We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a relaxing trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a relaxing trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed here on this our first trip to the US Virgin Islands. Based on the wonderful setting, great staff and overall experience, we will be back. The resort beach and pool are great to relax, read and catch some sun. Good food in the Deep End!! Jerry was the best to recommend sites to see and help us navigate the snorkeling. Sharon steered us to Kim's restaurant in downtown Christiansted. The local cuisine was exactly what we'd been trying to find. We met Lorena, the owner and her daughter Carol. It was such a wonderful experience. Also rent a car. We put over 250 miles on our jeep, well worth it!! Cane Bay Beach had beautiful snorkeling, but take drinks and some food, it's a bit pricey if not. Make certain you have at least one meal at Villa Morales in Fredricksted. J.T. makes the best mojito I have ever had. Locally owned and operated for over 60 years! Well worth the visit for homemade dishes that are reasonably priced in a family atmosphere.

Room Tip: A room with a kitchenette was a great value....good for left overs, breakfast foods and storing your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alou722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    88
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
44
94
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

This was a quick business trip for me, only had to stay one night. Honestly it isnt a place i would chose for myself, but i wound up having a good time. It gave me the feel of Cheers... where everybody knows your name. The staff was very friendly. The rooms are not state of the art, they still have the old style flowery bedspreads (not a fan), the bathrooms are also pretty old (but clean). The rooms have screens in the bathroom and the front door so that you can let the natural air in. ( i am not a fan of geckos, iguanas etc which are all over, so i didnt use this feature.) My room also had a pretty huge balcony (also did not use). I may actually be giving an unfair rating based on my own fears of the bugs and wild life. All of the room doors are facing the outside... ( i prefer indoor hotels vs the motel set up). The pool is near the restaurant on site (dinner and breakfast were pretty tasty here). Wear pants though.... the mosquitos will devour your ankles (learned that the hard way). We played Trivial pursuit with the locals during dinner on tuesday... had lots of fun! The beach is very rocky... but according to the beach keeper, it has some of the best corals ever. They also allow for sunbathing however you like it. eh? there is nothing in walking distance from the hotel... and the cab to the airport was $30.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nat1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Four of us went down in May of 2012. My wife, son and his fiance. This is an absolutley wonderful place. It is quiet and quaint but there is plenty to do from snorkling, kyaking, swimming, sunning or just relaxing. there is a marina next door with a sailboat charter to Buck Island that is a must for any visit. Great food at the onsite restaurants and plenty of convenient local fare as well. Rent a car so you can tour the whole island. The rain forest is incredible. The staff is the best that I have ever encountered at a resort/hotel. A wonderful trip at a great value.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are ocean front with great views. Building 3 is the closest to the pool and the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bucky2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
~~~
Level Contributor
193 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I did not stay here but used the Marina and grounds. The Marina is in an excellent location to get to Buck Island, and is an excellent location to get to Christiansted via boat or car.

The beach has an awesome reef that is great for snorkeling.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The~PuRa~VIdA~
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I first went to the Tamarind Reef hotel last year (2011) with my son. We were looking for a laid back hotel as a base for a kiteboarding trip to the island and struck gold on our first try!. We liked it so much we came back for another week this year (March 2012). The trip was very economical (about $2600 round trip from Boston and 6 nights at the hotel). Excellent value!

We will come back again. The hotel rooms are good sized with beautiful views, and are very clean. The staff are exceptional, very helpful and polite. This is a smaller island style hotel, so if you are looking for a Ritz carlton or Marriott style experience, go to Aruba or one of the more commercial islands.

I definitely suggest renting a car (we have rented a Jeep from Centerline Car Rentals - www.centerlinecarrentals.com - both trips and have been very pleased with the cost and condition of the vehicles - they seem to have low mileage cars and are a locally owned company. I prefer to support them rather than a big brand international car rental company - plus their rates are much better anyway.

If you are a kiteboarder or stand up paddleboarder (or want to learn) check out www.kitestcroix.com. Bill Kraft and his wife run this school and they are the best in the area. If you do not want to learn how to kiteboard, which takes time, try paddleboarding with them - you can have a great time with no previous experience. If, however, you have kiteboarding basics down Bill can really take you to the next level - try a jumping lession with him on a windy day! If you are a beginner and want to learn kiteboarding e-mail Bill before you plan the trip as he knows the weather patterns best and will give good advice on when to come.

To put things in perspective here is where I am coming from - when I go to the islands I am not interested in laying around the pool drinking rum punch at a 5 star resort. I sailed from England in the late 80's and lived on my boat for 3 years mainly in the Virgin Islands so I know the area well and enjoy an active vacation experiencing the natural beauty of the region. I am now 55 years old but active (race sea kayaks and sailboats). We had two days on this trip where the wind was too light to kite. One of these days my son (18 yrs) and I kayaked from Coakley Bay out to Buck Island which is about 2 miles offshore and spent the day checking out the turtles, rays, squid and coral in the reef enclosed East end of the island. Definitely worth a visit and if you do not want to paddle over ( I only suggest this if you are an experienced ocean kayaker) then take one of the boat trips offered - make sure they will go to the east end of the island if you want to snorkel the reef. The other light wind day we hiked down ti Isaac Bay (no direct road access but an easy trail down) and snorkeled the whole lagoon and had a very enjoyable time chatting with the six other people who turned up at this beautiful spot that day.

Also check out www.virginkayaktours.com and www.canebayscuba.com - we had a great time with both operations.

At the end of the day the Tamarind Reef Hotel was a great place to come home to. Make sure you visit the sports shack run by Jerry and Mimi. kayaks and snorkelling gear are included in the hotel cost but more importantly Jerry and Mimi are great people. Jerry was a boat captain like me - ask him about his trip with Victor Borge!

Best dinners we had were at the Pickled Greek, Duggan's, and Rum Runners (tourist joint on the boardwalk in Christiansted but still good food and a fun spot with a live web cam so you can wave to the folks back home).

Will we go back - for sure, and definitely to the Tamerind Reef again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bevbarnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Great veiw not alot for kids to do nice beach canoing snorkling Great people and place for quite and relaxation

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoBeachBums81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islip, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

The rooms are large and nicely appointed. All rooms seem to have a patio or balcony looking out onto the ocean. The beach has all the right ingredients; water, sand, sun, free lounge chairs, shaded canopies and even a couple of hammocks. The beach shack offers hotel guests free use of kayaks and snorkle gear. Swimming in the ocean is a challange due to the rocks and coral but there is a small cleared area. Wear water shoes, swim in the pool, stick to snorkeling or kayak out to the island or neighboring beach. The Deep End has some nice offerings and a good "happy hour".

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emptynester5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
2.3 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
10.6 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina

Property: Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Address: 5001 Tamarind Reef | Off Route 82 (East End Road) at Green Cay Marina, Christiansted 00820-4582, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina on St Croix USVI is ideal for relaxed family vacations, destination weddings, honeymoons, beach and watersport retreats, business travel and small group events. Voted 'Best Beach on St. Croix - 2013', this intimate resort features 40 oceanfront rooms on 40+ acres with private marina; casual and fine-dining restaurants; seaside pool; water sports; spa with massage, hair and nail care; tennis courts; fitness center; business lounge; event center; wedding/event coordinator, and of course a palm tree lined beach with shade huts and 154-slip marina for day/sunset sailing and motor boat excursions. The resort is nestled into a private neighborhood 10 minutes from historic Christiansted yet feels light years from everyday worries and stress. No passport required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina St. Croix/Christiansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing