We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Club Comanche(Christiansted)
US$304
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel on the Cay(Christiansted)(Great Value!)
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Buccaneer St Croix(Christiansted)
US$379
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holger Danske Hotel(Christiansted)
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Company House Hotel(Christiansted)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King Christian Hotel(Christiansted)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (858)
Filter reviews
858 results
Traveller rating
277
262
144
107
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
262
144
107
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini golfbig alstarlite grillegift shopdriving rangest croixbuck islandoff seasonour honeymoonwater sportsrented a carthe general managerfire dancerslaid backnightly entertainmentmoko jumbieseast end of the island
Filter
Updating list...
358 - 363 of 858 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Having over 30 people coming for my sons wedding, I was very apprehensive about the negative reviews. Nothing could be further from the truth. The hotel was wonderful. Check in was easy and fast. My room was big, very clean, and attractive. Every room has a beautiful view of the ocean with a small balcony. The slider door moved easily and locking the door was simple. There was ample space for clothing. We had an iron with a board, a blow dryer. There was a fridge, a microwave and a large and clean bathroom. The hot water in the shower worked perfectly every time, and there were plenty of towels. The maid (nice lady Mary) had the room cleaned every day by 1030am, which included mopping the floors. We reserved 13 rooms and nobody complained about room condition.
Food- Breakfast was a buffet which was fine. Normal fare though they would cook you an omelet if you wanted. Abel, our breakfast server was such a nice man. For lunch there was the dockside cafe by the pool. Food there was great. Everyone loved the cheeseburgers, coconut shrimp, chicken wrap, and philly cheese steaks. The mozzarella sticks were excellent as well. A couple of days there would be a buffet with chicken and fish as well. Dinner was great with a carribean bbq on Thursday, the rok dinner on Friday, and a pig roast buffet on Saturday nite. A seafood buffet was served to the wedding guests after the ceremony in the private area overlooking the pool,,Just perfect. The pizza place was outstanding. Jamaican jerk pizza was the choice of the nite.
Activities.- The beach did have the seaweed and rocks, but they did try cleaning it every morning. We all went to the pool anyway, which was the best! Clean- no broken ladders or cracked surfaces-just clean and beautiful.The towels were thick enough and we could always exchange them if needed for dry ones. Edward the desk man who gave us towels was a very nice guy. Always an hello and a smile. We would stay in til well past sunset in the pool with our drinks having the time of our lives.
The carribean dance was fun with the guys on stilts really something. There was a band on Saturday night that was really good. Steel band on another night, karaoke, and the crab races which were fun. Yes everything shuts down at 10pm, but its St. Croix- not Vegas.
The casino was a 5 minute walk, though they will shuttle you there if you ask. Casino was small and they had a snack place for drinks and food with did the trick for late night.
Service- We went during off season which kept the crowd down, and we never waited for a drink. Scott was our bartender most of the time and he was great. Service at the tables was fast and friendly, with Marlon leading the way with his smile and attentiveness.
The hotel went out of their way our last day to please us. They let us stay even though we had checked out cause our flights were later, and we were able to have a lunch on the house. They will even print out your boarding passes for your flight home.
I dont know what hotel the negative reviewers went to, but it wasnt the same one we all went to. Dont believe the negative reviews. 33 people, not one complaint, and we are already talking an reunion down the down. Thank you Divi Carina Bay for such a fabulous week for such an important occassion.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catscan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for sharing such a detailed review of your stay with us. We are elated to hear that everyone in your group not only enjoyed the property but the food and staff as well. Everyone mentioned in your post will have an extra special smile on their faces, knowing how much they added to making your stay a special one.

We are also happy to hear that you found the entertainment that we offered to be fun and exciting. Due to the slow season, we do start changing around what we offer so that we can add a little more of a personal touch to your experience and while we do this even during the high season, it's even more intricate during the slow season. Our staff have some of the most remarkable personalities and we are glad to hear that you appreciated that personal touch that they each offer. We want you to feel as though you are as much a part of The Divi Family as we are.

A family reunion in the making sounds like a great idea! Thanks again for sharing your review. We can't wait to see you again.

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful but the food is blah, no bang! You can easily run out of things to do here. All inclusive is the best thing. It is very clean and service is great. Until they open more businesses in St. Croix I will not be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shacoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you for sharing a review of your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found the All Inclusive Package to be beneficial.

Thanks again for sharing!

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and I were looking for a place to stay right on the beach where we could fall asleep to the sound of the ocean. This is it! He prefers the sunrise so he got to see that in the morning. (You cannot see the sunset from this area.) All of the rooms are just steps away from the water and the sound is so soothing. We were not aware that August is off season so we felt like the resort was ours. Sometimes it seemed that there was more staff than guests. We couldn't complain. The staff was out of this world! We did not meet one nasty soul. Many of the workers are natives, but many have migrated to the island from the continental U.S. We were impressed with our welcome from the very start and would like to mention the staff who left an impression on us and who helped to make our vacation a special and memorable one. There was Shanique at the front desk and Edmond the towel boy. Super smiles! We were appreciative of Abel's attentiveness at breakfast. Krys, Curt, and Luna were fun bartenders. Suzette and Robert were in charge of activities and very attentive. Marlon was our favorite waiter with lots of personality. E.C., the night manager was also very personable and made herself available. The beach offered enough for a nice stroll. Due to the location of the island, the water was not the most beautiful color and it was FILLED with seaweed that they swept up daily, but just could not maintain. Our snorkeling experience was not great in this area. We saw a few conchs and a stingray... The food was not spectacular, but it was quite filling. The mixed drinks were not terribly strong... But the surroundings were lovely. The place was clean. Even though it sometimes took til 3:00 to have our rooms cleaned, none of this mattered. There is definitely an aura of serenity at this resort. If you want to go off the resort, we do not recommend that you hire a taxi cab driver to take you around the island. We paid $150 for a 4 hour trip and ended up spending 1 whole hour broken down in the rain forest. Another driver rescued us and was in such a hurry to get us back that we flew through some places that really were not what we would consider highlights of St. Croix. We got to see schools, trees, the refinery, and a cemetery. What we would have liked to have seen more of would be the BEACHES! If we go back, we feel it would definitely be worth renting a car, taking our time, and exploring on our own. (Just remember that if you are driving, to stay on the LEFT...) OR it would have been worth our while to have researched all of the places we wanted to see and giving the driver our list as opposed to leaving it up to him. Note that this is not the island for shopping either. If you want shopping, go to St. Thomas. Although if you want an original Crucian bracelet, do pick one up here. If you are a rum drinker, be sure to purchase your good deals on this island. OVERALL, we had a fantastic trip because we were looking for a simple place to RELAX and this was it! We would especially like to thank the staff at the Divi Carina for making that happen!

Room Tip: We enjoyed having a room on the first floor so we could open the slider and walk right out onto the beach.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caraandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for sharing a review on how your trip to St. Croix and the Divi Carina Bay went. We are pleased to hear that you found everything to your liking. I'm sure everyone will smile at the comments you have made.

It's unfortunate that you did not fully enjoy your excursion out on the island but it's nice to hear that you did not allow that to have a negative impact on your stay. Things happen and most of the time they always seem to happen just when you think they wouldn't. On the other hand, you did get to live "life in the left lane" for a bit without actually feeling overwhelmed by the thought of being on the wrong side of the road and we were glad to see you get a laugh out of the overall adventure.

Thanks again for sharing! Don't wait for the doctor to prescribe some rest and relaxation before you come to visit again!

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Hello
My wife and i went down to divi just to get away from the Ny area for a weekend and we wanted a nice island but not to over crowded like the city or st thomas so we picked st croix,, the hotel is a little dated but the people were awesome and the food is a 5 star for breakfast lunch and dinner and the pizza place when you catch it open on site is the best go for the 40 minn slow cook brick oven pizza . and the bartenders by the pool are great thanks Curt :)) i would recommend this to anyone and there is a casino across the street and rent a car is a must to see the sites and hit the liquor factories for free bottles to take home ,, the best beach is rainbow beach where the ships dock the sand is like sugar ..

Room Tip: choose a deluxe room or a villa if they have it available
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for sharing your brief but direct review of your recent mini-vacation with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff as well as our accommodations to be exactly what you expected. We work all year on our Customer Service levels and are pleased to hear that they have made a difference to your stay.

The unique thing about our location and they way our property is structured is that it provides a place of tranquility where there is a very open air feel and lots of space so that you do not feel overcrowded. There are things that you can do on property as well as off property. It seems as though you took advantage of both.

Thanks again for sharing your review. We are glad that we were able to provide you with the relaxation you were looking for and hope that you are able to return for some more.

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Every single person we talked to said, "I will never come back here!"

First- I emailed 3 times asking about the availability of certain foods and the only response I got was, I promise to get back to you tomorrow, have a blessed day...did not happen so I called and spoke to the chef who assured me they would accommodate my vegan food requests. More about this later.
Then, our rooms were not ready, they had the dates wrong. Waited hours till they finally figured it out, no offer of drinks, food, etc while waiting.
Into the deluxe ocean front (top of the line) rooms and one of the keys would not work, hours more and they managed to fix it. The rooms reeked of cheap cleaners. The a/c control on the wall seemed like it worked and it wasn't till dark that I saw a wall unit so turned it off. The grate in the room was covered in mold and smelly.
The bathroom sink hot water would not turn on, the handle did not move. While in the midst of showering all the cold water went off and stayed off. The cold did not come back on so we jumped out quick before getting burned.
The sea is total sea grass so not good for swimming. You can't see through it to see sea urchins or anemones. We ended up renting a car to find a decent beach.
The pool had missing concrete sections in the bottom and the ladders were falling off.
They never made it across the entire beach to rake up the seaweed. Some mornings they raked piles at intervals along about half of the beach in front of the resort. Some days they managed to pick them up by the afternoon when more seaweed had washed up, others they didn't.
Back to eating and drinking at this "all inclusive" Have you ever gone to an all inclusive where you sign a check with fake prices for every single bottle of water you get? It is a real pain in the rear. They have no clue how to run the place. None. Divi -check with Melia or someone to figure it out please!
So got there and they had nothing to eat but salad. I requested some sort of protein, like beans, and they asked green or red. I said red and they opened a can of kidney beans and dumped them in a bowl along with the American total junk food of years ago, unenlightened is too kind. And this is just the food! I asked if they had oil and vinegar and was told No! I said, yes you do, I had some at lunch. Even that is the cheapest horrible stuff i.e. white vinegar and cheap clear oil. If you want olive oil or balsamic vinegar go to any other resort!
The wait staff are almost across the board nasty, slow even by island standards and rude as can be. One slammed the food down on the table without getting the food near the person who ordered it. There is only one eating place open at a time, maybe there was something at the casino but we didn't go there as it was across the street and children were not allowed to set food in even restaurant.
Italian night- here is what was not present...tomato sauce, olive oil, bread, salad, oregano. Get my point? Horrible, awful garbage food.
So we made the most of this horrible place mostly by getting in the car and leaving. Had a layover in Miami and got some food. I was delighted to get a bite of flavor, and said, "OMG this airport food tastes far better than the food at Divi." My son replied, "I was just thinking the same!"
In conclusion- don't go. I wish we listened to the reviews instead of writing all the negative ones off to the "fire"

Room Tip: Don't go, awful place all around!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mfishermg75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

We are so disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you found so many things wrong. We were under the impression that you enjoyed the tofu dinners we prepared as well as the Rok of Ages. Italian night is a twist on a buffet where you get to speak directly to the cooks and tell them what you would like to have in your plate. Perhaps you missed the bread basket or it was about to be refilled as you passed it. However, a quick question to our staff would have sorted that out for you.

We wished that you had brought all of your concerns to us sooner so that they could be sorted out the same way we sorted out your eating preference on your first night. After speaking with you and your family night after night I’m very surprised to hear how many things you were not pleased with. Nonetheless, we hope you were able to take away good memories of St. Croix and the excursions that your family took while on vacations.

Sincerely,

Ycianda “E.C.” Granville
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews