We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, relaxing, Caribean oasis!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Buccaneer St Croix
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Amazing, relaxing, Caribean oasis!”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

My wife and I recently travelled to St Croix for the Ironman 70.3 triathlon. I choose the Buccaneer because I had seen coverage of the race on ESPN and had seen the grounds on TV as the Ironman run course makes a loop through the grounds of the resort and it looked absolutely idyllic. I can tell you that after staying here (and running thru the resort grounds on race day!!) it did not dissappoint!

We unfortunately got in somewhat later than planned because of an airline delay, so were tired after a long day of travel from Baltimore, but we were welcomed graciously at the desk, offered deliscious fruit juice drinks, and were taken quickly to our room! We even got an upgrade! Our room was huge! We had two queen beds, a very large balcony overlooking the most beautiful bay and beach area, a large walk in closet with small refrigerator and one full bath with double sinks and a separate mirror sink area off the closet!! All the staff were graciously and friendly from the breakfast servers, desk attendants, concierges, to the turndown and cleaning crew! We were offered turndown service every night. And the staff were attentive to calling for cabs and helping to arrange for transportation as needed.

We truly enjoyed the included buffet breakfast spread!! It was served everymorning in the large open air balcony area with incredible vistas of the ocean and mountains of the island. It was complete with omelette station, bagels, fresh fruit, eggs, sausage bacon...the whole works. It got us started every day!! The only disappointment I had was having dinner in the restaurant in the great house on the first night. I wanted a pasta dish (to fuel for the Ironman race) and ordered a shrimp, pesto, pasta dish. Although it was tasty, it was pretty small, especially for the price! When we ate subsequently on resort, we walked down to the somewhat less formal (although everything is informal on the island) restaurant down by the beach area - The Mermaid. Here, we found the proportions somewhat larger with good service and a lovely open air view right down by the water!

Finally, this is a full resort! We enjoyed a game of tennis at the courts which were extra. But all the beach amenities were included gratis! We used the snorkling equipment to visit the very shallow pretty reef right off the beach as well and the sea kayaks! There are several beautiful beaches on the property. Although we don't golf, the golf course looked great. There are also numerous other lodging alternatives with several other buildings and villas on the property.

The Buccaneer is about 2 miles out of town from downtown Christiansted, although walking is a possibility to get there one must be careful on the road to remember to walk facing traffic (on the right because St Croix drives left) and there is no sidewalk for much of the way. Or the concierge is happy to arrange a taxi or van to and from town. Since we had our bikes for the race we rode to town many times. And make sure to try the Pickled Greek - the great greek food place about half-way in to town!

Overall, the Buccaneer was the best resort hotel/destination that I've ever been to! It deserves it's reputation and the photos and info on their website are accurate! http://www.thebuccaneer.com/

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irondoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    983
    292
    63
    38
    30
See reviews for
408
607
32
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fowlerville, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Just returned from a week at the Buccaneer and Loved it. Everyone was so friendly and wonderful. It's not if I'll be back it's when I'll be back. Would highly recommend this place ecspecially to first time island visitors they will help you with the best places to see a things to do.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbierifechilders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We originally booked into another hotel but ran away after one night and managed to get a room at the Buccaneer. This is a superb property: gorgeous grounds, staff that knows how to be attentive (and friendly) without being overbearing, beautiful views, great attention to detail, excellent included breakfast and a great golf course. Can't think of a single thing to criticize.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view rooms. Couple of extra bucks but you won't be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LG77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Placid, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Walking in to register you fell like you've gone back in time to the days when travel was a luxury. The staff at the front where extremity warm and friendly as is all of the staff from the maids to the manager. They all wanted to help.
Sitting in the dinning room you have a fantastic view of the western end of the island as well as Christansted and the Carribian. We found this to be the nicest hotel in the island

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the beach there are 4 rooms to a building right on the beach and each unit has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bbern1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My wife and I recently visited St. Croix and stayed at The Buccaneer. The room was immaculate,the inclusive breakfast was amazing, and the staff was outstanding. Since it was our anniversary/retirement vacation we were surprised to receive an upgrade to the Doubloon Suite. This is a gated complex on over 300 acres which makes it an extremely save place to stay. The beaches at the hotel were absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pemberton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I can't say enough positive things about this hotel. The stay was outstanding from the check in, taxi drivers, dinners, everyone was friendly, outgoing. You never once felt you were putting anyone out of their way. The rooms was just gorgeous. I would recommend this place to anyone goign to the area. What we miss most is the absolute friendliness of everyone there. If we ever go back to St Croix, this will no doubt be where we stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponchatoula, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The Buccaneer was outstanding on several fronts. Our room was luxurious with an excellent view (Doubloon next to Mermaid Beach). We spent most of our honeymoon on Mermaid Beach sunning among the palm trees and enjoying delicious mango smoothies and other rum specialties made by Dave our friendly bartender and served by Susanna our wonderful waitress. Dinner at the Terrace was outstanding, especially the award-winning lobster bisque and fresh tuna. Longtime waiters Ruby and Vasco did an excellent job each time we dined there. The golf course and tennis courts were beautiful scenery although we were too lazy to play. From Taxi drivers to cleaning ladies, the service was friendly and effective. All in all, the Buccaneer provided the perfect honeymoon. We cannot wait to return for family vacations.

Room Tip: Luxury Doubloons are worth the extra bucks. Great views and amenities right next to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parker L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
0.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
2.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
214 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
80 reviews
9.9 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buccaneer St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer St Croix

Property: The Buccaneer St Croix
Address: 5007 Shoys, Christiansted 00820-4536, St. Croix
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buccaneer St Croix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Buccaneer St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing