We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Buccaneer St Croix
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Another wonderful trip”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We returned to the Buc to celebrate a family member's wedding. Corrinne and her staff did an outstanding job, with every detail considered.
The rooms were awesome, the service outstanding, the bartendress phenomenal and the food fantastic.
Kudos for providing us with a consistent, loving brand that we can count on!

Room Tip: The hotel sits on a hill and if you are fit and don't mind a bit of walking, the main hotel room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citygirlcountrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    962
    288
    61
    38
    30
See reviews for
397
596
32
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The Buccaneer is absolutely beautiful! As with all places, there are some things that need improvement. But overall, the location is amazing, staff could not be more friendly & helpful, and beaches are great.

We stayed in an oceanfront room that was recently renovated. It was very spacious and the views were spectacular. The patio was big and set up so that there was privacy between rooms. Housekeeping was not consistent at all. Some days the room was cleaned early, while other days it was 4 o’clock. It was an issue because it was difficult to know when we could stop by the room for a break from the beach & sun. On the one day that we said something because the room hadn’t been cleaned by 5pm, the front desk staff were so incredibly helpful and polite.

The walk up to breakfast and to the bar in the evenings is definitely a steep hill, as others have said. For us, however, it helped justify the eating and drinking. The breakfast was fantastic. Everything from fruit, eggs to order, pancakes, bacon, etc., Every server we had was incredibly friendly and helpful. We also are the type that don’t get upset when things run a little slow on vacation. So, on days that we had to wait a little longer for coffee, we just sat and enjoyed the incredible view from the restaurant! We did not eat dinner in the Terrace, but did eat a couple of nights from the lounge menu. The food was ok, but nothing special. It was certainly on the expensive side for the quality compared to the amazing food/dinners we had around the island.

The resort has some things that are “dated”, but for us it added to the charm of the place! The crowd seemed to be mostly older couples or families. The beaches, restaurants and lounge were always quiet even though they were filled with people. For us, we would have liked to have a place that was a little more social at the end of the beach day to have a cocktail and talk with others. (Nothing crazy, but a nice social beachside bar.) There was entertainment every evening and it varied. But overall, it was very mellow. The location of the hotel, however, makes it so easy to head out to other places for dinner to get a change of scenery.

Again, the staff was amazing! The concierge was so helpful booking reservations for dinner, servers were friendly and everyone you passed would always have a friendly greeting. The Buccaneer is wonderful!

Room Tip: We stayed in a renovated oceanfront room. Amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Islandbound2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My wife and I had an extremely enjoyable vacation at the Bucaneer. This is the best resort on St. Croix. We had a room right next to the reception and it was a little noisy, so after our first night we asked the front desk if we could be moved. They said the would check and contact us later that morning. Not only did they move us we were moved to what has to be room with the best view on second floor of main building. We had a beautiful of the of the Carribean Sea and Christiansted. They then sent us a bottle of wine that night with a card apologizing to us for any inconvenience we had. We felt that kind of treatment the whole trip.

Room Tip: If beach rooms want in your budget ask for second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jhnbrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
357 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

From location, views, amenities, and friendly and accommodating staff, you simply cannot beat this resort anywhere on the island. We loved that it is family owned and that the owner takes a personal interest...including hosting a reception on Wednesdays that features a superb steel drum player and maki jumbo dancers. We also recommend her personal guided history and botanical tour around the grounds. We absolutely loved the 300 series rooms that are right on the water and the lapping of the waves lull you to sleep either on your patio watching the sunset or at bedtime. The grotto is more of an adult theme area and the mermaid area has everything a family could want. The Terrace restaurant is fabulous, but men should bring a collared shirt for evening dining and you will need a reservation if you want to dine around 7pm. Hint--ask for rail side seating for a stunning view! While the price might be a little higher than some resort packages, their rates include breakfast every day of your stay and the full scale of amenities--including free guest wifi everywhere on the property more than make it worth it! The concierges will go out of their way to ensure everything and anything you want is perfect. Let them set up a tour of the island that includes a visit to the botanical garden, a historic plantation, and of course, the island's signature Cruzan or Captain Morgan rum distilleries. Their vision is to make all first time visitors part of the Buccaneer family and ambassadors for the Island. We believe they truly achieve this and we are already planning our next visit!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank ltw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at The Buccaneer Feb 19-23, 2014. Just to put this review in context, we have stayed at all types of resorts and hotels on our vacations- from cheap all-inclusive hotels to average Hilton/ Marriot chains to high end One and Only/ Ritz Carlton resorts. With that said, we gave this report an average rating. I will go into detail below in order of importance to us.

Price: Purchasing on Jetsetter.com, we opted for the "Luxury Oceanview" Room ($411 per night) which we thought was on the mid to high end price range, compared to what we usually pay for hotels. Overall, we felt that this hotel stay was worth approximately half of that price.

Accommodations: The room was big- we actually got upgraded for free, since it was our anniversary. The interior of the room was less than desirable. The linens, bed spread, towels and curtains have not been updated in a LONG time- I would guess not in the last 2 decades. Our shower head was gross looking and made an annoying, loud screeching noise. There was mold in several areas of the bathroom and windows. Every time my husband rolled over in the middle of the night, I was awaken by the noisy, screechy wooden bed. There were a lot of small bugs. We tried spending the least amount of time possible in the room. All that said- The view was gorgeous and the room was very spacious. It was also conveniently located by the hotel lobby and main dining, so the only long walks were to get to the beach and tennis courts.

Similar to everything else at the hotel, the main areas (lobby, couches, tables) need updating. I'm sure this was a great resort in the 90s but it's 2014 and when you charge 5 star pricing, we expect 5 star accommodations.

Food: Good but overpriced. The daily breakfast was average and some days below average on taste. The nicest restaurant "The Terrace" was extremely overpriced and the food was inconsistent- a few items inedible (like the beat salad and the broccoli soup), some items were delicious (like the potato soup and the pork belly). Average entree was about $30 - for food that should be half the price.

Tennis: The courts are beautiful and the tennis shop has some nice things in it. Unfortunately, we assumed the usage would be free. It's $18 per day!

Beach: The beaches are beautiful and surprisingly quiet- especially for the amount of children that happened to be there. The only downside is they are a trek from the main lobby and the beach chairs need to be updated. We spent most of our time on Mermaid beach.

People: The other guests staying at the resort mostly consisted of families (with kids under 10) and older couples. My husband and I are in our 30s and we saw about 3 other couples our age. Not ideal for us since we have no children and were constantly surrounded by them.

The staff were very nice and helpful throughout the trip. My favorites were Danny at the front desk, the beach waitresses and the bar tenders at Mermaid Beach.

Grounds: The Buccaneer grounds are large and beautiful. I would highly suggest watching a sunset from the giant hill on the golf course next to the private beach. You see some amazing views from there!

The worst part of this hotel was the lack of beautiful, relaxing, big pools. The 2 pools are quite outdated and look more like big hot tubs. They were overrun with kids, but I probably would not have gone in them regardless just because of the appearance. They are also not in ideal locations. With the large amount of land and the high prices this place charges, I was completely mind blown that they have not put in an updated pool by the main beach. Instead you will find plenty of outdated games and exercise plaques like tether ball, old baseball hoop, stretching stations, and soccer goals.

Traveling around the island: We had many adventures on this trip but I would highly suggest the following as our top 3:
1- Sandy Point Beach. By far the best beach on the island. Even better than the beach at Buck Island- but without the reef.
2- Buck Island. The reef is amazing! Snorkeling through the trails are really fun and full of beautiful underwater sights.
3- Domino Club. This is a small bar and restaurant in the middle of the rainforest. They have a delicious homemade liquor called mamma wanna which is a must try. The biscuits and gravy are the best I've ever had. BUT the best part of the stop was the beer drinking pigs. That's right - you can feed a pig a beer and it's awesome. (O'Douls only).

Overall, this resort is totally average. We still had a great time - but we can see the beauty and fun in every situation (and the alcohol helped). If you are expecting a 5 star resort then this isn't the place for you. I think the Trip Advisor rating is too high and is clearly skewed by middle America and their low expectations.






Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank emimel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We are well traveled and demanding clients. We chose to stay in only top notch hotels. And we have stayed in many 5 star hotels throughout not only the Caribbean but the world. And The Buccaneer is our favorite hotel! It's a charming hotel with a top notch staff on the best piece of real estate in the Caribbean. The most spectacular views of the bluest ocean we have ever seen!! This is not a high rise mega hotel. And that's its charm! Two beaches with two beach restaurants and the Terrace over looking the bay is incredibly romantic. We recommend staying in the ocean front rooms where the views from your private balcony are second to none. Great roomy bathrooms too! The Tennis Program is wonderful and the golf sufficient. Easy drive from the airport and it is a US Territory! This was our fifth stay and we can not wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Didn't stay at the Buccaneer but from what I could tell, this is a nice hotel. Great location and the view of the sunset is excellent. I did eat at the restaurant. I expected more for the price. I ordered the seafood soup that was supposed to have crab meat, shrimp and fish. It was more like a vegetable soup and I could not tell if there was shrimp or crabmeat. There was one small piece of fish. My main course was the grilled shrimp. Not so great for $32. Finally, the dessert. I asked to see a dessert tray since I wanted to at least get a view of what I am about to order since I struck out on the soup and main course. No such luck. Again, for the price, I expected better.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Abejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
0.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
2.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
212 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#4 of 14 in Christiansted
74 reviews
9.9 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buccaneer St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer St Croix

Property: The Buccaneer St Croix
Address: 5007 Shoys, Christiansted 00820-4536, St. Croix
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buccaneer St Croix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Buccaneer St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing