We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Myself and some work colleagues stayed at Tamarind Reef for 8 days for work. The resort was nice and the view was perfect. The deep end bar which is attached to the resort was a blast. Good food and great drinks! The rooms were spacious and there was a small refrigerator and microwave which were handy. I would definitely stay at this resort in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the bar are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beansprout1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

We just spent a week at the Tamarind Reef Hotel and it wasn't exactly what we thought it would be. The rooms are a nice size and they all, from what we could tell, have a beautiful ocean view. If you like a dark, quiet room at night, you're not going to get it here. If you're close to the bar, you'll hear that until late in the evening and the doors have louvered windowns on them that let in all the outside lighting. The office staff were great; they were always responsive and friendly. We thought the grounds were average. It is as remote as they say it is. If you're looking for a place for a pool where you can sit in the sun all day and if you plan to do your own cooking, this place is for you. However, if that is not the case, look elsewhere. The Deep End Bar and Grill is just that: Bar food and not great bar food. The breakfasts are pretty good, especially the breakfast sandwiches, but it goes downhill from there. I had a salad one night so full of sand I couldn't eat it. The wait staff is unorganized, not properly focused and really, if you're a hotel guest, you come second after all the locals who tend to hang out there. They seem to be more concerned over hosting community events than taking care of the hotel guests who want a nice quiet dinner--case in point, Bingo Disco night. This is when they blare disco music throughout the resort while playing bingo (again, these aren't hotel guests, from what we could tell). The Galleon restaurant sounds as if it's within close proximity of the hotel but that's not quite right, either. It's a hike and if you're older, have issues walking a few blocks or more or have kids, you're probably not going to make the effort. The beach is nice for sitting on (bring your bug spray) but as far as wading out to or swimming from, it's all rock and getting into the ocean is not easy. It was not what I'd consider a swimming beach at all. You're going to need a car and if not, be prepared to dish out at a minimum $30 to get into and out of town or somewhere else to have dinner. On checkout, there's a $27 surcharge per day that the front desk was not able to explain. I'm sure it's in the fine print on the website, so look for it. That on top of taxes makes this an expensive place to stay; more than it is worth. My recommendation would be to stay in town at a hotel with a pool on the boardwalk. You'll have plenty of shopping and restaurants to choose from and you'll pay significantly less.

Room Tip: Get a room far away from the pool and bar area. Bring lots of insect repellant, rent a car and get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Triptyme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OGG-mktg, Public Relations Manager at Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for your review Triptyme1. We are glad that you found your room at Tamarind to be a nice size with a beautiful ocean view. Nice too to hear that our staff was great and that they were always responsive and friendly. We do apologize that you found your room was too close to the restaurant to be restful. It is indeed a balancing act to provide entertainment at the restaurant that is fun yet not too loud and it sounds like Thursday Bingo was not to your taste. You are correct that the Galleon restaurant located at the resort's marina is a bit of a walk. Many enjoy the stroll yet we understand that walking is not for everyone so if staffing permits, guests can be shuttled via golf cart to/from the Galleon. Based on your comment, we will bring this up in the next business meeting to see if a more routine shuttle can be arranged. Thank you for your visit and your time in sharing. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

A friend and I stayed here on a recent trip to St. Croix, we booked last minute due to our other accommodations closing down and boy we were glad we found this little gem! A $12 cab ride or 6 min drive from the center of Christiansted this place was just far enough from town to feel peaceful but close enough that we didn't feel too isolated.

The Deep End Restaurant was great! Good bartenders and almost nightly entertainment. Bingo night was a BLAST! Food selection was good and entrees had quite large portions. A special thanks to Elena and Rob who run the restaurant, you guys made us feel right at home!

The staff here is absolutely the best! From the moment we arrived Rosalee at the front desk treated us like family. She was warm and kind and super helpful with directions and activity questions! The housekeepers were cheerful and serviced our room to perfection! Our room was a double and SUPER spacious. Our balcony had an oceanview and leaving the screen door open at night listening to the ocean was a real treat.

The grounds are well maintained, with complimentary kayaks and paddle boards available for the guests of the resort. Lots of hammocks are complimentary for guests as well to take a nap, morning coffee or read a book! Thanks to Brooks at the rental place (who was super sweet and helpful) we got to take a kayak out to a lovely little beach just around the jetty and had fun frolicking on a nearly deserted beach paradise!

The beach is not great for swimming as you'll have to wade through some tough rocks and the water is pretty rough right beyond that.

This place is just perfect, with a local friendly feeling and a bargain at the price without the huge resorty feel that we've come to loathe.

We unfortunately did not get a chance to use the spa but they do offer lots of services that sounded great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aehrentraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I went there for our 27th wedding anniversary. The room was great and kept spotless. All rooms have an ocean view. I can't say enough about the staff at the resort. They did everything they could to make our stay perfect. The food at the Deep End was great. Our room was close to the bar/restaurant but noise was never a problem the entire time we were there. We are already planning our next trip and definately are going to stay at the Tamirind. Next time we are going to take our kids and grandson.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marty502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The beach and pool are really nice at Tamarind, and we were fortunate to have new owners of the Deep End bar/restaurant. But listing this as only one star below the Buccaneer is a stretch. The rooms are spare, lots of small things broken and doors falling apart, the walls and floors/ceilings paper-thin. We were up several nights because we had kids staying above us and heard every step until 2am. If you stay in the room closest to the bar, be prepared to be up til last call. The only swimming off the beach is via a narrow exit along the breakwater, great for snorkeling but no good for small kids. The food at the Deep End is good, but service is hit or miss. All said, we had a great stay in St. Croix and many good days at Tamarind Reef, but if you're looking for quality, spend a bit more and stay at the Buccaneer as it's worlds apart.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nw-mainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

If you want a affordable well kept inn with a good restaurant and great location, then stay here. Gorgeous reef near by and good access to east end and Christensted. The staff is friendly and helpful and the beach is nice and protected by a jetty.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VATravel5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I just came back from 8 days here, and I just cannot say enough about how wonderful Tamarind Reef is - the staff, the area, the pool...and the views of the Caribbean...it is phenomenal. Rooms are clean, comfortable - I had a kitchenette and was on the ground floor. What a view!!! Food in the Deep End Grill was delicious. Dana gives the best massages in town! All of the staff is very warm and welcoming. I had a wonderful time and so will you.

Room Tip: Rooms with lower numbers are a little bit quieter - I was in 13 and it was perfect. It was nice to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christiansted hotels
3.3 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
217 reviews
2.4 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#12 of 14 in Christiansted
128 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
86 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,436 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina

Address: 5001 Tamarind Reef, Christiansted 00820-4582, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range: £111 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina on St Croix USVI is ideal for relaxed family vacations, destination weddings, honeymoons, beach and watersport retreats, business travel and small group events. This intimate resort features 40 oceanfront rooms on 40+ acres with private marina; casual and fine-dining restaurants; seaside pool; water sports; spa with massage, hair and nail care; tennis courts; fitness center; wedding/event coordinator, and of course a palm tree lined beach with shade huts and 154-slip marina for day/sunset sailing and fishing excursions. The resort is nestled into a private neighborhood 10 minutes from historic Christiansted yet feels light years from everyday worries and stress. No passport required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina St. Croix/Christiansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing