We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Club Comanche(Christiansted)
US$248
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holger Danske Hotel(Christiansted)
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel on the Cay(Christiansted)(Great Value!)
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$221
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$282
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Buccaneer St Croix(Christiansted)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Company House Hotel(Christiansted)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King Christian Hotel(Christiansted)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (858)
Filter reviews
858 results
Traveller rating
277
262
144
107
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
262
144
107
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini golfbig alstarlite grillegift shopdriving rangest croixbuck islandoff seasonour honeymoonwater sportsrented a carthe general managerfire dancerslaid backnightly entertainmentmoko jumbieseast end of the island
Filter
Updating list...
773 - 778 of 858 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2006

Just returned from a wonderful vacation in St. Croix. We thoroughly enjoyed our week-long stay at the Divi Carina Bay! Our unit was a one-bedroom villa on the hillside across the street. Arriving fairly late (and tired), we could not believe that there was no way to get our luggage up the hill to the villa other than climbing 74 steps (we counted them)! A very helpful employee carried two of our bags up, thank goodness. Once we were settled in, we didn't mind the steps, but the villas aren't a good place for anyone with limited mobility.

The unit was clean and spacious - and the view from the balcony was breath-taking! Our only complaint would be that the sofa (a hide-a-bed) was horrendous. When we sat on it, we had to sit on bed pillows to avoid sinking down to the metal frame. I can't imagine anyone attempting to sleep on it. The sofas definitely need to be replaced. Other than that, however, everything was great. We did a little cooking and found the supplies to be quite adequate.

We enjoyed the complimentary bloody Mary's and mimosas at the welcome orientation on Sunday morning as well as the helpful information about resort and island activities. Also enjoyed the general manager's reception a few days later with steel pan entertainment, substantial hors d'oeurves, and rum punch. That was dinner for us.

There was an hour of free sea kayaking one morning - great to paddle around and view the entire resort from the sea. We also snorkled (brought our own equipment) down the beach to the west of the resort. They provided free life vests for snorklers, which really helped.

We used both pools and neither was very crowded at any time. Had no problem finding a couple of comfortable chaises on the beach or by the pool, or a hammock in the shade under the trees. Also enjoyed both hot tubs - one by the main pool and the other in the villa area.

Another plus - there were four internet stations available for general use, so doing a quick email check or looking up information about local sights was easily done.

The resort has a Caribbean Buffet with entertainment on Thursday nights. You don't have to eat the buffet to enjoy the entertainment! We weren't interesting in eating a big meal that night, but did go down to watch the Mocko Jumbies perform, followed by a "broken glass dancer" who also did an amazingly low limbo.

Resort employees were generally very pleasant and helpful - oh, and the Caribbean eggs benedict was the best breakfast I had had in a long time.

All in all, it was a great trip. We did rent a car so we could explore and would recommend that because the resort is far from almost anything. We'd go back to the Divi any time!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank TA_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2006

We just returned from St.Croix and already want to go back! The Divi was great,on the quiet south east side.Rent a jeep as the resort is 20 minutes from everything.The island is a blast to explore ,I think we spent most of our time exploring other beaches and taking in the many gorgeous views.The Starlie Grill at the Divi is very good,but you also have to get out to the many excellent spots.The Terrace at the Buccanieer is the BEST! the view is breath taking! Kendricks is also very good. St.Croix is some of the best wall diving this side of the Caymans! Cane Bay at the Divi is a great dive shop.they can arrange everything for you.Salt river canyon is one of the best dives ever.We saw dolphins and a Humpback whale breeched right in front of our boat! We really liked the Divi and loved St.Croix,cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GRIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2006

The Divi represents itself as a relatively high class resort. It's not. During our week stay it became clear that the Divi caters to a US suburban casino crowd. If you're looking for any international flavor you won't find it here. The food is middling at best (think Olive Garden) and the bar drinks are so bad that we ended up buying our own booze and fruit and making drinks in our room.

The room was nice - top floor Oceanview (see photo 3 of their web Photo Gallery), far away (west end - where the rooms are right on the beach) from the pool full of screaming kids. Note that only photo 6 shows the west end of the resort. I wouldn't want to stay in the far west section that has 4 floors, though, because the beach outside of there is simply not usable. We were in the next section, with 3 floors.

The beaches were very disappointing. We went in the water once the whole week. If you like swimming in sea grass then this is the place for you. The sand itself was OK (better at the east end than the west end) but only because they swept up the sea grass every morning.

Most of the staff seemed to view guests as a nuisance, not as the reason for the business. Notable exceptions were the Concierge (Edmund) and a couple of waitresses at breakfast. The front desk folks were downright rude and unhelpful. To be fair, this seems to be the general attitude on this island - much different than on St. Thomas.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank cpr4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
18
Reviewed 28 February 2006

We will go back whenever we need a "fix" on blue sky, turquoise water, sunny days and lovely people. This is the resort to go to and leave all your worries behind....truly a little piece of heaven. We were there in November 2005 for our 40th anniversary and it brought back many memories of our honeymoon on that very same beach. The hotel was destroyed in hurricane Hugo in 1989 but the Divi is a wonderful replacement for it. The staff, waiters, bartenders and housekeepers were all friendly and made us feel most welcome. We can't wait to go back to our "home away from home!"

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2006

The Divi exceeded my expectations! We travel alot and I consider myself picky! The room was fabulous.Nice and new and decorated well.The ocean front view was one of the best I've had at a far cheaper rate that what we've payed elsewhere. The entire staff was terrific! From the front desk, to dining, to the maids and bartenders couldn't have been better. Whom ever is doing all the complaining...I didn't see it. Yes one night at dinner they brought the wine way late like literally before the meal but the service was nice, the atmosphere romantic, and the food was quite good. We went to town to eat and thought the Divi was better...I'm not expecting New York quality dining in the carribean, but it was as good as Columbus Ohio any day of the week. The beach well was dirty and full of cigarettes with alot of rocks and shells, didn't care for the beach much at all,heard Sandy Point in Frederickstead was nice but didn't go. The island itself is diverese and beautiful. We loved its charm and beauty, but not much to do at night and limited shopping. Its not as busy as St Thomas or St Martin (in a good way) but busier than Turks and Caicos or some quiet island meaning there is enough to do...Overall I loved the island I wish the beaches were nicer. We drove everywhere and those that have safety concerns don't believe it, looked safe and clean to me, one of the cleanest and safest I've seen (no bars on windows with armed gurards like St martin).I would not hesistate to recommend Divi and I would go back.Overall a nice resort with great staff! Those complainers need to give the Divi a break,It isn't Ritz Carlton but its no motel 6 eiether. Its nice modest resort with alot of charm.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sunshinegirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews