We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel on the Cay
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
King Christian Hotel(Christiansted)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kings Alley Hotel(Christiansted)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Club Comanche(Christiansted)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Company House Hotel(Christiansted)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holger Danske Hotel(Christiansted)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Buccaneer St Croix(Christiansted)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (513)
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveller rating
143
220
88
39
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
220
88
39
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate islandferry ridetoaster ovenmain islandfree for hotel gueststuesday nightshort ferryferry servicest croixwater ferrysmall storebeach barbecuesmall islandchristiansted boardwalkuntil midnightan older hotelsmall kitchenette
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 513 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

John, the general manager of the hotel was friendly, personable, and very welcoming. Interesting man, working on his PhD in his spare time and also maintaining an interest in his guests. Always professional, helpful and kind while looking after the best interest of his guests.

While the inner courtyard could use some maintenance and upkeep, the rooms were clean, well maintained and organized. The views from the rooms were across the water towards Gallows Bay or toward Christiansted Harbor.
The hotel was run very efficiently.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I found my stay at "Hotel on the Cay" to be extremely enjoyable. The staff Ana, Sarah, and Memsa went out of their way to ensure my visit was pleasurable. Their customer service was surprisingly pleasant (due to the continuous inadequate service that is usually received here on-island in STX compared to STT, which is unfortunate.) The rooms and hotel itself could use some contemporary updates, however the less modern feel was acceptable. Our 3rd floor room had an amazing ocean view with a cool breeze coming from the balcony, and the ferry offers convenient hours in order to travel back and forth into town. The beach was an extra added bonus; nice and relaxing with a bar and grill that offered an appetizing menu. Overall, I had a wonderful time and will definitely recommend staying at Hotel on the Cay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Island L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

This was just a long weekend, wedding anniversary trip. In its time this was probably a gorgeous hotel. It's still a wonderful location and concept but in bad need of investors to renovate. This could easily be 5 star with money & renovation. Service was very slow but friendly. They only serve breakfast & lunch. The "restaurant" is not associated with the hotel. Go to breakfast or lunch well before you're hungry. Tiny "store" by the ferry. Ferry ride available whenever you need it and ride is a 2 minute ride. Beware no elevator if you cannot climb stairs. Negatives aside, we'd still go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyNTimT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

You can not prepare for the beauty of this little cay in the middle of the harbor. Everything is almost perfect Every view is breathtaking, every piece of ground is meticulously maintained, and the staff is wonderful.
The only disappointment was no hotel restaurant and bar. Of course, his is offset by 24 hour free ferry service. By the way, although I did not time a ride, I don't believe it was more then 2.5 minutes dock to dock.
I need to go back!!!!!!

Room Tip: Any room or suite has a spectacular view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon. We were in a rush to find somewhere to go because our two week Greek isle vacation had to be cancelled due to job not allowing to take two weeks consecutively. We found Hotel on the Cay through Groupon and found that the price and location fit in with exactly what we wanted. We stayed here for 8 nights 9 days. And let me tell you not only was it a great replacement for our greek vacation, but we fell in love with the island, the people, the food and everything in between. First let me say that the location is unbeatable. Hotel on the cay is perched on this little island on Christiansted Harbor, with a beach and views to die for. Well Maintained, water pristine, and quiet as can be. The ferry ride to the island is part of the experience, so relaxing and a gem, and a free for hotel guests. The hotel grounds are well maintained and very lush, there is on going updates happening, so expect that when walking through. Also the rooms are not anything amazing but, they are clean, beds are super comfortable, hard to wake up in the morning. The Décor can be undated. But our view was stunning along with many other rooms that we saw as well. Remember the hotel is going through some updates so be prepared. The food at the Harbormaster was decent, conch fritters were yummy, and the drinks were always great, pricey, but good. Bucket of Corona's for $15... can't beat it. The location to Christiansted and everything on the island is ideal, the ferry brings you right to the boardwalk which you can walk along to many places to eat and shop. There are not many people on the island. Apparently we were there during off season.....so it was very quiet. But we were not complaining, it's exactly what we wanted! We met a married couple also from the same place we live and bonded very closely with them, and ended up doing dinner every nite with them, as well as going to Buck Island and snorkeling! An experience you do not want to miss when going to St. Croix. We also rented a car and went to the East end to Fredriksted and ate at the Pink Spot, phenomenal as well!!!! Drove up and down the east end to Sandy Point, walked the beach even though we weren't supposed too, oopsie, and went all the way to the point where Shawshank Redemption was filmed at the end scene, it was equally as stunning and beautiful. We also drove to Cane Bay one day, where we got some Roti's which are Caribbean curry burritos and picnicked on the beach at cane bay, and got a little sun, swam in the water and then set up shop at E.A.T on Cane Bay and drank our afternoon away while looking off into the scenery, another amazing day!!! I can go on and on, let me just say that we fell in love with St. Croix. It truly is a hidden Gem and a place of beauty. We already set our time to go back in September and again we will be staying at Hotel on the Cay because in our opinion, the price, location and beauty coincides to what we envisioned our vacation to be. Of course you can stay at the fancier, higher end spots, but Hotel on the Cay provided, seclusion, exclusiveness, and the peace and serenity we were aiming for our honeymoon! We will be back and can't wait to experience it all over again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank babybear315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews