We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes Gilligan. This is paradise.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Buccaneer St Croix
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Volin, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yes Gilligan. This is paradise.”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We spent a week at the Buccaneer in January and had a delightful time. I could go into great detail about our stay (which was lovely), but that would just be reiterating the same information that can be found from other reviewers or from the resort website, so here are some points I have not seen in other reviews:
· While the Buccaneer exudes history and refinement, it is not snooty. Men are welcome at dinner with khaki shorts as long as they have a collared shirt. You do not have to pack evening-wear (ties, cocktail dresses, heels) as you are expected to do at some other resorts. This made me like the place even more.
· Food & alcohol is very expensive on the island. We rented a car and stopped at K-Mart (Yes. There are 2 K-Marts on the island.) to stock up on some snacks and alcohol.
· If you are keeping food in your room, be sure to seal it in some fashion. There are a lot of bugs. Ewwww…
· We stayed in the Resort Hotel, which is the main building. Our room was 227 and we had a lovely corner balcony. Many rooms have balconies, but not all are open on 2 sides. That made ours especially nice. We spent time every morning and every night on our balcony. It was heavenly.
· If you are interested in snorkeling, seek out the young man at the Mermaid Beach snorkel/kayak shack. He is FAR superior in knowledge and friendliness to those at the Grotto Beach shack. I even observed him taking other guests out on private snorkel excursions at no cost.
· The breakfast was complimentary and I thought it was very good. While others commented on the delightful nature of the breakfast servers, I did not find that to be true. There was a gentleman clearing the tables that was delightful, friendly and made me smile every morning. I wish I had been tipping him instead of the servers. The evening meals were very good as well. The evening servers were wonderful and the view from the restaurant is amazing.
· As many have commented, the hotel is dated and the décor needs some updating. However, I barely noticed any of this as we were outdoors most of the time. The beaches had lovely palm trees to snooze under, the ocean was crystal clear and the temperature was 84 every day. That is what I went to enjoy, so the 1990’s bedspread really wasn’t that important.
· There is excellent seashell hunting along Grotto beach. If you walk all the way to the end, you will find quite a collection that others (including ourselves) have left.
· NOTE: We had an early flight out and reserved a very early taxi ride. It cost us $20 in cab fare to get to the resort. It cost $50 to get back to the airport. Knowing that, we would have rented a car the day before and been able to go to town for one last meal.
· As a 45-year-old woman with a 55-year-old husband living in a cold, wintery climate, I cannot recommend The Buccaneer highly enough. It is a lovely, peaceful, soothing resort. I still visit the website just to bring back the memories. LOL

Room Tip: Corner rooms provide a 2 sided balcony. We were in Room 227 and the view was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank theaddledcowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    973
    290
    62
    38
    30
See reviews for
405
601
32
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Boston, New Hampshire, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Our family stayed at the nearby Palms at Pelican Cove, for the 11 nights we were just in St. Croix, but we visited the Buccaneer for our last day. We paid a bit over $100 for a day use room, which was very reasonable- gave us the same benefits as the other hotel guests, and gave us a clean, cool place to relax and change out of our wet clothes at the end of the day.
We were spoiled by snorkeling at the Palms as well as at Buck Island and Cane Bay, so in comparison, the Buccaneer was pretty lousy; almost fish-less, for snorkeling, although we did not go far out. Mermaid Beach was the best beach we visited the whole time, though, for swimming with kids- very calm and swimmable. And the beach toys and floats that the guests could use whenever, was also a nice touch. Our 3 boys also enjoyed playing basketball, tetherball and chess on the beach, which was fun for them.
The room was modern, and spotless and the view from the patio of the Grotto area and beach, as well as the sunset over the mountains, was amazing.
It was much fancier than the Palms, but there were also a lot more people there, and not as much privacy. I think if we return to St. Croix in the future, we'd still stay at the Palms, but would visit the beautiful Buccaneer again for a day or two. PS: Oceanna at the front desk was super in replying to my inquiries about visiting the property.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinleyville, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My husband and I were celebrating our 25th anniversary. When we arrived, we not only had a bottle of champagne waiting for us, but we were upgraded to an ocean front suite. The resort has been managed by family members for many years, and it was not unusual to find that most of the staff had been working there for 10 to 30 years. Not only was it a beautiful location, but the people were all so happy and kind. The food was great! We were there the end of Nov and encountered some heavy rainstorms so it cut down on our activities, but there staff had vans ready to pick us up and drive us to the restaurant and back down to our room whenever we called. We certainly recommend the luxury resort to anyone and are looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Reading, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We had a great stay. Arrived just I time for Elizabeth cocktail party. We had an ocean view in the Great a House very nice. Downstairs to breakfast and both restaurants. Beach are clean and you have three to pick from. Two pools. We used the Spa twice great experience. It appears to me that everyone working here really enjoys it. They truely are thoughtful. We decided against a car and used taxis for our couple of trips to town. We took the island thru the hotel about four hours very nice. We had a little dampness problem with the room and were quickly shown three oceanfront deluxe rooms to pick from, unexpected upgrade. We ate on site most of the time and it was very good the view from any of the dinning options was breathtaking. Very few rain showers last only a few minutes. Wifi and cell service everywhere. Can lay on the beach and use your iPad on wifi. I would like to name one person who made our trip a dream Nadia Boubouneau I could name many however the list would be very long. We had checked put and just about to get in our taxi to the airport when I got a email notification of our flight from San Juan to Boston was cancelled. The hotel found us a onceanfront room and we were back on the beach in 45 min. You won't find a better place on St Criox.

Room Tip: Rooms in the great house make it easy to breakfast and dinner. However ocean front rooms are very cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We did not stay at the Buccaneer, but spent several days at the beach there and ate at the Mermaid beach restaurant. Since we rented a home up in the hills we did not have a beach to go to and the Buccaneer was recommended as one of the beaches. We absolutely loved it there. The Mermaid is a great restaurant for lunch and drinks while you are on the beach. You can have your lunch under the restaurant pavilion or right on the beach. The beach is very nice and the water was calm and nice to swim in. As a treat there were iguanas visiting on the beach and dock area so they were fun to watch. I do not know the man's name at the gate but he was so friendly and got to know my name since we were in an out of the resort so much. I enjoyed seeing him every time we went in to the resort. Sorry I did not get to say goodbye to him. I loved this place. We had the best of both worlds - a nice house in the hills and a beautiful beach nearby to go to.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lvstravling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The Buccaneer is a stunning property situated on a several long stretches of beach in St Croix. The resort itself has a very classic and timeless feel to it. The 300 acre property has everything you can ever think about doing on a vacation - especially golf and easy access to its two private beaches with white sand and turquoise waters. The resort is guarded and protected by security which adds comfort to your stay. The service is impeccable. The resort is spread out so it's often quite a walk to the restaurant. Within seconds of picking up your phone (every single time without fail), a car is at your front door in less then a minute to take you anywhere on the property that you like. The service is truly 5 star. And let's not forget about the beautiful white sand beach and cafe right behind it. It's the perfect place to relax and the Buccaneer has exclusive access to it. You can also walk to a secluded beach which is very close. Lastly, the views are spectacular and because there is so much open space around the resort, you are often rewarded with giant rainbows early in the morning.

All in all, it's safe to say that the Buccaneer is the best resort in St. Croix.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jakewtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This was our first trip to Saint Croix and our first Bucaneer experience. We consider ourself truly fortunate to have discovered what ended up to be the best vacation of our lives. The trip there via Jet Blue was fabulous from Boston to San Juan and then a quick 22 minute flight to Saint Croix. The resort itself was breathtaking. The grounds, the restaurants, the rooms are all spectacular. The three beaches and the activities available to myself and my children kept everyone happy and smiling. The food was amazing and delicious. The resort has a wonderful island casual feel and the service was refined and gracious. We fell in love the the wonderful warm hospitality shown to us. From Diane in reservations, who helped us to book the perfect room, to Oceanna at the front desk, to Julie at concierge, to our friend CJay at the beach outfitting us with sea kayaks and snorkling gear each day, to Delma and Melrose and Devin in the restaurant who made each morning bright, to Bachelor the van driver who provided transportation and history lessons in route, to Vicki in Sales who insured our stay was everything we wanted it to be and more....I cannot say enough about the Bucaneer. We talked to many many families and couples during our one week stay who were celebranting their 2nd, 5th, 10th and even 22nd year coming back to the resort to relax and enjoy Saint Croix and the Bucaneer. It's easy to understand why they come back year after year. We cannot wait to make a return visit and already feel like we are part of the Bucaneer family.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Felice502014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
0.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
2.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
214 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
77 reviews
9.9 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buccaneer St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer St Croix

Property: The Buccaneer St Croix
Address: 5007 Shoys, Christiansted 00820-4536, St. Croix
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buccaneer St Croix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Buccaneer St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing