We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful hotel and resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Buccaneer St Croix
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a wonderful hotel and resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had a family reunion on St. Croix and stayed at the Buccaneer on the good advice of friends who live on the island. The service was great and the staff friendly and helpful. We rented their Beach House for our extended family and would highly recommend it. We ended up calling it the Chilla Villa because of how much we loved spending afternoons poolside staring out at the ocean. HEAVEN!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    931
    281
    61
    37
    30
See reviews for
379
585
31
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My family just returned from a great trip to the Buccaneer. There were 11 of us including our 5 grandchildren. My daughters and their families stayed in the family cottages. They took 2 next to each other so they shared a building. It was perfect!
When we arrived my wife and I were upgraded to an oceanfront room.
I can't say enough about the staff. Everyone really went out of their way to be sure we had a great vacation.
We went to Buck Island one day and took the Tan Tan tour another day. Both were recommended and both were fantastic.
The only think that was disappointing was mealtime. The food was excellent. The servers were great. The wait for our food was ridiculous. We had 2 lunches and 2 dinners that took over an hour and a half to be served after our orders went in. We spoke with several other guests who had similar experiences. It was really frustrating because everything else was so perfect.
We love the Buccaneer and St Croix and we will be back. I just hope they fix the kitchen staffing issue.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lgardner03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

In early June we returned for our second stay at the Buccaneer. This time our entire family came along. We had a total of 18 family members on the trip, ranging in age from 18 months to 60's and everyone had a great time!
We stayed in the Buccaneer's Beach House, as well as the Frigate and Ficus suites. In all rooms there were high quality linens, bathrobes and slippers. The Beach House is very spacious with its own private pool and incredible views from the entire outdoor space, as well as the living room. It should be noted that the beach house is quite a distance from the other rooms, but the shuttle drivers were always available to pick us up and take us to breakfast, the Mermaid beach, etc.
The Frigate and Ficus suites are spacious and very centrally located directly above the Grotto beach and pool. They are recently remodeled and are very luxurious!
We enjoyed the Monday night Chillin' and Grillin' at The Mermaid restaurant. The food was delicious and the steel drum music added to the great atmosphere. Also delicious was dinner and breakfast at The Terrace restaurant.....don't miss the lobster at dinner. It was the best of any we ate during our 10 days in St. Croix.

While the resort and it's 3 amazing beaches are fabulous, the customer service is what truly sets The Buccaneer apart. We had great service from so many employees...and they all seem to learn your name almost immediately. Especially outstanding were Rebecca B., Patrick K., and Ricky....they made our family vacation unforgettably wonderful. We will definitely be back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank jenw89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just returned from a Sunday-Friday stay at the Buc. Our first time there, traveled with our 24 year old daughter who just spent 6 grueling weeks studying for and then taking step 1 of the US medical boards at the end of her second year of med school. We had emailed back and forth with reservations and the concierge, setting up taxi transfer from the airport, dinner reservations, one day auto rental and a Buck Island trip. They could not have been nicer.

We arrived at the airport and found our name was not on the Buccaneer board at the taxi stand. After traveling all day, that was a bit of a let down. Luckily I had our emails printed and showed to the gentleman there, who was very nice, arranged the taxi for us. When we arrived at the Buc, the front desk seemed if anything a little annoyed that we were asking for the taxi voucher they had promised us and I had to show the email about the taxi. Not once did the front desk apologize for their misstep. I am a physician and hospital administrator and our profession has historically done a poor job of satisfying patients; we have learned a lot from the hotel industry, including Disney and Ritz Carlton, about providing an exceptional patient experience and providing prompt service recovery. This was not a Ritz experience and not a good start to our stay. From their things went more smoothly.

Our beachfront room was terrific. Large, vaulted ceiling, travertine tile floor, nice lighting, good A/C, working wireless, and a large bathroom with travertine floor and walls and granite countertops. Patio looked out over Mermaid Beach. Heavenly. I've read reviews that the Buc is shabby or run down or dated. Perhaps it has to do with expectations. We've traveled extensively in the Caribbean and this was one of the nicest rooms we've come across. We're not expected a cool hip vibe. It's the Caribbean and what we got is what we expected, in fact exceeded our expectations. They do supply a can of Off- needed especially early and late in the day as the bugs will get you if you don't use!

We round a nice welcome basket and a personal card congratulating our daughter on her achievement, and mentioned a chilled bottle of champagne was in the fridge. Ooops- it wasn't there. We didn't really mind that misstep and didn't call the front desk. The thought was nice, the follow through missed.

Dinner at the Terrace was lovely. Please see our review. Ruby, our server, was a delight. The Mahi special was outstanding in every way.

Breakfast the next morning- our server again very pleasant. Sorry, can't recall her name. The buffet is very well done and omelets and oatmeal can be ordered if desired.

Our final evening we had dinner at the Martel Lounge and Pat, our server, was also a delight. So pleasant and fun.

In between, the service got a little spotty. Our other breakfast servers were unfriendly, unpleasant, seemed to have a bit of an attitude. Likewise, the housekeeping staff was at times rude or unpleasant.

Apart from these service failures, our stay was a delight in every way. The property is beautiful, as are the main building and Terrace, we walked the golf course every morning, the beaches are great. Polly, beach activities attendant at the Grotto beach, was wonderful. The concierges were wonderful and most helpful at all times. I recommend the full day Buck Island trip. We rented a car for a day and hiked to the Annaly bay tide pools and visited the Cruzan rum distillery- a really fun day. Snorkeling along Grotto beach would be a great introduction for young children- fish congregate on the far side of a rock shelf the parallels the beach. The rocky point between Grotto and Mermaid had some fish to see on the Mermaid side. The rocky point between Mermaid and Whistle beaches had more fish and clearer water. We never made it to Whistle beach or over to Shoy's. But the best snorkeling is on the Buck Island trip.

So all in all, a fantastic property, great food and activities, the only downside where the service missteps. At a lower level resort they would perhaps be tolerated, but at the Buc, given it's reputation and all that it offers, these shortcomings, when they do occur, are much more noticeable and unfortunately prevent me from giving the Buc 5 stars. I would return. Great resort for families and couples. Not sure I'd recommend it for a honeymoon as lots of little children may be a detractor. We have fond memories of our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the breachfront rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToYourHealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Had a great stay at The Buccaneer in February 2014. Very big resort with a lot of food options. Ate at each restaurant and all had a different variety of food and were very good. Ate outside the hotel once per the staffs recommendation and they provided transportation. The beaches and pool are all spectacular. They had some empty rooms so they moved us to an oceanfront room free of charge which was very nice of them. Staff accommodated all of our needs, they are all doing a great job. Did a tour to Buck Island which was great, hotel helped us book it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I NEVER write reviews. NEVER. I feel obligated to let prospective brides (and grooms) know what am AMAZING place this was for my wedding. I had never been to St. Croix and picked it by process of elimination. From the first contact, 9 months before the wedding, Kim Hummers (wedding planner) was on top of everything. I live in NYC and have a high sense of urgency, which Kim exceeded. There was not ONE THING that I would have done differently. She organized everything from when we (and my guests) landed to when we left. The rehearsal dinner, the day of spa appointments, the ceremony, dinner, and brunch the next day was all PERFECT. There were signs for us and well marked directions for my guests. The cars picked everyone up within a few seconds of calling. Everyone was gracious and treated us like we were royalty. We had DJ Q, who played the perfect selection if music. Kim made my wedding the fairy tale I was hoping for. I literally cannot say enough about having your wedding here.

Room Tip: I looked at Google Earth. All rooms were amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MOLLY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have absolutely nothing bad to say about the Buccaneer. This is not a homogenized, personality -free resort like a Sandals or Club Med - it's the real deal. The Buccaneer has history, nature, beautiful accommodations, and great food. I stayed the second week in May and had a fantastic experience. The complimentary morning breakfast buffet was very fresh and tasty (and they will bring you your very own pot of coffee for the table!). The beaches are gorgeous - I found the beach near the pool better for snorkeling and the Mermaid beach better for swimming and kayaking. Never made it into the pool - the ocean water was just too good to pass up. All the staff were so helpful and really made our stay pleasant (thank you to Christopher, Kareem, Jennida, Jerome, and Carlysle!). Take time to enjoy the lush grounds of the property - we saw lots of iguanas and crabs due to the season. Our room was a very nice size with all the amenities you could want and awe-inspiring views of the beach, downtown St. Croix, and Altoona Lagoon. I will definitely be back at the Buccaneer - thank you!

Room Tip: Stayed right above the lobby/terrace and it was a very quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
0.9 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.4 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
9.8 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buccaneer St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer St Croix

Property: The Buccaneer St Croix
Address: 5007 Shoys, Christiansted 00820-4536, St. Croix
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buccaneer St Croix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Kognitiv US Corp, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Buccaneer St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing