We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous 4th of July”
Review of Hotel on the Cay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel on the Cay
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My sister and I with our families stayed over the 4th at the Hotel on the Cay. Yes the place does need upgrades, but John and Sarah are very welcoming and accommodating. My sister had problems with her room and they were moved immediately to another room and compensated for a night's cost. John made a grocery run for us when he went into town. The room kitchenettes make it a good place for families with children for saving money on food. Beach area has plenty of chairs. Ferry is always ready to take you for a 2 minute ride to the main land. Close to the boardwalk, shopping and tours. Big Beard's is fantastic for a day of snorkeling. All eating places, Rum Runners, Angry Nates, You are here, are good. If you want something a little more upscale, go to Savant; a short walk up Hospital Street. Avocado Pitt is much better for an afternoon ice cream or smoothie. Lunch took a long time to arrive and orders were mixed up.

Room Tip: There is no elevator and three floors of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I showed up here with my boyfriend on a holiday weekend without reservations after cutting a stay short at another unnamed place that I wasn't happy with. The manager John was very accommodating. He said they were short on rooms but personally showed us three and let us pick which one we'd like. He gave us a rate on the room even a few dollars less than the lowest price I saw online.

The room was clean and cool, but yes out dated as the other reviews mention. John showed us what all the rooms will look like once entire renovation is complete and they will definitely benefit from that update.

The ferry ride was actually a fun way to start and end each day. I looked forward to it.

The beach is nice, especially at night. We brought our own wine to the beach chairs around 10 pm a few nights and had the beach to ourselves. No mosquitos if you wait a while after sun goes down.

In relation to the other resorts, I really like the central location of this one. If you have a car parking isn't bad right across the street from the ferry drop off. We visited the other resorts and their beaches and I wS glad we weren't secluded and far out of the way like a lot of them were.

I would recommend this hotel to friend or family to stay at for the price, location, and comfort. Unless you want really high end luxury resort, this is a great place to stay and explore the rest of the island from.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our group of 4 older couples in their mid 60's just returned from our 4th 2 week golf trip at the HOTC, and were even more pleased than we were on previous trips. As usual, the whole staff was very congenial , while still being customer oriented. They have seemed to be in a continuous upgrading mode during all of our trips, but still took the time to fix those little quirks that will always pop up on a trip. The upgrades are very noticeable. The cleanliness, etc were more than what one would hope for when staying at a small hotel out on a small island.

This will likely always be our place to stay when visiting the island, and some of us are even considering purchasing timeshare units at the HOTC when they come available. None of us had any suggestions regarding how the staff could have improved things.

Room Tip: Most rooms have good views, but we like facing the beach on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikeslots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Our experience at HOTC was great. Being on the private island was an absolute luxury. We are timeshare owners, so we used RCI to book. Yes, the hotel could use some upgrades, but John is aware of that and is working on it. Bathrooms have all been updated. You won't find a more accommodating group of people! The views of Christiansted and the Caribbean are amazing! We met so many new friends! I'll map out the aspects of our trip and hope it helps you!

Beach - nice and clean. Plenty of chairs/umbrellas. Usually not very crowded at all. The water is amazing. It is the bluest water I have ever seen. The beach barbecue on Tuesday was fun - great food and entertainment.

Snorkeling - my first time ever and I am hooked. You have the convenience of using Michelle at Watersports which is located right at the hotel. She can even provide jet skis, kayaks, etc. We also did a Buck Island tour with Big Beard's. You have to do this. Andy and Michael are fabulous! You get a sailboat ride, snorkeling tour, lunch, and tons of fun in this day trip.

The water taxi crew were all amazing. They were always readily available to take you to the mainland. Very friendly and informative. Nice addition to staying at the hotel. You got the peace and quiet of being on your own little island, but you could be at a restaurant or pub in literally 3 minutes.

Restaurants - all very good. We ate at Rum Runners, Angry Nates, Harbor Master, Singh's, Savant, and Off the Wall in Cane Bay. A+ to everyone! Again, staff were so friendly.

Environment - we rented a Jeep, dropped the top, and just explored the island. They do drive on the left side of the road which was a change for us, but it was easily adjusted to. Point Udall is the easternmost point in the US with amazing shorelines. We encountered beer drinking pigs in the rainforest, beautiful Botanical Gardens, and the Cruzan Rum distillery was cool. We did Sweeny's Safari Tour - highly recommended. Andre and Ky were the best!

I could continue on for days about our experience in St. Croix. We will definitely be returning to this amazing island!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 323ToniR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I had a great time at Hotel on the Cay. The rooms are very nice--we had a great view of the bay and very clean, in spite of the challenges of managing a property in a humid climate surrounded by sand. The hotel grounds are undergoing a face-lift, and while the property is nice as-is, the upside potential is huge.

The staff were all very helpful, even when we needed special arrangements for a very early departure the day we left. I was initially concerned when I learned that the property was only accessible by ferry, but it wasn't a problem at all. The ferry-ride is brief and the operators keep it running non-stop, so what could have been a potential problem turned out to be a real plus.

The bar/restaurant located on the grounds (although not run by HOTC) was an added convenience. I would definitely hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScubaCLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I agree with one review that the property has seen better days, but I also spent a fair amount of time talking with John, the general manager, and with his background in hospitality management and his vision for what it can become, I think good things are in store for HOTC.

The rooms were clean, and with tile floors it was really easy to handle sand/water/dive equipment. The rooms have a mini-fridge, microwave and toaster oven. The bathrooms have been renovated and were very nice.

The restaurant on the grounds is not owned by the hotel. The food was pretty good, but the servers ranged from friendly to surly. There was a huge beach barbecue one night (about $30), which was a lot of fun and the food there was great.

The water taxi was really convenient and the boat captains were very friendly. They were willing to drop us directly at the dock for our dive boat, which was really helpful. We never had to wait more than a few minutes for the taxi to pick us up at the hotel or at the city dock.

Can't say enough great things about John - he set us up with a Continental breakfast in one of the function rooms in the mornings, and he is a lot of fun to talk with. He has big plans for HOTC and with his know-how and experience, I think this could become a really good place to stay in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies, and the balcony will face either the town or the open water. If you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Su H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I spent 10 days at the Hotel on the Cay in March. I will give the positive things first. The beach is beautiful. Plenty of chairs and umbrellas. They have a bar with food, although we never tried their food because we ate out every night in town and had a rental car during the day, so we were out a lot. It really is the only beach in Christiansted and the views of the town are lovely. Snorkeling is great around the hotel. We saw lots of sea turtles, rays, starfish, and many colorful fish.
The hotel needs lots of updating!. Very old and bohemian. The large water fall in the front is a bit of an eyesore. Luckily when you are at the beach your back is to the hotel! The staff is friendly and accommodating. And although the hotel is old it is clean.
There are days when they bring cruise ship folks over to spend the day at the Hotel's beach. We were only there on one of those days but it was really terrible. At least 100 people showed up. We were told there were certain areas we could not sit on the beach because it was reserved for them. Also they brought large tent like cabanas to rent to the cruise ship guests. Set them up right in front of us and blocked our view of the ocean completely, even though we had already moved to a different area to accommodate the guests not staying at the hotel. We did complain to the manager and he took us to another spot on the beach and set up an umbrella for us. They should tell their hotel guests when booking of their policy to frequently sell excursions to cruise ships for their beach.
The water taxi that takes you to and from town was great. Ran every 10 minutes. It was very convenient.
Bottom line, we had a good vacation but if we went back to St. Croix would not stay at this hotel again. Since we had a rental car we would just stay a little out of Christiansted instead.

Room Tip: I think top floors have the best view. Facing Christiansted is a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShellRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
0.2 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#12 of 14 in Christiansted
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holger Danske Hotel
Holger Danske Hotel
#9 of 14 in Christiansted
104 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.5 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,454 reviews
8.5 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on the Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on the Cay

Address: Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Christiansted
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range: £146 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on the Cay 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into an atmosphere of casual elegance during your visit to our inviting private island retreat. If your idea of a Caribbean vacation includes unforgettable sunsets, white sand beaches and the simple phrase “no problem,” this is the place for you! Hotel on the Cay offers you the best vacation value in the Caribbean. Located on a private cay in the Caribbean Sea, our 53 room resort provides for an unforgettable vacation experience that is ideal for couples, families and adventure seekers.Here guests can dine at our on-site restaurant, unwind with a refreshing swim in the pool, enjoy water sports at our activity center and explore the historical sights, eateries, shops and entertainment located on the boardwalk just minutes away by private complimentary boat. A quaint, pristine beach overlooks Christiansted Harbor’s beautiful boats, which makes for perfect photos at sunset. As the only beach in downtown Christiansted, you will enjoy swimming and snorkeling the amazing undersea world surrounding the cay.Hotel on the Cay will provide bountiful sunshine, bright turquoise seas teeming with life, refreshing trade winds and a place to lay your head at the end of each memorable day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel on the Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Cay Christiansted
On The Cay Hotel
Hotel On The Cay St. Croix/Christiansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing