We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel on the Cay”
Review of Hotel on the Cay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel on the Cay
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 February 2010

The hotel was in obvious disrepair. Although, I've heard that someone recently bought the hotel and is now renovating... So maybe not as bad? They have a great location on the little island in the harbor...

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PaulS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2010

This hotel is located on its own island!! Cool! That part along with the great views of the Christensted harbor made it seem suitable. The customer service on the phone was excellent and professional. They replied quickly to emails and allowed us to change our booking night when our flight arrived late. Booking was a breeze!

HOWEVER, as soon as we checked in we had to do an inventory checklist (the lobby requests this) of the items in the room including towels, kitchen items etc. I don't go on vacation to do what i do at home. As well, they had no shampoo in the rooms and didn't offer it at the hotel at all. If you are there for only one night, DON'T forget your shampoo, body soap and lotion. There are no backups in the rooms. They have a can opener, but no shampoo. HA!

We preceded to the beach for their FAMOUS TUESDAY NIGHT BBQ DINNER.... when we arrived the atmosphere was nothing but a crazy mess. It was an event that wasn't organized in any manner. The little staff they did have was so busy serving drinks to tables, that no one knew where to go and the line to pay for your buffet tickets was running into the buffet line/table. It was seat yourself (if you can find a spot....). It cost $23.50 per ticket and is worth it if you really eat at buffets. My husband and I really enjoyed the BBQ chicken, fish and ribs. That was a highlight for sure!! The side items were very bland and similar to food where I am from baked beans, potato salad, mac & cheese (that was good, who doesn't like mac & cheese?). I guess I was just hoping for some local flare. The desserts were cliche - which i don't like at all. Apple pie, German Choclate Cake, White and Chocolate Plain Cake.

The beach is small but has a great view of the boats/harbor. Didn't seem like a great beach for swimming and venturing out into the waters though.There may be another part that is beach, but I didn't find it........The landscape of the hotel was so confusing. No signs anywhere and it was like a labyrinth of walkways and leaves. There were these faux mini ponds that were covered in leaves and were so pitiful and an eye sore :(

And if you are expecting a continental breakfast or coffee etc while venturing the grounds in the morning.... NO such luck. I took the ferry over to city and brought back a great inexpensive breakfast at The Avacado Pitt. Cool place.

As for the room, the beds were very thin and poor quality for as much as the room cost BUT the view was nice and there was a small balcony.

Finally after only one night (that seemed like a week in a bad way) we took the FREE FERRY RIDE, which was great back to reality and we voted ourselves OFF the ISLAND.

When we were picked up by the people we stayed with the rest of the trip...... they were surprised we stayed there and we had many laughs.
This hotel has the potential to really be a special experience BUT they need much work. Organization of events, more/better accommodations, take better care of the landscaping.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndianaTravelChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

We were at the Hotel on the Cay from Dec 12 - Dec 27. We had 1 1/2 days of clouds during our 15 day stay. So I would say our trip was a success. The beach is great because it is on a reef and there are no waves. The beach barbecue on Tuesday nights has good food and entertainment. We did the Gecko 4 wheeling excurtion. This was fun yet safe. Also, my husband went diving with Dive Experience for 10 days and really had a great time. The Christmas Boat Parade is so much fun to watch. All the boats are decorated with lights in a Christmas theme and they circle around the harbor. Zebo's and Rum Runrunners are our favorite restaurants. The food at Harbor Master Restaurant which is located on the beach at Hotel on the Cay is good. Great selection but you can only order food up to 4 PM but the bar is open later. Good breakfast & lunch.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

First off if you want a perfect place look elsewhere. If you’re looking for a good place with everything within walking distance, this is the place! Ten years ago, the management had all but ruined the hotel, but the last ten years, with good management, have been positive ones for the hotel and hopefully things will continue. The hotel staff, all was very friendly and helpful with anything. Room was cleaned every day. The restaurant had really good food. Sun bathing on the hotel beach, great Cruzan rum drinks being brought to you, get up and jump in the water for some snorkeling. You can't ask for anything better. A very quick ferry trip over to Christiansted you have more good food and shopping. I was looking for a place where a car did not have to be used and this was PREFECT!!! A 16 dollar taxi from the airport and your right in the middle of allot to do and see.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freedomrider30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

We traveld with a group of 11 for a wedding. There was a child age 8 in the group. The wedding was picture perfect. We enjoyed everthing about this private island. The rooms need some work with A/C and Plumbing (nothing major) but they were cozy and clean. All rooms have a nice size kitchenette with micorwave, small fridge, sink, coffee maker and dishes. The food, pina coladas were the best, the short ferry boat ride to the island and Christainsted. Perfect location across from Christiansted, for great shopping, and restaurants. Some of our favorites were Rum Runners and Angry Mikes for food Ivys for ice cream and Soynas, IB Designs, Hot Heads, and Purpe Papaya for shopping and off course the Tues. Night All you can eat BBQ right at the Harbor Master Cafe Restaurant on Hotel on the Cay. The food was awesome and the entertainment was excellent. If you want to relax and don't want to eat out all the time on Sundays they shuttle you for a small charge to the grocery store so you buy food you can make your own sandwhiches and just enjoyed relaxing at the beach instead. Another couple staying at the Hotel who travel their regularly for many years told us it is the "Best Kept Secret" and we agree!! We relaxed at the beach on Hotel on the Cay every day and when the cruise ships came in you could escape to the pool for more privacy that is for quest only and also has a fabulous veiw of the ocean. We also enjoyed the Sweeny Island Safari tour and enjoyed the free shuttle on Friday to Divi Resort to go to the Casino. There was so much to do we weren't able to get everything in we wanted like a trip to Buck's Island or a ferry to St. Thomas and St. Johns. We snorkled right at Hotel on the Cay and rented pattle boats. The staff was very friendly and we made great friends during our stay and already miss them. My 8 year old daughter said it was one of her best vacations ever and can't wait to go back to swim in the ocean and snorkle. We are already talking about going back very soon!!! Also, if you are considering a destination wedding at St. Croix you will not be disappointed we used Seaside Weddings (Jeness) as our wedding coordinator and she was affordable and grea, never had to worry about anything!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rumofaisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

My husband and I got married here in June 2000. It was a beautiful wedding on the beach at sunset under the palm trees, truly storybook. Then my son got married in July of 2007 and we returned here for a visit. It truly is quaint, quiet, calming and very islandy. You have to take a small boat to get to the hotel. It's only a 3 minute ride to the island and it is self contained with a small outside bar, food, restrooms and watersports right on the beach. It is older and not updated so don't be surprised when you see the wooden slats in your door allowing the tradewinds to cool you at night. You don't need an air conditioner! There isn't anything other than this place on the island so it is isolated and I felt very safe. Enjoy the rum in every flavor!

Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RobinL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Sure the hotel needs some updating but the location is awesome!!!

It was HOT in our room when we checked in and it took all afternoon to cool down. But after the first day it was fine. The water never got hot, just warm, but once you got used to it that was fine. The restaurant and bar was closed which was disappointing but there were plenty of great places to go just across the water. Their famous Tuesday night BBQ on the beach was cancelled but it was low season so not surprising. They offer a Sunday morning shopping trip to a grocery store. The hotel said it was $7 a couple but it turned out to be $7 per person and we could have gotten our own taxi and gone to the grocery store of our choice and not shared a van with a bunch of other people for about the same price. It was no fun to sit and wait an hour on the others to finish their shopping. But hey better get used to the island pace.

The best part of the Hotel on the Cay is either the sunrise or sunset, depending on what side of the hotel you stay on. Sitting on the balcony is GREAT!

The beach is awesome and snoreling amazing. Right at the hotel we saw an octopus, lobster, tuna, sting ray, and all sorts of colorful fish.

The ferry pilots are so friendly. Freddie baked coconut rolls for us and brought us bananas from his yard.

We made some great friends also staying at the hotel. We will go back!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christiansted hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
85 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#12 of 14 in Christiansted
128 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,430 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on the Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on the Cay

Address: Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range: £100 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on the Cay 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into an atmosphere of casual elegance during your visit to our inviting private island retreat. If your idea of a Caribbean vacation includes unforgettable sunsets, white sand beaches and the simple phrase “no problem,” this is the place for you! Hotel on the Cay offers you the best vacation value in the Caribbean. Located on a private cay in the Caribbean Sea, our 53 room resort provides for an unforgettable vacation experience that is ideal for couples, families and adventure seekers.Here guests can dine at our on-site restaurant, unwind with a refreshing swim in the pool, enjoy water sports at our activity center and explore the historical sights, eateries, shops and entertainment located on the boardwalk just minutes away by private complimentary boat. A quaint, pristine beach overlooks Christiansted Harbor’s beautiful boats, which makes for perfect photos at sunset. As the only beach in downtown Christiansted, you will enjoy swimming and snorkeling the amazing undersea world surrounding the cay.Hotel on the Cay will provide bountiful sunshine, bright turquoise seas teeming with life, refreshing trade winds and a place to lay your head at the end of each memorable day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel on the Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Cay Christiansted
On The Cay Hotel
Hotel On The Cay St. Croix/Christiansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing