We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Buccaneer St Croix
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This place is amazing!! My wife and I stayed for a weekend in one of the beachside rooms. Beautiful view and wonderful room and beaches. Wow, we can't wait to go back again, but next time we want to stay longer!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the rooms at the beach, but I expect that all of the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

803 - 809 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

Our first visit to St. Croix - we were looking for a peaceful, beautiful place to celebrate our 30th anniversary and the Buccaneer exceeded our expectations. The landscaping and historical buildings on the property are well maintained - couldn't image a better location on the island. Ocean views from every direction. The beaches are spectacular and uncrowded. We had an oceanfront room with a huge picture window and private patio overlooking the sea. The room was spacious with comfortable bedding and modern bathroom. Snorkel equipment, rafts and kayaks are free for guests to enjoy. We ate several times at Mermaid, the beach front restaurant. Meals and service were fine, cocktails great at walk-up bar open all day long. The pool at Grotto Beach is very convenient to oceanfront rooms. Amazing sunset views right from our room or pool every night. Breakfast buffet included wide selection of fresh fruit and juices along with the usual eggs, meats, etc. Service each morning was top notch. I'd recommend a car for at least a few days to take in all the lovely scenery and enjoy a few special places (Savant!) to eat on the island. We found a great market nearby (Schooner Bay) for snacks and drinks - not much open after 9 pm. There is an evening reception with entertainment and the opportunity to meet the owner who clearly takes great pride in this very special family owned resort.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are spectacular - very private and spacious. bit of a walk up the hill for breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MiasFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The Buccaneer was amazing all around from the staff to the grounds. We stayed in the oceanfront villa rooms right off one of the beaches. The room was the nicest I have ever stayed in, and I can't wait to go back. The views from the main lobby are picturesque. The staff who helped with beach rentals were helpful and made sure we snorkeled and kayaked in safe areas. Our trip was in the off season, so the resort was quiet which was nice. I definitely plan to return to the Buccaneer as soon as I can!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Britt-LM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were there for 7 wonderful days. The beach is lovely. The room was very nice. Private balcony was a plus. Fantastic view of the Caribbean woth the picture window. So beautiful. The bathroom as extremely large, two sinks and great shower. Great shower products too. The staff is very friendly and helpful - Julie & Adrian were the best! Breakfast was great, and included in the rate. The best waitress (Patti) made are dinners special, especially our anniversary dinner. We knew that the coming in Sept. (off season) that the Terrace restaurant would be closed for two of the nights of our stay, but we had the pool and the beaches to ourselves. We rented a car and explore the island, and Adrian gave us great information on what beaches and restaurants to visit. We now trying to figure out when we can come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sherin1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Overall, the experience of St. Croix was wonderful. The Buccaneer has the appearance of a 4 star wanting to be 5 star and not quite making it. With that being said, we would go back again in a heartbeat. First, the negative. We wanted to schedule a special dinner at the Terrace on our 2nd night and made reservations 2 weeks in advance, only to find out after we got there it was closed that night. Their response? "Oh well, sorry". So we had to change our plans a little, but we should have been told when I tried to make reservation. On our last night, the waitress messed up my wife's order, and then proceeded to tell us (argue?) she ordered fish (which she doesn't like much). Then she charged us for some veggies we did not order, so no tip that night. "The customer is always right" still applies, doesn't it? Overall, the food was good but the service was way too slow. I know I heard all about "Island time" but for what they charge, food service could be more timely. We had to wait at nearly every meal there (except breakfast).
The room should have been cleaner when we got there. There was a thick layer of dust in the closet shelf and some clothes tags from a previous occupant's shopping trip, which was dusty also. Really wasn't interested in putting our things there.

The positive. Amazing views! Oceanfront room was plenty big. Very nice bathroom. Sufficient amenities. Huge plate glass window and QUIET! When the noisiest thing you hear from your patio are the waves lapping up on the sand - that's nice. We liked the fact it was off season. Being from the south, the warmth did not bother us. Bugs were around, but up on the Terrace we never had a problem. The beaches were very nice and its hard to beat their convenience. When the snorkeling essentially right outside your room is good, its hard to think of something better. (But go to Buck Island!) Other than the slowness of the food service, all the staff were very friendly and polite all the time. The concierge service was knowledgeable and helpful. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. You can tell the resort has some age and needs some work and I'd imagine upkeep in a salt environment and on an island is difficult at best, but its a cost of doing business. One odd note: the Grotto pool, which most pictures show as having one of the "endless pool" edges, now has a big metal grate over it. Kinda spoils the effect. I'm not sure why its there.
Overall, St. Croix and The Buccaneer was a memorable way to spend our 30th! I would definitely go back again, but just a wee bit smarter next time.

Room Tip: Main building rooms up on the hill may have more breeze. They were in the process of remodeling som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HersheyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I was here for three nights, on business. I did get to enjoy a few hours swimming in the Caribbean and laying in the sun. The beach is lovely. The room was very nice. Private balcony was a plus. Fantastic view of the Caribbean. So beautiful. The bathroom as extremely large, two sinks and great shower. Great shower products too. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great, and included in the rate. There were many options to select from. The view was great as well. Lunch - both fair and overpriced. Dinner - very good one night, very poor another. Service was soooo slow. No one wants to send something back that took almost two hours to get.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AureliaSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My daughter and I loved staying at the Buccaneer on our week vacation to St Croix, room was great, grounds beautiful, service excellent. We were there during off season (Sept) and not all the restaurants were open daily, some events on the calender had been canceled, but none of this interfered with our vacation. Employees were exceptional from the front desk personel to the drivers who provided transportation around the island and to Christianstead. A special thanks to Richy for driving us to town and to the kitchen for providing a boxed breakfast the day we left for the airport at 6AM.

Room Tip: We chose a deluxe ocean view room with a private patio and loved it. We were close to the main buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nichms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
2.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
217 reviews
1.6 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#12 of 14 in Christiansted
128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
501 reviews
9.9 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buccaneer St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer St Croix

Address: 5007 Shoys, Christiansted 00820-4536, St. Croix
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range: £263 - £483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buccaneer St Croix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Buccaneer St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing