We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best week of our month long vacation in the Caribbean!”
Review of Hotel on the Cay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel on the Cay
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Asotin, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best week of our month long vacation in the Caribbean!”
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Great view of Fort Christiansted from the cay in the harbour! The quick 3 minute ride on the hotel provided launch back and forth to the dock makes the stay and the seclution all that more enjoyable! The staff and the tours were all fantastic! Thursday night is BBQ night at the bar on the beach. The show and the food were well worth it! The pool was usually deserted and great to relax around! But, the beach was the best of all the features; drink service to your lounge chair, and the snorkeling was great with lots of little fish! Anyone not staying at the hotel pays $5.00 for the round trip launch ride, so keeps the tourist mostly at other beaches. SECLUSION!!!

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank geocacheferrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    218
    87
    39
    23
See reviews for
100
238
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Yes, the Hotel on the Cay DOES need updating, is not 5-star perfection & you can't play on the tennis courts...BUT you can walk into the water from the tennis courts & see stingray, puffers, mantas, octupus & all sorts of marine life. You can enjoy a 360 view of Christiansted Harbor from the upper part of the HotC property, you can spend the entire day in your swimsuit & still check in w/the office back home (via free wifi). There are several excursions the Hotel offers (via experienced Island guide) so you can easily tour the Island w/out making phone calls, visiting sales offices, etc. Just sign-up @ the front desk. If you're like us, we were after a do-nothing vacation, we found it on HotC...watched the sun rise from bed, snorkeled 3 or 4 times a day right off the HotC beach and watched the sun set. Watersports rental, St Croix Watersports, right on the HotC beach & they were a huge source of helpful information. We rented our snorkel gear for the week & into the water we went.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Just got home from a great trip to St. Croix. I have been to all three US virgin islands and love St. Croix the best . Very laid back atmosphere and not busy like the other islands. We found Hotel on the Cay perfect for our needs , the price is the best in the area and it is the only hotel in the area we beach access. The rooms are clean but dated ( you do not come to the islands to hole up in your room though !) The staff is great and very helpful. We were concerned about the boat you have to take to get to the hotel but it is no big deal and actually a fun short ride. The captains on the boat are great and can help you with anything you might need. We didn't have any problems with water pressure like a few people mentioned, water is sparce through out st. croix. The internet worked fine but I know some times the signal is weak in some rooms , you just walk up to the terrace and it works fine. Make sure you take a trip to buck island with Captain Big Beard for some of the best snorkleing anywhere in the world. There is good snorkeling at the hotel as well , the east side of the cay is particularly good. Breakfest right where you get off the ferry at the avacodo pitt is a great way to start the day. dinner at rum runners or the brew pub are great options and the tuesday night BBQ on the beach has good food and amazing entertainment.
We loved Hotel on the Cay and wouldn't stay anywhere else. We are heading back in march and can't wait.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank firemedic521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

The hotel is older and could use some updating. The first room I was in was not acceptable and we moved to a different room and we were happy. The location of the hotel is fantastic. We will go back again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mema1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We spent a week here and loved every minute of it! The staff is very friendly and helpful but especially the boat captains! We enjoyed the hotel beach and if you have little ones, this beach is perfect for you. No waves, lots of little fish swimming about, soft sand, and we never had more than 10 people on it at any given time. Caution: the cruise ship did arrive on Saturday and as we were leaving, boatloads of people were arriving. So we missed the crowd but there was plenty of room for all. Nice bar and great buffet on Tuesday with entertainment. The hotel is old but clean and our room faced St Croix and it couldn't have been nicer. We had read about trouble with water pressure but I think they have fixed the problem. Internet works on the terrace but I suggest you go up to the terrace and take in the view from the top. The only complaint are the sugar ants and they are everywhere. For us we are used to fire ants so we were amused at their quickness & agility but found them harmless. They were all over and even though we wiped everything down they still came in for a visit. Take a boat ride at night and roam the boardwalk for places to eat dinner. Our favorite place on the island is Rainbow Beach & Rainbow Beach Restaurant and it is a must see! A GREAT restaurant (super nice owners)and bar-order the mahi-mahi sandwich with homemade fries, play checkers/chess on their clever boards, a volleyball court and a gorgeous, sandy beach. Then head back to the Hotel on the Cay and time it so you are on the boat ride at sunset-it is fantastic as you head back to your room. We recommend staying here...it is old but charming, we felt safe at night, and the view from the room can't be beat!

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank 32topisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pa
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

I was a first time STX visitor from June 20 to 26, 2009. When I plan vacations, I expect security, quiet atmosphere, cleanliness, friendly and efficient staff and great location. I found it all at HotC and plan on returning. Highlights of hotel: before my visit the staff was very quick to respond to my e-mails as to what was included in our room (I felt like I was very familiar with the hotel accommodations, and what I needed to take, before I even arrived!), easy internet arrangement (through the hotel) of airport pick-up with local, professional and friendly taxi service. Rudi was waiting for our "delayed" arrival and even provided a mini tour of STX as we traveled to hotel, check-in was quick and efficient, safe deposit box is in lobby, beach towels available and plentiful, our 3rd floor efficiency was like living in a tree top home with a gorgeous view of the harbour and the active wildlife, ice machine on each floor, Sunday's informative Weekly Activity review is well worth attending as is Supermarket run that took only an hour at $7 rd. trip/person. Snorkeling around the island was great, especially under the dock, sand is like sifted flour and beach was never crowded, beach chairs and loungers were comfortable, water taxi runs continuously during the day and if you're very fortunate, Freddie will share his garden delights and good conversation, Tuesday night Caribbean buffet was fun, great hotel for accessing Christiansted restaurants, shops, water activities and history and the friendliest people I've ever met. We didn't need to rent a car. We didn't access the hotel's water sports shop but it looked well stocked. I'm not interested in the bar nightlife but it was available just a 90 second boat ride away. Check-out was a breeze, our return trip to airport was arranged by hotel staff and the taxi driver was on time and again shared a wealth of information about STX. This is one of the few islands that I'd like to return to for our next vacation. I have no qualms about recommending Hotel on the Cay and beautiful island of STX. It is the best kept secret in the Caribbean.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2009

I was there for 5 nights and had a great time! Looked over the water every morning with my coffee on the balcony. VERY friendly staff, clean, safe and perfect location. I loved taking the little boat over every night. It was nice to come back and take a quick swim everyday. The best rates on the island fro what you get. Little frig, microwave and toaster oven so you don't have to eat out every meal makes it very economical.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank curran17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christiansted hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
81 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#12 of 14 in Christiansted
127 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,407 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on the Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on the Cay

Property: Hotel on the Cay
Address: Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on the Cay 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into an atmosphere of casual elegance during your visit to our inviting private island retreat. If your idea of a Caribbean vacation includes unforgettable sunsets, white sand beaches and the simple phrase “no problem,” this is the place for you! Hotel on the Cay offers you the best vacation value in the Caribbean. Located on a private cay in the Caribbean Sea, our 53 room resort provides for an unforgettable vacation experience that is ideal for couples, families and adventure seekers.Here guests can dine at our on-site restaurant, unwind with a refreshing swim in the pool, enjoy water sports at our activity center and explore the historical sights, eateries, shops and entertainment located on the boardwalk just minutes away by private complimentary boat. A quaint, pristine beach overlooks Christiansted Harbor’s beautiful boats, which makes for perfect photos at sunset. As the only beach in downtown Christiansted, you will enjoy swimming and snorkeling the amazing undersea world surrounding the cay.Hotel on the Cay will provide bountiful sunshine, bright turquoise seas teeming with life, refreshing trade winds and a place to lay your head at the end of each memorable day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel on the Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Cay Christiansted
On The Cay Hotel
Hotel On The Cay St. Croix/Christiansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing