We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Texas girl says NO!! Don't waste your $$$ here !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The place was dead upon arrival.. Now we know why!!! Me & boyfriend stayed here July 2013 for 4 nights. We did NOT have warm water and were forced to take COLD showers DAILY.. Rooms are NOT CLEAN. The "buffet" consists of about 3 or 4 items. The pool sucks- no swim up bar. We were left with no electricity one night. There is NO "SPA"...not sure why the website says they have one. The view of the beach is great - too bad the hotel sucks. The rooms are COMPLETELY OVER PRICED for what you get . I am low maintenance and still thought the hotel was TERRIBLE!

Besides the hotel- we took seaborne flight to St Thomas for a day and enjoyed it. We ate dinner at The Buccaneer one night- its pricey but worth it! Also- we ate at boardwalk another night and it was ok.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ilovesusielicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We try our best to make sure that guests are having an enjoyable vacation by providing information about things to do at the resort as well as around the island. This information is provided at check in as well as in the Daily Divi Melee that is printed and placed on the tables at breakfast and there is always one posted at the Front Desk. In addition to this, there is a bulletin board at the main entrance to the Dockside Restaurant that gives you an idea of how to plan your week. We understand that not everyone would want to take the time out to review these information packets, so once available, a manager walks around and if they see you they would ask you how things are going. This is so that if you have any questions or concerns we could immediately address them and once it is within our abilities we try to get everything straightened out.

Having read your review, please allow me to clarify certain things. We do have a Spa located next to room 480. It is open by appointment only and appointments are made through our Gift Shop. We advertise this in our in house news letter available every morning at breakfast. Our massage therapists even offer Beach Massages on Sunday again available by appointment only.

Also, we did not have any unscheduled power outage and when we did schedule an outage it was during the day for about 15-30min to test our systems as there was a fire within our power plant back in May. These tests were done during a time where most people were not in the room so that there would be minimal affect on any vacation.

None of our buffets have only 3 or 4 items. Some are smaller than others and on those days we have a bar menu available. You are correct in that we do not have a swim up bar but we do not advertise as having one. When I asked your boyfriend how everything was going he said to me that he loved it so I’m not sure where things were going bad. Either way, we apologize for any seemingly inconvenience you experienced while with us and hope that you had the opportunity to create better memories around the island.

Sincerely,


Ycianda “E.C.” Granville
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

We picked Divi for our June honeymoon. We have never really traveled before this so I was a bit nervous after reading reviews and such. One reason we picked St. Croix was because we did not want to go out of U.S. territory. After arriving, I was soo happy we picked Divi. The island is definitely more laid back and relaxed than St. Thomas, but we enjoyed this after dealing with the hustle and bustle of wedding planning prior to going. The staff is amazing and always made sure we were having a good time and that everything was going accordingly. E.C. even came up to us on her days off when she was there to check in on our experience. The bartenders are AMAZING and would have my husbands beer for him as soon as we came up to the bar. Dave, Curt, and Luna were are top faves and made our trip that much more special. The food is fast wherever you go, the only place it took a little time was the pizza shop, but it was sooo worth the wait. We enjoyed the theme dinners and the lunch was always delicious. If your looking for a carribbean vacation where you can eat exotic foods the entire time, then this may not be your place. We loved that part of the resort! My husband is a hamburger expert and said that the burgers he had there were the BEST he has ever had. We met amazing people during our time there and had a blast, karaoke night was turned into a dance party by the guests so I cant say its dull there by any means. The room was clean the entire time we were there and I was highly impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms since it was an island. Even though it costs money, i recommend if going anywhere other than the resort to take a taxi, it was like a mini-tour guide. Drinks are amazing there and our view from the room was amazing. we were on the second floor above the swimming pool. We will definitely be back to DIVI!!

Room Tip: I dont think there is a bad room!!! We enjoyed the second floor rooms. I think the rooms from second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Congratulations once more to you both! It was a pleasure to having you here and getting to experience firsthand in love you two truly are. There is just something about newlyweds that really gets us going.

We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you took back lovely memories of your visit to St. Croix. You are right that most drivers would give you a little history of the area that you may be driving through. In fact, a question to anyone around the island may get you caught in an unbelievable history lesson. From the reason you see seven flags flying in Christiansted Town to the weather phenomena that we've experienced over the years, you could easily spend a few hours learning the different ways we have survived the test of time and Mother Nature.

Thank you for sharing this delightful review of your time with us. We can't wait to celebrate your anniversary with you! Here's to love, life and Cruzan Rum of course!

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

After reading some of the reviews about this resort (after booking...lol) I was really nervous to say the least. The divi turned out to be a great choice. The staff was very attentive and pleasant. The rooms were very clean. Plenty of food and beverages. Perfect place to relax and enjoy the beach. The beach does have a lot of sea grass and stones, but the staff does a great job of clearing away what they can. Just a very unpretentious friendly place.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room, just a matter of preference. The first floor ocean side was j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 350Michele_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Thank you for sharing a review of your "mini vacation" to St. Croix and Divi Carina Bay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here and that you were able to experience several memorable moments. Your brief but to the point review will certainly assist others like yourself that look at these postings to decide if this is the place for them.

Thanks again for sharing!

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Divi Carina was above and beyond what we expected! From the second we walked in the resort staff as friendly as can be and did everything with a smile. We had a large group with us and they took care of our every need.
The rooms were very clean and the view was amazing! Each night had a different theme for dinner and entertainment. The food was far above our expectations! I have to say the dinner (shrimp) on a rock was by far my favorite! The drinks....so many drinks to choose from...were all delicious!!! Try the dirty banana and bushwacker!
My only hiccup (reason I gave location a 4) was the beach front. There is seaweed which takes away from the clear water views. But they keep the beach as clean as can be. We walked a little and found the perfect beach which took all my hiccups away!
Divi Carina will always have a special place in our hearts! They made our dream wedding come true! We can't wait to return for our many anniversaries to come!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Congratulations once again on the joining of hands, lives and hearts. We are happy to know that we took what you had in mind and made it a reality. It certainly means a lot to us that you chose to celebrate at Divi Carina. It was our pleasure to be a part of such a special occasion.

Thank you so much for sharing a review of your time with us and for acknowledging all the hard work that our staff put in to making sure your trip is a memorable one. Until we see you again…take care!

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This was the most relaxing vacation we've ever had...OH, we married off our daughter, the staff at Divi made all the arrangements for her beautiful beach wedding!! The food was delicious ... our favorite was the "Rock" dinner ... we will be back!!! Thank you all again!!!

Room Tip: be sure to get an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Thank you so much for posting this brief yet delightful review of your stay. Having experienced the wedding along with your family was such a wonderful occasion for us. We are always glad to share in the planning for two people ready to share the rest of their lives with each other.

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed your company. Thanks again for sharing! We're anticipating your return.

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We just came back from 6 days at divi carina bay all inclusive in st croix. Best vacation of our lives. Very friendly, great customer service. Every employee seemed happy to help make our stay remarkable.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marisign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Thank you for sharing how your visit with us went. We are ecstatic to hear that our hospitality and customer service really made a superb impact on your vacation. We always welcome our guests to let us know when we are doing things right or where we need improvements. Thank you for letting us know that all the training and hard work that we put into customer service really adds to our customer satisfaction levels.

Thank s again for sharing! We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We had a wonderful experience. I worked in the hospitality industry at Four Star resorts for almost 10 years and have high expectations for hotels. Divi meet my high expectations.We went for our friends wedding, which was perfect! The reception was great! The rooms were clean, the bed and pillows were comfortable. The balcony view was breathtaking! The staff was very accommodating and friendly. Scott, Marlen, E.C, David and Sean were awesome! We had a great time on the snorkeling tour with Sean. While snorkeling, we saw queen conchs, eagle rays, lobsters, starfish, and various colorful fish. The food was good, great drinks. The hotel did a nice job of keeping you entertained at night, great DJ, awesome band. I would recommend taking a cab into the quaint, historic town of Christiansted. We would highly recommend the Divi! Beautiful! Paradise!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor amazing, beautiful views. Every-room has great views though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiab259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Thank you ever so much for sharing your review of the time that you spent with us. That the hospitality, location and entertainment of our property were the things that really added a spectacular bonus to your visit is the reason we try to bring in various experiences.

Thank you for sharing your experience and letting others know your thoughts on Carina Bay. Thanks again for the review. See you again soon!
Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
7.6 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
217 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
6.6 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
500 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,430 reviews
15.0 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Address: 5025 Turner Hole, Christiansted 00820-4548, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range: £125 - £447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience St Croix's only All Inclusive! The Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort and Casino is a lively retreat nestled on a secluded shore in the beautiful island of St. Croix. Modern beachfront guestrooms, poolside dining, hammocks by the shore, live entertainment; your home for Family, Food and Fun …- it’s All Included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Kognitiv US Corp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Hotel Christiansted
Divi Carina Bay Hotel
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing