also has three fabulous beaches, including the secluded Whistle Beach, where privacy and tranquility make it the ideal spot for weddings, relaxing on the beach, as well as the prime location for the private lunch included in our Romance package which is popular among anniversary and honeymoon guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stopped in for lunch and to enjoy the beach. A great resort at Terry at the grotto took extra special care of us. Enjoyed lounging by the pool drinking island drinks and the wonderful beaches. Deff worth a stop in. Very private and very friendly

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unityfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The Buccaneer was the perfect venue for my intimate destination wedding. The resort had breathtaking views overlooking the ocean and lush mountains. We had our ceremony on Mermaid Beach followed by cocktail hour and dinner at the Sugarmill. The Sugarmill is such a neat, unique venue. The open air stone structure added a lot of character to the wedding dinner.

Corinne was amazing to work with. She provided an awesome destination planning experience and was super knowledgeable about all of the vendors and the resort.

Every aspect of the wedding was executed flawlessly - the music, officiant, flowers, decor, food, wedding cake, photographer, and spa. All of their recommended vendors are top notch and provided the perfect complement to a caribbean wedding. They were professional and easy to work with during the planning stages.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. it was the ideal location for our destination wedding/wedding vacation with our families.

I highly recommend The Buccaneer :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed in the Doubloons and the room was great, a few steps from the beach with a beautiful view out the window and nice patio! The three beaches on the property were great to explore, all staff members were courteous. Food was good, lunch at the Grotto was actually the best meal out of the three.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RZolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The grounds are gorgeous - the beaches, pool, tennis courts are completely lovely. My room was terribly outdated and I was so disappointed. I felt like I was in a Motel 8. The ceiling fan did not work. The phone did not work. There wasn't a hair dryer in the room as the website states. The shower walls were covered in layers of built up soap and the drain cover kept sliding to the side. The flat screen tv was the size of my computer monitor. The floor tiles were broken and in need of repair (which I think will be replaced soon as the 3 rooms adjacent to mine were having new tiles installed, but that's about it.) The issues with the fan and phone were fixed, no apologies, no follow up. I was also disappointed with the lack of variety on the menus, same thing every day/night at each of the restaurants and I was there a week. On the positive side - I did enjoy the nightly music and the gorgeous surroundings. Walking was a pure joy as there was beauty everywhere you looked, and the occasional mongoose. Pat in The Terrace was the best waitress, very attentive and full of energy. The bellmen were very nice and eager to help. If you are going, check out your room first to make sure you are getting what you are paying for. I did mention my concerns about my room and received a smile - a very common response from the staff at this resort. No words, just a smile. I'm glad that I spent my time enjoying the beach and the view, that made up for the ugly room.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BTVGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Was here on a short business trip with my husband. All in all a very nice experience. This is an old historic property, Some rooms are definitely better than others. We were first in deluxe ocean view, right on the water. Not so deluxe. View is good, but does remind one of an old motel. The patio was most disappointing, room is strangely laid out and dark, nothing to recommend it. Also noise from adjoining rooms is bad. Could hear their conversation at all hours. For what we were paying, this was not acceptable, so we talked to the manager, Nadia, who is MOST helpful, and upgraded for great price to doubloon lower level--ok, now this is worth the price we paid. Even better would be the upstairs units, but below was good too. Overall, resort is beautiful, people are nice. Many Danish visitors who stick with their groups, very few children. Beaches are quiet and nice for swimming, with real palm trees for shade. Get Weston's painkiller at the Mermaid bar first thing. Do not worry about securing beach chairs,, there are plenty all day long. Lobster roll at Mermaid restaurant is good, breakfast was also very nice at the main house. We did not eat dinner there, went into town every night. Taxi drivers are all very good and Richi is the best, use him for your tour guide. Yes, they are expensive, but renting a car and driving at night could be dicey for a firstimer. Cruzan rum is excellent. Go on the Buck Island snorkeling trip with Llewelluns, they are small and very local, the best sailors and colorful! Call or email the concierge, Laura is great, and set up activities in advance. First day, do the 2 mile walking trail of the property to see everything, or play the golf course, otherwise you'll waste your time on other things and never see the whole gorgeous property. The golf course was in good shape and not difficult. Tim, the pro is a hoot. Just relax and go with the flow and you'll do fine.

Room Tip: Upstairs doubloon, those farthest away are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Debra1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
0.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
2.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
214 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
81 reviews
9.9 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buccaneer St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer St Croix

Property: The Buccaneer St Croix
Address: 5007 Shoys, Christiansted 00820-4536, St. Croix
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buccaneer St Croix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Buccaneer St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing