We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (537)
Filter reviews
537 results
Traveller rating
149
234
90
41
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
234
90
41
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private island ferry ride main island free for hotel guests st croix small island beach bar small kitchenette hotel room sea turtles nice beach angry nates coffee maker water sports no elevator buck island rooms were very clean
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 537 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Our group of friends were visiting by the cruise island of St.Croix. We were hoping to have nice relaxing day at the beach. We did founded what we want by reserving day room at Hotel on the Cay. The best part was not only to have day room usage but nice beach that Hotel on the Cay is based on. For one day we felt like we have our own small Caribbean island as Hotel on the Cay position on Protestant Cay (small islnad just outside Chritiansted). You need to take quick ferry ride to get to Hotel on the Cay. View of Christiansted fort from hotel on the Cay was also very cool. We enjoyed very much, room accommodated our needs, beach was clean, water crystal clear, staff very pleasant and helpful. Hotel on the Cay took big hit from last year hurricane Irma and hotel still recovering so don't expect 5 star looking hotel with many freebies. But if you want to relax, enjoy beach, taste locally prepared bbq at the bar and have nice hospitality by the owner and staff, Hotel on the Cay is place to visit for a day or for as many days as you want. D

Date of stay: September 2018
2  Thank Dmitry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

This hotel is situated on its own private island. The hotel room had impeccable views. Throughout my stay at the hotel, I absolutely loved it! The views were amazing enough to just stay outside on the hotel room balcony all day. The only issue I had was the fact that the seaplane was taken off all throughout the early morning and is pretty loud. Other than that, the stay was great. The hotel rooms have a beachy feel and are a bit outdated. The interior needs updating.

Room tip: Great views
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sherise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We just went to relax on the beach, because the island is still undergoing post hurricane fixes. A lot of things are closed down for repairs and construction. The beach was still great and clean.
It costs $5 to take the boat over to the hotel from Christiansted

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jadoremsnicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

beautiful place with amazing water. Unfortunately, the water feature in the front has been non operable since i have been going there in the past 12 years. The kitchen has not been open since the hurricane.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

Great place location-wise with just a short boat ride (2 mins) away from where the action is on Christiansted! The ambience is fantastic & views, wow! The hotel itself is a but dated but not an issue. Hotel staff: nice & helpful, bar staff: funny & cool! The 1 major issue we had with this place is the attitude of a certain boat captain responsible for taxi-ing people across to Christiansted. During our 2 night stay, we met 3 different captains: Tammy (funny, witty, & helpful), Rodney (cool guy) and then there's Dennis. We ran into him once (thank GOD) on our 1st night, as he was a night shift captain & boy was he full of attitude. After relaxing on the Caye all day, we decided to taxi across to grab some dinner. Upon passing the lobby, the receptionist said that if the captain wasn't @ the dock for us to call her so she could buzz him. We arrive at the fairly dark dock & see no 1, so we call (as instructed) when Dennis pops up (on his phone) sees my boyfriend on his phone & asked if we are calling the office to which he responds yes. Dennis seemed to have a huge problem with that! He started yelling at us that he deserves a break too & if we think he doesn't need to eat like us. We were there dumbfounded that he would address paying customers like that. To add insult to injury he gossipped about us thinking we are better than him to the person he was on the phone with. Surprise I'm an Islander too & understood his accent. Totally disrespectful & uncomfortable experience.

Room tip: Great view of Christiansted from the hotel
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Halli_Pea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews