We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average experience for premium price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Buccaneer St Croix
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“An average experience for premium price”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The Buccaneer property is great.
The rooms look like they been updated since we stayed there 3 years ago.
But the service at Buccaneer is less than you would expect for a $300+/night property.
The food is not that good and expensive.

And the place is now a destination for families with small children.
My wife and I had a better experience at Sand Castles on west end.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STXJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    962
    288
    61
    38
    30
See reviews for
397
596
32
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The staff at the Buccaneer are all incredibly helpful. They make one's arrival to and stay at the island a wholly pleasant experience. Lauren and Joel at the concierge desks will figure out a way to make your wishes come true. We booked a tour of the bioluminescent bay at Salt River Bay and a tour of Buck Island National Park through them - they made sure everything was pitch perfect.
The rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. We had a nice balcony in ours. The thing to remember is to have bug spray; you will get bitten up otherwise.
As for other parts of the property, the beaches are nicer than the pools; though that's what happens in this part of the world. My husband enjoyed the golf course immensely.
Food is expensive not just at the resort but throughout the island - guessing most things have to be flown/ferried in.

Room Tip: The rooms on the island ridge have a great view and balconies. There's another set (think they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaPNewYorkNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Have just returned from a week at the Buccaneer and it was perfect. We rented one of the family cottages, which was basically two adjoined bedrooms with a shared bathroom. The best feature about the Buccanner is the staff - incredibly friendly, helpful, knowledgeable. There is plenty to do at the Buccanneer itself (snorkeling, kayaking, scuba-diving, tennis) and a fifteen minute shuttle into Christiansted and other parts of the island.
The Buccaneer is a "very nice" hotel but not blingy. We didn't want over the top marble everywhere. The Buccaneer is an historic, family run resort with a few beautiful cove beaches. The pools are small, but you really don't need a pool anyway. There is a laundry room for guests which I appreciate as the mom.

Room Tip: The web site is very clear about where the rooms are situated. The resort has great views of Christi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

It's my first time at St Croix and most all the reviews i looked at were helpful and accurate. I'm staying at the Buccaneer and it is nice and quiet like i wanted. I have gotten some nosems bites, so bring spray also there was a can in our room when we arrived. Today we took the Island tour arranged by the hotel. The information I had about it was that it was from 9:15 am until 1:30. They don't stop for lunch. They drive you to the Cruzan Rum Distillery, the botanic garden and to aSugar plantation and museum. The local taxi driver was the tour guide and we sat in a van with him screaming over the A/C, narrating every school, hospital and fruit stand on the way. When we arrived at a destination he told us we had half an hour before he left us there. We soon realized this was not a joke. But we were on vacation and don't have watches on so our timing wasn't perfect. The distillery tour was fantastic and fun, but we were rushed off to the next. Even though our driver would stop on the side of the road to talk about random things. At the end of the last site we were all spent, between the heat, and walking we were ready for lunch. We gotback to the van to find we were already an hour behind schedule. And we had an hour long slow bad roads ride back through the "jungle" I had to pop a Dramamine for this so i missed much of it. So in conclusion, bring water and snacks! Beware of the drivers and the time but the sites are worth it!

Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
227 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

On our first morning at The Buccaneer we met a couple who have now visited the resort for eight straight years. After a one week's stay, we understand why. Our room was stupendous - an oceanfront "Doubloon" - glorious sunsets, sounds of the waves on the shore, immediate accessibility to the beach. The service is outstanding - the shuttle bus drivers, the restaurant staff, the beach equipment attendants, the front desk. The only issue we had was with the concierge desk - seemed rushed and impatient at times, and gave us incorrect information on one occasion.
The restaurants: a good meal with a great view at The Terrace (but infinitely better meals at some of the island eateries), a tasty and fairly priced meal with beautiful beach view at The Mermaid (but had our only mosquito "issue " there), and reliable, but somewhat repetitive breakfasts buffets (a little hint - you can order specific omelets and not just rely on the big tray of scrambled eggs - no extra charge).
The owner is "hands on" - really enjoyed the Manager's Welcome Party on Tuesday as well as the Nature Walk on Wednesday.
The entertainment at The Buccaneer is top notch - much better than the typical nonsense one finds at some all inclusives.
As stated in other reviews, transportation is easy, safe, courteous, and reasonably priced - the "shuttle" to Christiansted as well as taxis ordered via the concierge. When you go out to dinner, just tell the server that you need a cab to pick you up - they call the Buccaneer and by the time you pay the bill - the cab is there waiting for you. Dinners at many of the local restaurants are experiences not to be missed - transportation should not be a hindrance whatsoever.
We rented a car for the last two days - easily done through the concierge desk - delivered right to the resort. Not difficult to drive on the "wrong" side. A casual tour of the island is a treat - the desert like East End or the hilly rain forest on the west side. Although you can never get too lost on a small island, St Croix's disdain for road signage is frustrating to say the least.
To summarize: go to St. Croix with its' beautiful landscape, beaches and people. Tour the island. Eat at the many varied and delightful restaurants. And stay at the wonderful Buccaneer
resort.

Room Tip: In a word: Doubloon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BroadOakPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Buccaneer was a great getaway on the beautiful, but sort of rundown island of St. Croix. We were there over Easter weekend with our 10 year old and 2 year old. What stood out about the Buccaneer was how easy it was to have good wholesome fun - volleyball, tetherball, basketball, soccer, bag toss, and kayaks were in constant use by families of all types. The food at the main Terrace restaurant for dinner was also extraordinarily good classic french fare. The golf course well maintained and had a nice running trail around it. Good beaches and pools, good drinks. Rooms were a nice size, just a tiny bit musty. Great stories about the history of the hotel. Friendly staff. Good buffet breakfast included in the price.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms near the tennis court. Kind of centrally isolated between beach, pool, and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tkdelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Our American Express travel planner suggested The Buccaneer on St. Croix. I loved The Buccaneer - we had a suite on the lobby level which was spacious with a gorgeous view. Our room attendant service was great, we were usually up and out fairly early and our room was cleaned early and turn down was done while we were at dinner.

Our concierge team of Joel and Lauren were fantastic in helping us plan our activities. We did a Buck Island tour (a must), an island tour with The Buccaneer taxi team and a day flight over to St. Thomas. They handled everything and were helpful with getting us coordinated.

We had a complimentary breakfast included in our package which was a very nice breakfast bar with everything from pancakes to Johnny cakes (local treat), LOTS of fresh fruit and juice and a selection of breads. Eggs and bacon and even grits were excellent. Service was super friendly, just remember you are on vacation so island time is a consideration in the expectation for speedy service. I thought the timing on our service was great and the servers were friendly and happy to share their thoughts on what to do, where to eat.

The Buccaneer offered shuttle service daily to town for a small fee ($7-$9 per person). The drivers contracted with The Buccaneer were a treat. They chatted and also made their suggestions for activities and restaurants. Richie, Wilson, Bachelor, Thomas, Patrick and Cuthbert (we rode with them all....) were a pleasure to ride with and were always clear about pick up time and location so they could ensure we were safely returned to the resort. We very much enjoyed our island tour with Wilson - he did a great job of taking care of his van load of visitors. Bravo.

We did the Caribbean Sea Adventures full day tour to Buck Island as recommended by Joel and had an amazing trip. We were told that Big Beards was a better tour but we have RAVE reviews for Caribbean Sea Adventures and our all female crew. Thank you Megan and Rachael for an amazing day on and in the water. Five Stars.

Compared to St. Thomas (although only there for the day) I much preferred the slower pace and more tropical feel of St. Croix. I would definitely return to St. Croix and The Buccaneer and would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Request a room on the lobby level. If you are staying near the beach you will have an up hill climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
0.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
2.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
212 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#4 of 14 in Christiansted
74 reviews
9.9 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buccaneer St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer St Croix

Property: The Buccaneer St Croix
Address: 5007 Shoys, Christiansted 00820-4536, St. Croix
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buccaneer St Croix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Buccaneer St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing