We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location but might not be worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Buccaneer St Croix
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good location but might not be worth the money”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The hotel is at a very good spot, the property is huge with three private beaches and views from room were also excellent. We stayed in Great House Ocean View room, which is in the building at the top of the hill and not next to the beach. The breakfast is superb so don't miss that if you stay there. The hotel is not too far from Christiansted downtown which has quite a few restaurants, you will still need a car to drive around though they have a shuttle service which you will need to pay per ride per person. I had a car so did not bother, the downtown won't be walkable from here.

I felt service was little off for the price they are charging and I expect more at that level of a hotel. There was no bath soap (body wash) in the bath room so we had to ask for it, one of the days house keeping did not get done in spite of we hanging the request card outside. One of the days we had the kayaking activity planned in the evening so decided to have dinner at the hotel restaurant as most food places close early on the island (Sunday very few food places are open so plan ahead), the concierge service scheduled us for a dinner at a time restaurant kitchen closes. The restaurant said we are too late for the dinner but then accommodated us when we pointed out that concierge service scheduled at that time so they should honor it. Food was good!

I liked the place overall, the rooms were little dated and felt service was a little off at times. I do recommend going to this place but will try a different hotel if I happen to go back to the island.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv4nature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    964
    288
    61
    38
    30
See reviews for
398
597
32
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The setting is beautiful, the staff is wonderful. The breakfast is just ok. They list several activities but nothing ever happens except the crab races. The front desk could use a little training and some rooms are better than others.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycfamily1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We bought our trip online and didn't quite know what to expect. We were looking for a deal on a warm sunny island so we could escape the east coast's Wretched Winter of 2014. When I told a friend where we were going, she wrinkled her nose -- partly for our choice of St. Croix and partly for our choice of resorts. What we found was one of the most relaxing locations ever.

St. Croix is not a real "happening" place and its two small towns don't make you feel especially safe after dark, but if you know that, you make the most of your options. We took advantage of the GREAT weather, beautiful breezes, and the Buccaneer's scenic playground to play tennis, do yoga on the beach, run on the Buccaneer's 2-mile running trail every day (it's a wonderful run with hills and a flat finish), scuba, and snorkel. You can also walk the beaches of the Buccaneer -- it's not a long walk, nor are there any interesting shells (just pretty rounded rocks), but it's still beautiful and peaceful. A bonus for traveling to St. Croix is that it's an American territory so our money worked fine and so did our AT&T cell phones. But be careful if you rent a car (as we did) because they drive on the left side of the road like the British. My job, as navigator, was to keep repeating "left, left, left."

Our rooms at the Buccaneer were wonderful. We were upgraded to two oceanfront doubloons and couldn't have had a more beautiful location -- I think the rooms and their views made the trip for us. Our balcony looked over the main beach and we enjoyed a sunset view every evening. The rooms are large and quite comfortable. I did wish for a broom at times as the floors are tile and we tracked in sand that I was stuck with until the maid came the next day. Speaking of maids -- all the staff at the Buccaneer are exceptionally friendly and helpful. You will enjoy their courteous and helpful attitudes.

Food at the Buccaneer is a bit of a mixed bag but there is no prettier place to eat on the island than their dining room in the main clubhouse. The breakfast buffet, included in the price of your room, is pretty much all you could ask for in a good breakfast: eggs multiple ways, lots of bread options, bacon and sausage, pancakes and french toast, plentiful fruit in a wide variety, and a daily surprise fish dish. I challenge anyone to complain about that. Because it was available 7 to 10:30am, we opted to exercise early, and eat a BIG late breakfast so we could skip lunch. The Mermaid Bar and the Grotto Bar serve a nice enough variety of lunch fare and tavern food so you can easily snack on the beaches if that's how you choose to spend your day. Expect that meal to be in the n'hood of $16-$20 per person. Dinner was simply overpriced, as are most restaurants on the island. The quality of the food did not measure up to its cost. Do yourself a favor and don't order dessert. The rum cake was soaked in syrupy rum to the point of being almost inedible and the chocolate layer cake tasted weeks old -- not the last impression a restaurant wants to leave its guest.

Our excursions were limited to a day of snorkeling to Buck Island (we used Capt. Heinz and his son Carl took us and 24 others over to the island), the all-day Tan-Tan Jeep Tour (pricey but worth it), and scuba diving at Kane Beach. Restaurants we ate at were: Duggan's Reef (an island favorite but only OK for us), Savant (excellent with great atmosphere), Tutu Benne (wouldn't go back), Galangal (awesome and unique), Blue Water Terrace (only OK -- pizza was good, tho) and the La Reine Chicken Shack (you have to go there -- it's a true Cruzan favorite place -- and get the chicken with BBQ sauce and the johnny cakes). And of course, I had to buy a silver, hook bracelet from Sonya's.

We're not sure we need to go back to St. Croix -- we pretty much "did it" -- but we give this trip an A for relaxation, weather, beauty, and ease of getting around.

Room Tip: The doubloons are fabulous -- 2nd floor is best. The grotto rooms are also oceanfront so they would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clinton, conn
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The doubloons offers a very high end suite next to the beautiful beach and couldn't be nicer. Although the resort covers many hilly acres, a ride to or from your room is just a phone call away. The grounds are beautiful and spacious with never a sense of crowding. It very easy to enjoy off site restaurants thanks to the concierge staff and the local taxis. And although this must be the largest hotel on the island, the very friendly and helpful staff make it clear this is no chain operation.

Room Tip: If you stay in the doubloons, be sure to request a top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Had a great time, ocean front room .. Everything was so great! Next time we'll golf. Walked the course and really seemed like a great little place to play. Food was great! Service was excellent. Place gets quiet at 10 or so but after long day of relaxing at pool or beach it was just what we needed, met so many nice people who had been back a few times. Bar and restaurant views up on the hill overlooking the ocean were really spectacular! Did a little kayaking and great local snorkeling trip was a great day trip too!! We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: ocean front at bottom of hill was a great spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We just returned from a week at the Buccaneer and would definitely go back! We've been to many beach locations (Turks and Caicos, Antigua, Dominican Republic, Atlantis) and think this is probably the best location. We stayed in an oceanfront room in the main house with an awesome view. We had the luxury of watching the sunset every night. The beds were comfortable, the towels were plush and our air conditioning was very effective. Because we stayed in the Great House, we were in the same area as the Martel and Terrace restaurants and only had to walk up a long hill after spending the day at the beach. The food was better than expected. We ate mostly at the Mermaid, the Grotto and the Martel Lounge. We even had room service one night - I think that is the first time I've ever had room service where the food was still hot!

There are three beaches - Mermaid, Grotto and Whisper. We spent most of our days at the Grotto beach because it was quieter and less busy. The Mermaid Beach is much busier and larger so it was harder to get any good reading time. We really enjoyed the free snorkeling and kayaking. We also took a 1/2 day excursion to Buck Island for snorkeling. Buck Island is absolute heaven! Definitely, take the trip to this island. You will not regret it!

We found the service to be excellent. Melrose at the Terrace breakfast made our day with his "top of the mountain!" saying. We also loved Stephani at the Terrace and Martel Lounge.

The fitness center is one of the best I have seen at a resort. There were 4 ellipticals, 3 treadmills, 2 reclining bikes, free weights, water, clean towels and a great air-conditioning system. The TVs were a little tricky in that if you turned one off, another TV would turn on but this was a minor thing.

We ran into many couples who had been coming to the Buccaneer for years and understand why. We met many very nice families. This resort is definitely not the place to go if you are single and wanting to drink and party. It is a relaxing and low key private hotel where you can relax and rejuvenate. We will definitely be returning to this great hotel!

Room Tip: Our room in the Great House had a wonderful view of the coast. The room was right at the top of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dry1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McDonald, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

What a vacation...so amazing at this resort. Yes the wifi could be better and the pillows weren't my favorite, but lets get real. This place is amazing. As a family we had plenty to keep us occupied. A little something for everyone. I love this place. The service is fantastic and they will literally do anything to keep you happy and make you feel at home.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
0.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
2.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
213 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
74 reviews
9.9 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buccaneer St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer St Croix

Property: The Buccaneer St Croix
Address: 5007 Shoys, Christiansted 00820-4536, St. Croix
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buccaneer St Croix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Buccaneer St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing