We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Nearby Hotels
Club Comanche(Christiansted)
US$266
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holger Danske Hotel(Christiansted)
US$150
VisitUSVI
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel on the Cay(Christiansted)(Great Value!)
US$194
US$157
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Buccaneer St Croix(Christiansted)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Company House Hotel(Christiansted)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King Christian Hotel(Christiansted)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
125
47
25
10
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
125
47
25
10
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuck islandst croixwasher dryergrocery storecane baythe ground floormaster bedroomsecurity guardquiet islandevery morningpoint udallnice breezepalm treessandy pointrented a carrelaxing vacationnight life
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2013

When me and my wife arrived on our first night we were disappointed and a little scared we'd made a bad decision on our honeymoon destination. The beach was grainy and harsh and the ocean had a lot of weeds on the shoreline. Swimming wasn't ideal, so we just kind of laid out. The only good thing was the view of Christiansted.

The neighborhood around the hotel was dilapidated, but we felt safe most of the time. There was some project housing across the street, but security was good.

But it didn't fit the pictures of St. Croix we had envisioned.

Thank goodness we got a rental car and got out of the hotel. St. Croix was wonderful once we moved out of out little corner of the island. The people were interesting and fun, the beaches were white and beautiful and the ocean was gorgeous on the easternmost and westernmost parts of the island.

The room itself was OK, but we had a hard time staying cool. There was one or two cockroaches, but we probably let those in. The room was pretty clean. The beds were so-so. There was a lot of hidden fees on A/C usage. We weren't charged anything (at least not yet), but we found a list of fees in the welcome guide buried under some brochures that we could have been charged. I think any and all fees should be upfront before you even book the room. I'd hate for a fee to hit my account when I'm not expecting one. Especially when there's no indication of how much you could be charged.

That said, it was cheaper than other hotels nearby — but you kind of got what you paid for. Eventually, we just starting spending most of our time away from the hotel and coming in only to sleep at nights. Which means you have to get a rental car to enjoy yourself. We used Avis and spent about $450 for the 14 days we were there. Not too bad, but it might be better to go with a more expensive hotel and save by not having a car.

The staff was OK too. Some were very friendly, others had an attitude with me for no reason. A maid knocked on our door to clean. I politely said we'd get out of her way as soon as possible and she rolled her eyes and left. Not sure what that was about. Another maid was quite friendly. Front desk staff was also hit or miss. Some seemed like a simple question was annoying. I asked for a taxi and the front desk man just stared at me for awhile like I'd said something offensive. But others were professional and friendly — even if they didn't have an answer they would tell me where I could get more information.

Would I visit St. Croix again? In a heartbeat. Would I stay at this hotel again? Maybe. But it might be worth paying more for something better on a different part of the island — closer to the east side or towards Frederiksted.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Condo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent visit to Sugar Beach. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time on St Croix. We do apologize that your stay at Sugar Beach was not everything you were hoping. We do rake the beach each and every morning, but you are right, it is a tough job to keep up with due to the tradewinds. Please be assured you will not be receiving any additional charges for A/C or for anything else. I am not 100% sure what guide you found in the room, but we will certainly check each room to make sure that is no longer in the rooms. We do think of ourselves as the ideal accommodations for the more ‘active’ traveler, who do like to go out and explore all the great things that St Croix has to offer, and then be able to come back to a ‘home’ base with full kitchens and comfortable, homey surroundings. We do hope we will be able to see you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Our stay at Theatre on the Beach could not have been more perfect.....actually,yes,it could have been longer. The condo was spacious and CLEAN and the new shower in the master bath was perfect. Nice roomy condo with a stunning balcony. The beach in front is fine for swimming or snorkeling and we found lots of conch shells, lobster and fish.. Some seagrass but it was avoidable. Proximity to Christianstead was a plus and groceries nearby. Condo has everything you need to feel at home. Our second time in St Croix and we are making plans to go next year....and stay at the same condo. Leslie the owner is kind and responsive. Loved it!

Room Tip: Choose 215
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeanne072455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Condo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

We appreciate receiving your kind review. Your travel tips will no doubt come in handy to future visitors. We are so pleased that you found a particular unit that you like. Sugar Beach offers all different types of accommodations – studios, one bedrooms, two bedrooms and even four bedrooms, all just steps from the beach – so why not bring friends along on your next visit! We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Unit 315 is a nice condo with enough space located right on the beach. When we were home, we spent most of our time sitting in the gallery or balcony overlooking the beach. The staff were very friendly and our group of 4 women felt very welcome and safe throughout our vacation on St. Croix. The beach is perfect for children since there are no waves here. You can walk to grocery stores and restaurants from this complex or It is a short drive to town. We rented a car and explored a lot of this beautiful island. Buck Island, Rainbow Beach, Cane Bay, it was a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: This is the largest condo in the complex with 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and was as described by the owner. One bedroom is a loft above one of the other bedrooms.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank woodgnome12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Condo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2013

We are pleased to read that you had such a nice vacation at the Sugar Beach Resort. Thanks for sharing so many great travel tips with future visitors to the resort and for pointing out the resort IS perfect for families! We will share your compliments with the team, who work very hard to make sure our guests enjoy their time in St Croix.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The Sugar Beach condos are not in the best part of town, but they are a great price because of it. You'll need a car or have to rely on taxis if you want to get into Christiansted proper. Our condo was clean and well-supplied with rental basics (soaps, kitchen cleaners, beach chairs, linens, etc), and we really enjoyed the view out to the reef. The master bedroom was great and had a good master bath with walk-in shower. The other bedroom was a bit stuffy if you closed the door, so folks just left the door open. The condo is designed with enough hallway doors for privacy.

Sugar Beach is in the middle of a long strip of condo developments along a beach. The sand isn't superfine (certainly not sugar), and the water has a lot of sea grass which they constantly rake off the beach itself, but the snorkeling out to the tire reef is fantastic! There's always a nice breeze on the porch and you can hear the surf at night. Blissful.

Across the street on the backside of the property is the projects. Stay respectful of their space and you shouldn't have a problem; Sugar Beach also has night watchmen who walk the beach. There are also bars on all the windows, but truly, they do not impair the beach experience.

There's a decent club house with a computer and a very nice pool area. We had a few meals out there and it was fun. Right next door is another condo which has the restaurant Breezes, a good place to eat. You can walk west along the shore (wear rock shoes) and end up at Estate Little Princess, a Nature Conservancy spot that's a delight to explore.

Christiansted is a 7 minute car ride away. There are a number of grocery stores nearby; ask at the desk for the better ones to go to, depending on what you want.

Room Tip: First floor condos have direct access to beach. 2nd and 2rd floor condos have better air circulation. All have good views.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skeptika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Condo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

We are so pleased to hear that you had such a pleasant vacation and enjoyed your room. Thank you for noting that Sugar Beach Resort offers good value. Your travel tips will no doubt come in handy to future visitors! We certainly hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This cozy little set of apartments has a nice beach, with some hammocks, is calm and relaxing... and is close to town. They also have a swimming pool. There is convenient shopping nearby and lots of good places to eat there along the beach. If you want night life, it is a short drive to Christensted (- though if you want to be in the thick of it stay at one of the nice hotels (several) over there).

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SWeems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Condo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for posting your kind comments. We very much appreciate when our valued guests take time to leave reviews. We look forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews