We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tamarind reef resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

that pretty place like go to walk to play gof ride horse go nice restaurant eat nice dinner later dance nice night go bar make great night go to the beach the great town go to shopping the people there very nice

Room Tip: la suite en las esquinas son más y soleadas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank carmen409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Quiet beach front Hotel with a rocky beach ingress. Older hotel, simple, clean. Next to a marina. Stayed one night for a wedding. All rooms seem to have a ocean view. First floor rooms walk straight out unto the waterfront area. Laid back. Would return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Emilio_VI_STT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just returned from 5 days at Tamarind with my daughters. This is a great laid back beach front hotel. Not crowded ( in the summer at least) rooms clean, food at the Deep End excellent and reasonably priced. You must try the Lime in a Coconut cocktail..so good! And much thanks to Corrin at the beach shack! She was awesome!! From setting up my girls with paddle boards, to taking us kayaking to Green Cay Island and snorkeling with us there, to doing the whole snorkel trail with us on our last day! She was so helpful and fun! Already planning our next visit back to Tamarind!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank tasha1192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This is a older pretty well kept boutique resort. The kitchens are not very well stocked. If you plan on staying and cooking in the room make sure you let them know early what you'll need for the kitchen. Love the beachfront has rocky shoal and Sandy Beach nice and quiet no nightlife. Great pool. On-site restaurant is limited but good reasonably priced. I suggest if you're staying here you should rent a car or a Jeep. It takes a little getting used to driving on the opposite side of the road. The roads around the island can have huge potholes. The first floor has nice patios but if you get somebody above. you will hear everything.

Stayed: June 2014
5  Thank Travlinwisely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I loved this place; however, it does depend on what you want from a resort / hotel. This is the hotel for those who love the natural beauty of St. Croix and want to immerse themselves in that. You sacrifice some amenities (i.e. no concierge or sophisticated exercise room) for being closer to nature. Every room is ocean front and very close to the water. This room was about 15 feet from the water. One of the great things was that they provided free recreational items like free use of kayaks, snorkeling gear, and other stuff. You can take the kayak to a nearby deserted island and snorkel the reefs there. You can snorkel the reefs right off the beach of hotel. you can watch countless iguanas bathing in the sun. It's a smaller 45 room hotel so you want feel like you're one of many being ushered around. However, this won't be like your larger Hilton or Marriott resorts. But for me, it was perfect.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor you can walk out to the ocean and have more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

this resort is small and low key, but to me it seemed overpriced due to location even in low season! the rooms were basic for tropical location with a great view and constant ocean breeze. it was a good choice for travel with kids. the 'gated security' was a bit of a joke. decent reef with a resident turtle at 3rd buouy but tricky and limited access to snorkeling. cool iguanas and hammocks if they are up were awesome at night especially. the best part i thought was access to kayaks and snorkeling gear. Mimi at the beach shack was lovely and a great source of suggestions for activity etc. kayaking across to the little island is easy enough and snorkeling to the left of the tiny beach is easy. enjoyed access to shade in ticki huts. be sure to kayak towards Buck Island in to the wind in search of turtles and then drift back with the waves!! be aware that the hours are 9-5 but kayak loans end around 4. Deep End restaurant is separate though you can have a tab. Loretta is awesome and genuinely friendly. unfortunately some of the service staff are not so pleasant. my kids loved the smoothies ;}} there are nightly activities that locals come for, such as hermit crab races. the pool is nice and clean. did not get to try tennis but the courts look good. this was my first time to St Croix and would return to dive and prob stay elsewhere. Cathy at the office was great, friendly and helpful. we had a good time overall but too pricy for me!! our beds were great but the kitchenette was spotty---no bowls?? loved the patio and lack of bugs!! be sure to bring water shoes and depending on the scope of your visit rent a car with Judy of St croix-they meet you at airport with a basic island car. I would not recommend Seaborne Airlines-chaos. the highlight for us was Virgin Kayak bioluminescent pedal kayaking with Jil and Brian and the hike down to Isaac Bay at point Udal. however do NOT go to point udall at dark. Cheeseburgers restaurant around the corner was great too, as was Brenda there!! I thought W Indian Buffet night on Island Cay is not worth the money and hassle of having to pay to get there. I was not impressed with the food at all...and our experience with Big Beard sail and snorkel half day with Gabe and John was not sailing and only about an hour of snorkel with very little guidance or enthusiasm. they took our small group to the gorgeous beach for an hour plus first after picking others up on the way at Buccaneer.

Room Tip: we had room 18 with small kitchenette and lovely view with terrace. close to pool for kids. noisy ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mina07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was a great resort spot for our second trip to St Croix (our first time in 2001 was at the very awesome Hibiscus, but that resort was closed at this time). We booked through Expedia; when we arrived they gave us an upgraded room (#114 [aka #14]) due to a reservation mix-up, so we got a lovely ground-floor room with nice decoration detailing, a hammock on the private patio, newly refinished bathroom with natural stone tile, and a kitchenette area that was nicely stocked with appliances and cookware. We were delighted.

The view from the room was breathtaking, out across to Green Cay (island) and beyond to Buck Island. The water is just 25 feet away; it is a reef so there is no easy access to water, just palm trees rustling and the great ocean sound as you sleep. The first beach you'll see is not the best one - it has a single access point to deep water at the far end, and that is not an easy entrance point. You'll need booties and preferably a friend for stabilization as you enter. However, once in, the reef snorkeling is quite good, with many things to see. The pool, close to the rooms and next to the restaurant, is fantastic, big, clean, and has a great view. If you walk a little further (we found this on the last day), there is indeed more sandy beach, volley ball nets, etc.

Definitely check out the beach hut just a little further along, where there are sea kayaks and paddle boards free for use by guests, and iguanas by the dozens. The sea kayaks are AWESOME and a trip out to Green Cay is definitely fun (bring those booties), plus you can land at a more secluded sandy beach on the other side of the marina and have your full be achy experience.

The Deep End bar/restaurant is DELICIOUS, definitely eat there several times. The locals come for bingo night but there are specials and/or music every night and a Sunday buffet. Drinks are great, as are the bartenders and wait staff. Many of the staff are down-to-earth expats connected through spouse, etc. to the oil refinery which closed a few years ago (hoping to open again soon), so they have great stories to tell and good advice about what to do on the island.

Take a walk around the hotel site, especially up the little hill to the sugar mill to get a touch of history and a wonderful 360-degree view of the area.

Room Tip: Room 114 was where we stayed, though I think any of the ground level rooms would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
3.3 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
217 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
500 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,431 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,116 reviews
10.6 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina

Address: 5001 Tamarind Reef, Christiansted 00820-4582, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range: £99 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina on St Croix USVI is ideal for relaxed family vacations, destination weddings, honeymoons, beach and watersport retreats, business travel and small group events. This intimate resort features 40 oceanfront rooms on 40+ acres with private marina; casual and fine-dining restaurants; seaside pool; water sports; spa with massage, hair and nail care; tennis courts; fitness center; wedding/event coordinator, and of course a palm tree lined beach with shade huts and 154-slip marina for day/sunset sailing and fishing excursions. The resort is nestled into a private neighborhood 10 minutes from historic Christiansted yet feels light years from everyday worries and stress. No passport required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina St. Croix/Christiansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing